Taking a look into the future in the past [EN/ES]

in Planetauto3 years ago

jason-leung-Qg_gUciqwmU-unsplash_edit.jpg
Image courtesy of Jason Leung on Unsplash.

English

Talking about the vehicle of my dreams is really a dream, with the economy of my country it is practically impossible for a worker with a normal salary to buy a modest vehicle and even less something dreamed of, but even so I want to participate in this contest.

I understand by dream vehicle a luxury transport, something beyond the normal that you want, a fantasy that often has no price and you know that it would practically be a stroke of luck, almost a miracle to get it, but still you keep that dream of getting that vehicle.

As complex as we are as a species, human beings have changing tastes that are constantly evolving. What I wanted when I was young is not necessarily what I want now and just that happens to me with vehicles, so I will make more than one vehicle based on various stages of my life.

But before talking about the beautiful part of the vehicles, we must talk about what requirements are needed to bring these vehicles from another country, because certainly in my country I doubt that these exotic models exist.

I am in Venezuela, the main requirement to bring a used vehicle from abroad is to have Venezuelan nationality or resident visa, be of legal age and be in the country before the car arrives.

Taxes will be paid when the vehicle exceeds US$20,000, having to pay value added tax (VAT) equivalent to 16%, 20% of the CIF value and a final payment to the local tax authority (SENIAT) of 1%.

The CIF value is the customs value, which includes the cost in the country of origin, the cost of insurance and the cost of freight to the destination country. This value complicates the calculations a lot, so I am going to simplify it to 20% of the value of the vehicle.

Español

Hablar del vehículo de mis sueños en realidad es un sueño, con la economía de mi país es prácticamente imposible que un trabajador con salario normal logre comprar un vehículo modesto y menos aún algo soñado, pero aun así quiero participar en este concurso.

Yo entiendo por vehículo soñado un transporte de lujo, algo más allá de lo normal que deseas, un capricho que muchas veces ni precio tiene y sabes que prácticamente sería un golpe suerte, casi milagro lograrlo conseguirlo, pero aun así mantienes ese sueño de obtener ese vehículo.

Con lo complejo que somos como especie, el ser humano es de gustos cambiantes que constantemente evolucionan. Lo que deseaba de joven no necesariamente es lo que deseo ahora y justo eso me pasa con los vehículos, por ello voy hacer más de un vehículo basado en varias etapas de mi vida.

Pero antes de hablar de la parte linda que son los vehículos debemos hablar de que requisitos se necesitan para traer estos vehículos desde otro país, porque indudablemente en mi país dudo que existan estos modelos exóticos.

Estoy en Venezuela, el requisito principal para traer un vehículo usado del exterior es tener nacionalidad venezolana o visa de residente, mayor de edad y estar en el país antes que el automóvil llegue.

Se pagará impuestos cuando el vehículo sobrepase los 20 mil dólares americanos, teniendo que pagar el impuesto al valor agregado (IVA) que equivale a un 16%, un 20% del valor CIF y un último pago al ente de impuestos local (SENIAT) de un 1%.

El valor CIF es el valor aduanero, que incluye el costo en el país de origen, el costo del seguro y el costo del flete hasta el país destino. Este valor complica muchísimo los cálculos con lo cual lo voy simplificar al 20% sobre el valor del vehículo.


Source of data: All Star Service Corp.


When I was younger - Cuando era mas joven


GIF courtesy of giphy.com.

Well sorry to be so basic and obvious, but yes, when I was younger my dream car was a Ferrari, initially the model that owned all my dreams was the Ferrari F40 until I discovered that the interior was more race car style than luxury vehicle.

What do I mean by interior luxury? Well the doors have no luxury finish whatsoever, the door handle is a simple steel cable that is pulled to open the door. They saved weight as much as they could by putting in carbon fiber, even the paint finish is very thin.

Pues lamento ser tan básico y obvio, pero si, cuando era más joven mi automóvil de ensueño era un Ferrari, inicialmente el modelo dueño de todos mis sueños era el Ferrari F40 hasta que descubrí que el interior era más estilo automóvil de competición que vehículo de lujo.

¿A qué me refiero con esto del lujo interior? Pues las puertas no tienen acabado de lujo alguno, la manilla de la puerta es un simple cable de acero que se tira de él para poder abrir dicha puerta. Ahorraron peso en todo lo que pudieron colocando fibra de carbono, incluso el acabado de pintura es muy fino.


image.png
Photo courtesy of RADical in Reddit.

Note that the F40 was the last Ferrari in which Enzo Ferrari participated, there is a popular thought that says that after that vehicle the brand lost its magic. I do not agree with that thought, but I must admit that this vehicle is pure history.

Destacar que el F40 fue el último Ferrari donde participó Enzo Ferrari, hay un pensamiento popular que dice que después de ese vehículo la marca perdió la magia. Yo no concuerdo con ese pensamiento, pero debo reconocer que este vehículo es historia pura.


image.png
Screenshot taken by me at classicdriver.com

The only way to have it would be to bring it from another country, used has a cost of 1,350,000 US dollars. With all taxes it would cost close to 2 million dollars, a dream for the current situation of the country.

As I said at the beginning, at that time of my youth I left it aside for the Ferrari F355 which, yes it was all leather interior luxury, a dream car with manual transmission as the following models come with F1 style transmission.

La única forma de tenerlo sería traerlo de otro país, usado tiene un costo de 1.350.000 dólares americanos. Con todos los impuestos quería muy cercano a los 2 millones de dólares, todo un sueño para la situación actual del país.

