You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I have officially lost my $55,000/year salary from USPS

Definitely not citizenship my friend. To get that in any country is usually a very long and extremely committed process, then you're just a servant to another master anyway if you catch my drift. But that's a complex whole other thing.

I just pay about 1,000 dollars a year to a company that handles everything and I get a year long volunteer visa. (which is just a strange name. No volunteering necessary) I can renew no problem, I just did actually. If you were to come out here now, they have this new tourist program, where you can stay for 9 months after a 2 week quarantine if you are not vaccinated, It's much less than the 1,000 I pay. Then you could roll that into a volunteer visa or something. But it's strange times, as rules change so often. But that's the idea behind it. Not too complicated.

So far no problems with taxes in the US.

I'm not entirely detached, I use my father's place in Florida for a mailing address. I have aUS passport and I'm a US citizen. But the one thing I really don't miss.....I haven't gotten junk mail or telemarketing calls in as long as I can remember! hahaha

Sort:  

I thought citizenship was pretty hard to achieve but wasn't sure what you had done.

$1,000/year isn't much when you factor in just how much you are saving by being there.

Thank you for the explantion. I know this is really only something I could learn from somebody who has actually lived through the process.

It's nice to share what I know. Since covid, people are not traveling anymore by comparison, so this is the first time I've been able to help somone with some travel info in a long long time. Feels good. My blog content is suffering since I'm not traveling anymore either, but I'm pretty sure I'm gonna tour the country via motor bike come January or February so that should freshen things up a bit.

Here is to getting back out there and seeing/experiencing some more new things. For you, me, and everyone else who has been held back by all of this.