I have officially lost my $55,000/year salary from USPS

in LeoFinance2 years ago

I lost my USPS salary.jpg

Daltono Seperator.png

Is this a joke? 🤡 📬

Today I wasted 45 minutes of my precious morning walking over to USPS to play some more childish games. If you saw my update on the status of my 8+ year career with USPS post, then you already know that mentally I am done with the place. However, it was beginning to look like they had no idea what to do with somebody like me who was willing to rebel against their foolish ruleset. Turns out they are moving a bit quicker than I imagined they would, not bad for an ancient snail who often takes several days to get a piece of paper two blocks down the street.

untitled.gif

This morning I had another official meeting that differed very little from my previous one. I was asked a series of nearly identical questions that I was also asked on Monday morning. The only difference was that I had a different union rep sitting next to me this time. The union is not going to do a thing for me, so it is not like it matters who was sitting beside me. This is despite the fact that I've been shelling out a bit over $30 from every single one of my paychecks for 8+ years now. That is well over $6,000 by the way.

untitled.gif

I was told that the union and USPS are in agreeance with their stance on mandating masks once again. If we circle back to the idiocracy that I mentioned in my previous post, I am technically disobeying a direct order. There is nothing the union will do for somebody who refuses to obey supervision. I was actually told by the union that the best course of action for me was to agree to wear a mask and then file a formal complaint afterward. The resolution process would take months if I did that. By the time anything was actually done about it, the silly mask mandate would probably already have ended anyways.

untitled.gif

There was no way in hell I was going to take that path. It's literally like me being told to jump from a tower and accept my duties. Then after I reluctantly agreed to do so and already had broken my legs, I could then go and file a complaint. That is not going to do a damn thing for the fact that my legs were shattered! Just like wearing a mask temporarily isn't going to keep me from being furious every single day about having to do something that I feel is not right.

untitled.gif

By the end of this second official disciplinary meeting, I was asked to leave my job once again. It is as if they think I actually care that I am not welcomed there anymore. This time I was told that I would be placed in a non-pay status. This means I cannot use my sick/vacation leave to continue to be paid while I sit at home and they take their sweet time figuring out how they want to fire me.

untitled.gif

I just lost my $55,000 annual pay, here in West Virginia that is considered a pretty solid salary. This amount may not seem like a lot, but it is what I have scathed by on for the last 8 years. I usually bring home a check for about $1,300 every two weeks. However, I have at least $20,000 taken out of my pay each year by way of taxes, union dues, and insurance. I'm basically getting raped on a daily by USPS. I have been dedicating 8-9 hours daily to something that I care little to nothing about, all for some mere pocket change and the ability to barely get by. I'm just not okay with that anymore, I wish to do more than simply coast through the finish line in second to last place.

untitled.gif

I am looking forward to getting a call or a letter in the mail from USPS telling me that I am no longer an employee of theirs. Little do they know, all they are doing is giving me the key to the lock that has been so tightly around my freedom ever since I quit college.

untitled.gif

To anyone that is worried about my future, don't be. This is the most confident I have been in myself, perhaps in my entire life. I have trained to win since childhood, whether it be with sports, school, video games, or whatever else I'm involved with. I won't let myself become a failure and thankfully have alternative methods of finding a way to live a sustainable life.

untitled.gif

Hive is my rocket fuel and the community is my space station. I will not fail my mission to find a place to live on another planet outside of the slowly decaying ecosystem of USPS. If it means going without something that I am used to here and there, so be it. I have a very strong feeling, however, that I will find new things to explore and care about now that I am not breathing in the toxic oxygen that is USPS. I'm headed towards abundance, not a life of scarcity.

untitled.gif

If I didn't have a place to share all of this that is going on, I may not be enjoying this whole ride so much. I feel like I am on the oldest wooden roller coaster and I'm just waiting until I can finally get off the ride.

untitled.gif

Thank you so much to everyone that has been showing me massive support through all of this. May that be my parents, my @flowerbaby, or this one-of-a-kind community here on Hive. I cannot begin to express the gratitude I have for those in my life who actually care and know how I feel on the inside. The world is a place full of savages, if you get lucky enough to find a tribe that is willing to care for you... Never let that slip away!

untitled.gif


It is pretty ironic that all of this is happening now, as today is my 4 year Hive Anniversary.

Next stop, full-time Hive 🚀




Thanks.png

Profile Footer.png

https://opensea.io/daltono

https://punks.usehive.com/gallery/daltono

Join my fanbase on hive.vote ✅☑️Delegate Hive Power 👏Create a free Hive account 🗽Follow me on Twitter 🗣🐦
click hereclick hereclick hereclick here

Daltono Seperator copy.png

Discord: Daltono#5080

Sort:  

"wearing a mask temporarily isn't going to keep me from being furious every single day about having to do something that I feel is not right."

