Putting the Recent BTC Run in Perspective

in LeoFinance3 years ago

With the seemingly crazy run up in BTC prices over the past couple of months, it can be hard to resist the urge to sell some (for me at least) so I try to zoom out and put things into perspective which I find helps to solidify my conviction in hodling and even stacking more sats.

I thought I would take some time away from working on Splinterlands - we have so much really exciting stuff in the works for 2021 - and share my thoughts with all of you as well as take the opportunity to make my first post in the LeoFinance community, which is long overdue!

So here goes...

First of all, I should mention that I am not a trader by any means. I don't generally look at charts and I don't know the first thing about TA or any of that. This is just very simple, high-level perspective of where BTC might be headed based on what has happened over the past 7 or so years.

This is the chart of BTC over the past 3 years or so, from the previous cycle high at just under $20,000 until now:

Now, here is the chart from roughly the same period in the previous cycle, starting with the previous cycle high at around $1,000 in late 2013 and going up to May of 2017 - about 5 months past where we are now in the current cycle:

The takeaway here is that these charts are astoundingly similar. Like unbelievably similar. Despite seeing this many times, in many places, it's still hard for me to really believe that the price movement of bitcoin over these two separate 3-year periods is so strikingly similar, despite how very different those periods were for pretty much everything else in the world.

If I were going to bet on what would happen next - which I am, due to the fact that I am buying/hodling BTC - I would assume that the chart would continue to look similar to the one four years ago. So, let's zoom out the chart from the last cycle another 7-8 months to see what might be in store for us in 2021.

Keep in mind that what follows is the exact same chart as the one above, just including about 8 more months at the end:

Adding those extra 8 months makes the chart look totally different. That's because the price ran up so much that it makes everything on the previous chart look like a flat line.

Here's the same chart again but with my very complex annotations added:

The simple takeaway here is that if bitcoin price movements continue to even remotely follow what happened four years ago (as they have nearly perfectly for the past three years), then the price action over the next year should make the past three years look like a flat line.

Obviously, I can't take credit for this insight. LOTS of other people have been looking at the exact same thing for a long time and coming to the same conclusions. That's where many of the seemingly ridiculous price predictions are coming from.

But even though I hear it many times from many people much smarter than myself, I still like to look at it on my own every time I start to think about selling some BTC, or even when I think I don't want to buy any more because the price has run up too high.

I'll wrap this up with the obligatory warnings that things may turn out completely differently than I have prognosticated above and I am not a financial advisor nor is any of this financial advice. Everyone should do their own research, consult with an actual financial advisor, and don't invest what you can't afford to lose!

- @yabapmatt

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Great post and more sober and well reasoned than a lot of "analysis" shitposts. Another thing worth noting is the three corrections that occurred after this point in the previous cycle, all were 20-30% from memory, but holding through or at least being ready to pounce paid off.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

If we have to give some credit to @edicted and others that have predicted the doubling curve (and I think we should give him some), we will see astonishing maximums the next cycle. You and I will loose more chances to profit ourselves for thinking that the "price is too high".

It seems that Bitcoin at 300.000$ it's only a matter of time. Next time I hope that my wallet adds some instead of be here talking. Well of course, Leofinance is also profitable so we may keep talking and taking some nice returns.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yea, I really like the doubling curve concept and how closely bitcoin has been following it...definitely mad props to @edicted for that!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm trying to limit my buying months to late February and late September. Those are notoriously bearish times for the market. Just trying to save up as much of this garbage fiat as I can to pump it in during the cycle lows. I think it's pretty obvious at this point that we are going to peak in January or right at the end of December before we get that dreaded temporary retracement.

It's so easy to look at the chart and zoom around months at a time here or there, but when you are actually live it day by day its so hard to take one's own advice.

I think it's pretty obvious at this point that we are going to peak in January or right at the end of December before we get that dreaded temporary retracement.

I'm little bit curious about the price action that can be happen in the month of January and February past years indicate that months are really bearish for BTC price. What target are you expecting to the downside to add some more load to you btc portfolio.

Huge support at $20k, doubling curve goes all the way down to $15k. $20k is a solid buy and $15k is just free money at this point. If something crazy happened like martial law and the markets crashed into the muck... say $8k Bitcoin... that's an all-in moment where I would take out as much debt and leverage as much as possible to buy more.

15k would be all in movement for me I'm waiting for it.

Let's se how things unfold.

yeah I would go all in at $15k as well, but I would scramble to jump into debt any lower than that... say $10k... and I would tell all my friends to do the same without hesitation.

I have One of our family friends (and he is quite healthy) encouraging to get into Bitcoin since BTC was ... $145.
And you know what....? His crypto portfolio is still worth a nice round $0.00.
Some ppl never learn.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I wish it would follow the same pattern of 1st January, 2020 to allow us to buy loads of it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I also think that the low limit that is the minimum has now become the $ 8000/9000 threshold

Zooming out is my way of dealing with the day-by-day craziness and not doing anything stupid (like selling). All of this will just look like a flat line in a year or so.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

hm... yep... $300k indeed.

