Engagement is the Name of the Game!

in FreeSpeech3 years ago (edited)

I really like getting upvotes on my posts, but do you know what I like even more?

Comments!

And not just any old "nice post" or "follow my profile" spam. I like real engagement. Discussion, arguments with substance, related personal anecdotes, and other efforts to connect with my content make me happy as a clam.


Tangent: why do people attribute happiness to mollusks that resemble snot in armor?


feedback2044700_640.jpg
Image credit

My own engagement efforts have, admittedly, been slipping. At one time, my comment to post ratio was around 10:1 if memory serves. Now it has fallen to more like 6:1. I will try to do my part even more, too, but I need you to step up and do the same. After all, many of my comments were relies to people who engaged with me.

Hive has all the ingredients to make something amazing, but it is us, the users here for more than a quick crypto profit, who will make it a real success. Being better technologically isn't enough.We need to be a better community, too.

Are you with me? You can begin with a comment below! I'll even give a bonus upvote if you share a favorite podcast. I'm still recommending 372 Pages We'll Never Get Back, the podcast that has fun dissecting bad books. I don't think I mentioned last time that one of the hosts is Michael J. Nelson, former host of Mystery Science Theater 3000, and the other is Conor Lastowka. Both are involved with Rifftrax, continuing the MST3K tradition of mocking bad movies. Check those out, too, if you need a laugh in these trying times.

Meanwhile, don't forget to use the tags in posts to find new writers discussing topics you enjoy, and explore the communities to find like-minded people who can help you get started in finding your place on our blockchain. Many of us old-timers are glad to help if you just let us know where you have questions or problems.

Sort:  

Can't say I've heard that expression for a happiness comparison. I know "happy as a pig in slop/💩" which is just as gooey sounding, if you think about it. Maybe happiness is wet. 🤔

Not really a podcast listener myself, so not much else to add here, except that I've been trying to be present in the real world a bit more recently, so comments have been low and posting even lower. Hope you get your Hivebuzz badge. 🤞

My favorite podcast is MonsterTalk, the science show about monsters! It's skeptical in tone, but the hosts are very funny and interested in just about everything I love!

http://www.monstertalk.org/

Are you at all familiar with the Dark Myths podcast collective? Lots of shows about monsters, urban legends, alternate history, and exploration of the dark side of humanity all in one place.

Nope, but I will give it a look!!!

Posted using Dapplr

Can't walk away from this one without commenting.

How's it goin @jacobtothe?

I don't have a big library of podcasts man, I'm probably missing out. I have a few classical stations saved, they're my drawing channels when I don't want words to distract me.

Hopefully this works.

Yeah man, way to call us all out. What a dick, wanting engagement on a social platform 🤣

Right now my favorite podcasts are S2 Underground and the Mikhaila Peterson Podcast. Been listening to both of them on LBRY, as I've ditched YouTube and other social media. They're not really on the same spectrum, but that's okay. Spice of life and all.

I've definitely been guilty lately of the "squeeze out a post just to keep the rewards flowing" mentality, and have been total shit at engagement, even on my own posts. Maybe I'll start working on that.

I am trying to get a post every day this month, but that @hivebuzz badge, and not the crypto, is my primary motivation. I want to see if I can achieve it without just scheduling stuff using PeakD.

That's a lofty goal. I don't think I've done that since steem. I'm more active the last bit because work is more forgiving since I moved to an easier department. I love having time at work for non-work things. Makes it more rewarding.

Guess it'd be easier to write a post a day if I wrote on a more diverse range of topics. I've been liking your anarchism group, so maybe that'll be a goal I go for soon.

I agree that comments have a better effect than upvotes.

I've noticed that votes on posts tend to be dominated by robots. There is a huge number of bots that upvote right at 5 minutes .... which is the optimum time for getting curation rewards.

Upvoting posts ends up giving rewards to the bots.

I decided to buy enough HIVE to get my upvote above $0.02 (the minimum payout amount for an upvote). The upvote calculator shows the value of an upvote for a given amount of HIVE.

In general, it takes about $500 in HP for an upvote to be worth $0.02.

Of course, my buying HIVE caused the price to halve. Sorry about that everyone.

BTW: When my upvote value is less than $0.02, I will look at the comment section of an account I appreciate and upvote the posts that I can bring over the two penny threshold.

Anyway, my observation is that upvoting root posts tends to reward robots. Upvoting the comments gives a higher reward to humans.

I know several witnesses have discussed modifying the reward curve to give more opportunities to human curators instead of rewarding the 5-minute bot votes. I'd like to see that play a key role in the next code fork.

The bot programmers will optimize their creations to whatever formula HIVE adopts. If the witnesses change the formula, the bots will be the first group to respond to the new formula.

Peakd.com shows the read time for a post. Perhaps the grace period for upvotes could be set to the calculated read time.

I've encountered the situation where the post has a ten minute video. When I am done watching the video, there is a score of bot votes timed just at 5 minutes. My upvote will reward the bots.

I think the strategy of making comments a primary focal point of HIVE is still a good long term strategy for humans.

The strategy of upvoting comments brings one into the important question of how much HIVE POWER should accounts buy and hodl?

Adopting this strategy creates the incentive for people to follow the price of HIVE and to actively trade HIVE.

When I wrote my reply yesterday, my upvote was worth over $0.02 . There was an 8% drop in the price of HIVE and the value of my upvote fell. Peakd reports my upvote is worth 0.019 STU. Aaaaarrrrgggghhhhhhh!!!!!!!

The strategy of upvoting comments engages people in conversation on the platform encourages people to actively engage both users on the platform and the price of HIVE.

Now, if we could just convince a bunch of suckers Hive Users to adopt the same strategy, the price of HIVE might become a bit more stable and we get more people actively engaged in comments.

I have often wondered if it was an artist thing (a lot of the other artists I've spoken to liked upvotes for obvious reasons as most of them probably came for the money like everyone else, but generally preferred comments to bigger upvotes), seems that perhaps it's a most people thing?

Meanwhile I often wonder if people are enjoying the serenity when I go radio silent for whatever reason but it seems that some people actually miss my rambling XD

I don't do podcasts, my brain just stops processing audio after a while (even though I can still hear it fine).

Nice post.

If it weren't you, you know damn well this would be a 100% downvote. 😂

In all seriousness though, I've been an avid listener to Hoskinson's videos.

https://www.youtube.com/c/charleshoskinsoncrypto/videos

Nice post... Follow my profile...😎

Congratulations @jacobtothe! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 11000 replies. Your next target is to reach 11500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

11,000 replies is exactly the sort of thing this post is intended to encourage, so this is a serendipitous award indeed!

We are happy to read that it encourages, it's a great job! 😊
BTW, it would be very appreciated if you could support our proposal so we can keep up the good work!