I feel you on that!

So interesting to read this. I missed your other post about leaving USPS. For real- F-them, who needs it.

Not sure if this is feasable for you the flower girl but one thing that helped me emensly grow my wealth and maintain my freedom was travel and living in places that didn't suck my money dry. Give you an idea of what I'm talking about. Here in Thailand I spend 15 dollars month on gas for my scooter. I have a nice little house I rent all included for $270 a month. My phone bill is 7 dollars a month. Wifi is free comes with rent. Price of food has gone down cause dollar has gone up against local currency, and I can eat out 3 meals a day for less than 6 dollars.

Point is, taking a hit in income can be combated with lowering expenses. Now that you are free maybe it's in your best interest to come to Thailand! Or Mexico, or Colombia, Argentina, Georgia...and so on.

Main reason I spend very little time in the US is that it sucks me dry. Like you say, you are just getting by on 2,600 a week bring home. You can live very well for 1,000 or less in many places around the world. Now that you are a free man have you thought about relocating or is that not in your best interest at this point?

Of course, it is feasible, but leaving the country I have grown up in is even scarier than leaving a job that I've relied on. I've only traveled out of the USA once and it was on a cruise to the Bahamas. I don't count on going to Puerto Rico for a few weeks.

I have dreamed of traveling the world and experiencing new places, but jumping shit and moving somewhere that I've never even been and being impossibly far from my family sounds a bit less than ideal.

You make an excellent point about drastically lower costs of living. I was obsessed with Thailand at one point. I even started following @laddawan just to see what rentals were like over there. The prices are absurdly low and you get to be in such a beautiful place. So yes I have definitely fantasized about something like that before, but am not sure if now is the time for me.

Just wanted to make sure you are aware of your options. As you can probably tell, I'm all about it. Frankly it's almost all I know, I've been living outside of the US since age 20 for the most part. Now I'm 39. So you are 100% right. It's important to stay in your comfort zone and close to your family. But it can also be scary losing income you relied on, only reason I wrote that too you. You know what you are doing. That is cool that you are already aware this stuff......I'll have to have a look at @laddawan's page.

You are doing great as is! F- USPS

How easy is it to continue to live over there? Did you just get citizenship? Or what?
Also has USA tried to haunt you with taxes? Or are you detached from this place altogether?

Definitely not citizenship my friend. To get that in any country is usually a very long and extremely committed process, then you're just a servant to another master anyway if you catch my drift. But that's a complex whole other thing.

I just pay about 1,000 dollars a year to a company that handles everything and I get a year long volunteer visa. (which is just a strange name. No volunteering necessary) I can renew no problem, I just did actually. If you were to come out here now, they have this new tourist program, where you can stay for 9 months after a 2 week quarantine if you are not vaccinated, It's much less than the 1,000 I pay. Then you could roll that into a volunteer visa or something. But it's strange times, as rules change so often. But that's the idea behind it. Not too complicated.

So far no problems with taxes in the US.

I'm not entirely detached, I use my father's place in Florida for a mailing address. I have aUS passport and I'm a US citizen. But the one thing I really don't miss.....I haven't gotten junk mail or telemarketing calls in as long as I can remember! hahaha

I thought citizenship was pretty hard to achieve but wasn't sure what you had done.

$1,000/year isn't much when you factor in just how much you are saving by being there.

Thank you for the explantion. I know this is really only something I could learn from somebody who has actually lived through the process.

It's nice to share what I know. Since covid, people are not traveling anymore by comparison, so this is the first time I've been able to help somone with some travel info in a long long time. Feels good. My blog content is suffering since I'm not traveling anymore either, but I'm pretty sure I'm gonna tour the country via motor bike come January or February so that should freshen things up a bit.

I love you, and am always proud of you!

I love you too baby. You are such a great partner who always supports me.

The best thing you can do is to focus on all the opportunities in the cryptocosm, especially the Hive ecosystem and introduce as many people as you can to it.

Soon there will a critical mass and the evil tyrannical governments of the world (yes, it’s most of them) will lose their power over money and collapse or be severely limited (like the US Founding Fathers intended).

I've really been enjoying all of this crypto stuff the last 4 years of being involved. I am now to the point where it is not only sustainable, but I feel comfortable helping others learn to do the same.
I love that belief of yours about the tyrants collapsing. I cannot wait for the day where there is someone else in control of the world.