I can't believe some of these people who pop out of the woodwork to tell everyone it's foolish to not take gains here. Like, really? Corporations want to buy in and you're telling everyone to sell at $20k? Nice strategy. A week later we're at $27k... lol.

Lately I also tend not to sell anymore

History repeats itself and if we don't learn from past mistakes we will continue to repeat them. This is reflected also in the cryptocurrency market and Bitcoin shows that pretty well. Now how long the bull run it take and what will follow, we should all be able to anticipate using past data. Great eye for viewing things as they are and bringing some reality to the table.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I’m waiting for AltSeason

Hi Matt :)
I remember when you were bullish on ETH when it was low and bought in. That paid off and hopefully your BTC investment will too! I think I'll have to be like the average joe and stay away from crypto investments since it never worked out for me. I seem to enter at the wrong moments (except for Splinterlands)! You have to either know about the crypto world or really believe in it, and this world is still newish to me. Still, I want to learn more about it and gain others' perspectives on the topic.

Just stopping by to say hi and wish you and your family a happy and healthy Holiday and New Year!

Hey, great to hear from you! I hope you and your family have a great holiday / new years as well!

Hopefully your Splinterlands holdings will make you more than BTC or ETH ever would have :-)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I have high hopes with all the exciting releases for 2021! :)

About our Splinterlands holdings: SPLINTERLANDS has enormous potential, currently, in my opinion, it is the best blockchain based game. Gaming in the future will transfer everything to the blockchain, SPLINTERLANDS is already there.

See I remember back in the old day blogging when Bitcoin was $500, and I made a post talking about Billion Dollar Bitcoin and that was back in 2016!

Also I always love to refer to this one every few years Peter S. likes to call Bitcoin "Tulip Mania" What if the Bitcoin Bubble Pops? (which Tulip Mania only lasted a few months not over a decade and still strong like Bitcoin!)

I saw the potential for what Bitcoin could be, and just like my post in 2016 about a Future digital world on Hive in VR where we could be like Second Life.. and look at us now almost 5 years later!

With Dygycon and HiveFest VR I couldn't have been more accurate!

So let's just hope some of my other predictions about Splinterlands VR come true in the future as well!!

Well, bitcoin definitely has been in a bubble at times and will continue to be, but that doesn't mean it's worthless or will go away or anything like that. I mean the stock market has bubbles too. I think people confuse being in a bubble (unsustainable run-up in price which will lead to a crash) with something being a fad or scam - like the tulips were.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I guess the big question would be.. What exactly defines a Bitcoin bubble?

My take away from this is "Yaba says I should ignore bills for the next 6 months and put it all in BTC!" Yay!

You should ignore everything for the next 6 months except for Splinterlands art and design work :-P

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Those charts are really identical, astoundingly so, just on a different scale on the y axis! Like you, I'm still doing what I can stack the sats and really interested to see how the next 12 months pan out. If those predictions are anything to go buy and the amount of institutions ploughing money in, then current prices are still decent for a 3x return (not financial advice)!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I don't think that's a false picture you're painting. I also read an interesting article the other day about the price movement being more reminiscent of 2013 than 2017.

I also always have to keep the future potential in mind so I don't get too carried away with short impulses. I think this is something you have to adjust your mindset to in the investment area in general.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It would be nice to see the same rapid progress in hive or steem.

I see not many reasons for Bitcoin's growth, as the devs still haven't solved most of the scalability problems. There are no fundamental factors for longer term growth.

Anyway the cryptocurrency market is volatile and unpredictable.

the devs still haven't solved most of the scalability problems

I used to think this way until I realized it's wrong. Bitcoin has no scalability problem at all. It's not meant for small everyday payments (at least on the main chain), it's meant for things like capital preservation, portfolio diversification, and being able to easily transfer or transport large sums of money. For those things its current technology works perfectly well. Being able to send $1 billion anywhere in the world in less than an hour for a couple hundred dollars of fees is absolutely fantastic.

There are no fundamental factors for longer term growth.

There are MANY. The simplest fundamental factor is BTC slowly but surely replacing gold as the preferred protection against rapidly increasing currency debasement around the world.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I think we are just at the beginning of a long bullrun, ofc there can be big corrections but in the long run BTC can easily 10x from here in my opinion also considering the Corona crisis and how gov is printing money like brrrr.

Thank you, I've seen the same price predictions that you are talking about, and I didn't really understood where they came from even if people were mentioning it. This is well explained!

Posted using Dapplr

Yep. This is how things have played out since bitcoin was created. For it to not happen this time around would represent something different than bitcoin has ever done. I like to use the "this time isn't different" line of thinking for my investments. :)

I would have sold some if I had any to support Christmas presents and some other private ventures.