Como dije al principio, en esa época de juventud lo dejé de lado por el Ferrari F355 que, si era todo un lujo interior de cuero, un vehículo de ensueño con transmisión manual ya que los siguientes modelos vienen con transmisión estilo F1.


image.png
Screenshot taken by me at classicdriver.com

This F355 is a little more economical, at 162,083 US dollars, but as it exceeds 20 thousand, it would still pay all the taxes, leaving it at almost 230 thousand US dollars. Although it is more economical it would still be impossible for me.

Este F355 es un poco más económico, en 162.083 dólares americanos, pero como sobrepasa los 20 mil pues igual pagaría todos los impuestos, lo dejaría en casi 230 mil dólares americanos. Aunque es más económico aún sería imposible para mi persona.


At the present time - En la actualidad


GIF courtesy of giphy.com.

Don't get me wrong, I still love Ferrari's and that love will never die, but today as an adult if I could have a dream vehicle. It would be a 1981 DeLorean, more specifically the DMC-12 model.

I guess it doesn't need much explanation, but I'll still say it, it's the vehicle that was used as a time machine in the Back to the Future movie. It is one of my favorite trilogies of all time and I would love to have that vehicle.

No me malinterpreten, me siguen encantando los Ferrari y ese amor nunca morirá, pero hoy en día como adulto si pudiera tener un vehículo de ensueño. Sería un DeLorean del 1981, más específicamente el modelo DMC-12.

Imagino que no necesita mucha explicación, pero aun así lo diré, es el vehículo que se utilizó como máquina del tiempo en la película de Back to the Future. Es una de mis trilogías favoritas de todos los tiempos y me haría muchísima ilusión tener ese vehículo.


image.png
Screenshot taken by me at classicdriver.com

This vehicle in question is considered a complete failure, a vehicle full of high expectations and poor results. Because of this it is achieved at an even lower price than the previous ones by 63,110 US dollars. With all taxes I wanted at almost 200 thousand US dollars and yet it is still impossible for me.

Este vehículo en cuestión se considera un fracaso en toda su regla, un vehículo lleno de altas expectativas y pobres resultados. Debido a ello se consigue a un precio aún más bajo que los anteriores por 63.110 dólares americanos. Con todos los impuestos quería en casi 200 mil dólares americanos y aun así sigue siendo imposible para mí.



GIF courtesy of giphy.com.

Reality - Realidad

At the end of all this dream of impossible vehicles for my economy, I have two jobs where the little I earn goes in basic expenses to survive. It is complicated any expense outside the basic necessities.

In this country a used motorcycle in good condition exceeds one thousand US dollars. At the most I could aspire to a mountain bike, but of an unknown brand, because the good brands are over a thousand dollars too.

Maybe because of all this country situation is that I stopped dreaming about luxury vehicles and although my love for Ferrari is still there, I have it well hidden inside. In the end, writing this publication was a nice way to remember that youth that had dreams without limits or borders.

This was my participation in the contest organized by @ocd for the Planetauto community. Thank you very much for this space to @planetauto and also very grateful to those who took the time to read me.

Al final de todo este sueño de vehículos imposibles para mi economía, pues toca un poquito de realidad, tengo dos trabajos donde lo poco que gano se va en gastos básicos para poder sobrevivir. Es complicado cualquier gasto fuera de las necesidades básicas.

En este país una moto usada que esté en buen estado sobrepasa los mil dólares americanos. A lo mucho podría aspirar a una bicicleta montañera, pero de marca desconocida, porque las buenas marcas pisan los mil dólares también.

Quizá por toda esta situación país es que deje de sonar con vehículos de lujo y aunque mi amor por Ferrari sigue ahí, lo tengo bien escondido dentro. Al final escribir esta publicación fue una manera linda de recordar esa juventud que tenía sueños sin límites o fronteras.

Esta fue mi participación en el concurso organizado por @ocd para la comunidad de Planetauto. Muchísimas gracias por este espacio a @planetauto y también muy agradecido a los que se tomaron el tiempo de leerme.


OCD Community Boost Contest #10: Highlighting Planetauto


Separator.png

Sort:  

Here in the US in Texas there's a new DeLorean Motor Company that bought all of the inventory of Deloreans from the Ireland factories. They make basically new Deloreans and sell them by order, but I think the waiting list is full.

I love these cars though. I've seen 2 or 3 of them in person.

I hope one day to have the joy of seeing a DeLorean in person.

Shared in Twitter

😁 seguiremos esperando nuestros Ferrari.

Si jejeje pero los nuevos modelos son híbridos. Tocara comprar un modelo clásico 😆

Please never give up on your dreams, nothing is impossible! I have done so many things in my life which I never thought I could do.

I can see the attraction of having a Ferrari. I tried buying one at 15. It was only £500 since it had been in a crash. It was a mo dial. My father wouldn't let me buy it thou. Lol
Anyway, I love the Dmc12, one of the coolest cars ever made. Here is one I saw a few months back in my local shopping centre.

image.png

image.png

Anyway please keep us all updated, I am very interested :) thank you :)

Matt

What a beauty that DeLorean is, there's something about it that's hard to explain. I hope someday to be able to see one in person.

It’s a lot to take in. It takes your breath away (especially if you see it on the road, and not a shopping mall :)) :)

Congratulations @geeklania! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 70 posts.
Your next target is to reach 80 posts.
You made more than 300 comments.
Your next target is to reach 400 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

False-Positive phishing alert reported by antivirus software
Feedback from the May 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

buen post!