Not someone else in charge, no-one in charge - rules without rulers.
Voluntarist communities of choice.
Rules enforced by code with lots of options of which set of rules you want to be part of.

Excellent point, that sounds even better.

Whereas it is shitty having to deal with all the bureaucracy and all the crap, welcome to the wonderful world of unemployment self-employment! Since you clearly did not "love" the job, it should be easy enough to view this as an opportunity to build something amazing while we are still on the leading edge of the cryptosphere taking over more and more of the world.

All the best to you!

SELF-EMPLOYMENT 👀
This is for sure an opportunity and not a setback. It feels like I switched from a horse and carriage (pony express) to a rocket ship with an imminent blast off (hive).

Welcome to the wonderful world if unemployment. I've been here for a couple years now. I enjoy it more each day.

Seems like a cool crowd... where are the drinks? Can we smoke in here?
Unemployed doesn't have to mean broke and dead beaten. I already feel a sense of renewal that has been waiting for me to claim for nearly a century now.

There's definitely smoking in here. Especially knowing nobody is going to ask me to pee in their cup.. I'm not broke or beaten.. I'm loving it. I have 35 acres so there's always work to do

You sure make it sound beautiful, this life without a giant set of balls dangling over your head waiting to teabag. I'm down!

This is a blessing in disguise man. Now you can live life on your own terms and have the freedom to do what you want. I am not sure how close you are to your families and everything, but life outside the US is so much better and cheaper.

I'm right there with you on that belief. I can remember a few months back you told me, "QUIT!"
Of course, I wanted to so badly, but I was timid to the idea still. It's finally happening.

My parents are my best friends, them and @flowerbaby. My only brother is just as important to me, but he lives all the way in PA now. Hopefully, this means I will be free to go see him more often rather than having to wait for holidays and special occasions.

When our kids move out, we want to live abroad for a year or two and just travel to different countries living in AirBNB or apartments and be digital nomads for a while. Crypto is making that dream more of a reality everyday.

Well, I feel you will definitely be able to make that happen. Just a matter of time before they are out of the house. At least you know what comes after your journey of parenting for 18+ years. I know it never stops, but at least you will be doing so indirectly rather than being in the same household like you have been.

I'm basically getting raped on a daily by USPS. I have been dedicating 8-9 hours daily to something that I care little to nothing about

I’m sure better things are coming your way

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks, dude! I'm glad you can believe in me to succeed and not just continue to live a pathetic life of showing up to clock in and out. I know I am capable of big things and this is my first real opportunity to show and prove.

Your story is very touching working for USPS.some organizations can be very cruel,I am very sure you needed freedom like never which resulted to your action and congratulations on your four years on hive,I know you are enjoying every bit of it.enjoy your day

I'm enjoying my life more than ever these days. Hive is allowing me to for once stick my fist in the face of USPS, rather than them sticking their fist up my *** continually.

Props to you on your convictions man. Not many people are willing to take the stand. Good on ya! It's all gonna work out for the best, not a doubt in my mind.

Mad respect wild one.

My middle finger just doesn't want to go down. I wonder when this effect will wear off?

Keep it up until they back down bro, it's the only way to live free.

With your attitude, it's a true blessing in disguise! You don't need them or their 55k a year. From what I've seen so far, you are very skilled and should not be enslaved by such companies that don't even value you for your hard work and spirit. F* them! :) Keep building here ;)

I’d rather eat cow balls on Fear Factor for $55k rather than work in that joint. No thanks to the Madagascar Hissing Cockroaches though 🪳

Oh my gosh, while I read that, all these fear factor images I've seen of people eating this things you mention (and others) are flashing through my mind. It's not even 8 AM here, thanks for that ;) haha

Is that still even a thing? Fear Factor I mean?

Last I saw Fear Factor had Ludacris as their host. I’m not sure if the show is still around or not.

Doesn't matter it was quite disgusting to watch anyway haha. I always wondered how people could sacrifice themselves to do something like it, I wouldn't be able to do so if I got offered a million bucks I guess.

Well, fuck them as ill keep saying. This is only the beginning for you bro. Onward and upward.

Fuck em' Fuck em' Fuck em' Fuck em' Fuck em'... PAUSE

To the future bro.
untitled.gif

untitled.gif

👍🎉🎉🎉 cool

It may be a blessing in disguise, my friend!
Good luck to all your endeavors!

I have a strong feeling telling me that you’re correct. On to bigger and better things.

When a door closes on you... look around, and there is a window that is open!

Very well said abs good luck for your future, I think you will be just fine. :)

untitled.gif


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @daltono! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2021 - Become an Orca!