I am not very convinced that the Bitcoin cycle will repeat itself as in the last 8 years. The reason is that in this new game there are new players, institutional investors, and that means the market will not be as manipulated by whales as before.

so I don't expect the price to drop in the coming months

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It’s going to be interesting to see how this shakes out. Did we buy enough? Are we selling too soon or too late? Lots of things to ponder!

I t is difficult!

LG Michael

!jeenger
!invest_vote

@mima2606 denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@mima2606 thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Your contribution was curated manually by @mima2606
Keep up the good work!

Welcome to LeoFinance, @yabapmatt

toruk_washere_new3leo.jpg

More info why you see this.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I can only say one thing - these are crazy times we are living in, so anything could happen! As for selling BTC, I have experienced multiple times that selling BTC means losing. Although I have a small amount of BTC, I will only sell a part of it when it reaches the peak (which could be a hundred K or more only to try buying back more when it dips).

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

$tangent & !wine


Congratulations, @asimo You Successfully Trended The Post Shared By @yabapmatt.
You Utilized 1/3 Daily Summon Bot Calls.

TAN Current Market Price : 2.011 HIVE


Cheers, @asimo You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @yabapmatt.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting


WINE Current Market Price : 0.000 HIVE

Learn, Hold and Earn

Nice!!!!

Daily Manager for Crypto Revolution

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hello, I think we have a lot of indicators to help us to decide when is a good moment to sell. If you take a look at my post I try to explain that.

https://leofinance.io/@yuriitonkov/how-to-use-bitcoin-to-pay-your-retirement

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congratulations on your first article at https://leofinance.io/. As for the first article it turned out very well :)

It is a pity that you rarely spoil us with your publications.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

great post! I think you might be overestimating the possible gains a bit. I think it is helpful to look at the log chart. It puts the movement better in perspective. If you feel like it, have a look at this post, arguing that we will see 40k soon

There is more than similar charts. The infrastructure is in place for the standard investor to buy easily Bitcoins, and Wall Street has found a way to get fees for people buying and selling Bitcoins and other cryptocurrencies. The number of people getting Bitcoins will increase considerably during the year 2021.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I believe that soon BITCOIN will start to lose a large percentage of dominance. This will favor many other altCoins. I believe DEC will also rise in price at this stage. Thanks for make this post! You are an important person to us

That would bring so much fresh funds into the crypto game, that the next alt season would be insane.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

HODLing is easy peasy for me. This

I don't want to buy any more because the price has run up too high.

is what I find hard. I'm waiting for the price to go down but it keeps going up. It's sooooo hard to buy. 😂

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congratulations @yabapmatt! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Your post got the highest payout of the day

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

First Hive Power Up Day of 2021 - Get a Hive Power delegation
Offer a gift to your friends for Christmas

Btc going to 30k coming soon

Well it does need to be said. I still feel confident holding a lot of what I have in Hive so I dollar cost into Hive when it feels too low on the bitcoin comparative and I’ll be dollar cost averaging from hive into bitcoin next time we go parabolic.

The goal is to have as much bitcoin as possible, to make it to the top 100 accounts at hive, and to do as much as I can for this ecosystem. 150 spots away 😃

I am going to hold off a bit til btc starts going crazy, since I just powered up. May even sell my loose hive back for bitcoin if btc has a huge correction, but then I’ll put it back into hive later.

Great work on Splinterlands, not much of a gamer anymore but it’s great for the ecosystem!!

Hey Matt,
Sorry to jump in with something a bit off-topic.
The current HiveBuzz proposal will expire in a few days.
Do you mind casting your vote for the proposal renewal we made for 2021 so our team can continue with its work?
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/147

Thank you. Wish you all the best for 2021! Have a Happy New Year ✨🥂✨

Hey @yabapmatt I know you are busy with Splinterlands but the @steemmonsters account is voting for dead witnesses like @c-squared and you are voting for a dead witness @yoodoo.

Its problematic and a bad example when leaders with big HP like yourself and Splinterlands are voting for long dead witnesses.

They may be great people but if they are no longer witnessing they shouldn't be getting votes.

Consider voting for up and coming witnesses like myself, @techcoderx and @elindos

Off Topic Hive Question:

Where would I go to hire developers working on Hive blockchain for a project like "porting" (not sure if correct term) a open source software project like Makerdao onto Hive Blockchain?

How many developers would it take to finish the project and start testing it in 30 days?

Thank you.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

I regret that I didn't buy it when it was at the 5k level

I actually sold 2 BTC at about $5000 in 2019. It was a very short-sighted decision which was obviously dumb and is part of what started me trying to take a longer-term perspective and not get suckered by short-term price movements.

I really wish that the Alt season will be next after this recent BTC run ;)

I think there will be another alt season, but probably not until BTC really tops out, which could be another year or more out. The smart money can tell when BTC has topped and will start putting some of that money into good altcoin projects. The real question is - which ones?!?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta