You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 59: The invite

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago (edited)

Man, this one is kind of a tough one because I would love to invite so many friends. But if I have to choose one person, I would like to choose the teacher who teaches the subject 'Academic Skills' at our University.

Most students dislike her because she is very disciplined. But I look up to her very much. She is already over 60, but you would never think so. Not only because of her looks, but also because she is also very developed. Moreover, she keeps up with the times, she is more than up to date in the technical field. I don't see that happening very often in my immediate environment. Many people over 60 that I know can't even handle a mobile phone.

She is also very organized. Finally, she is super rich, while she actually comes from a poor family and through hard work she has come where she is today. Despite being very rich nowadays and having a good position in society, she is very humble.

I would love to have dinner with her so she can tell me a little bit more about her life and how she has overcome the hard times to build herself up. It is often the case that people see what goals someone else has achieved, but no one wants to know about the struggles. I, on the other hand, would like to know how those struggles went, so I can learn from them.

What would I like to eat? I happen to know that she loves Italian food and so do I, so I would probably take her out to dinner at an Italian restaurant. Because I am not a great cook.🤣

Sort:  

Sharing Italian food whilst gaining knowledge and wisdom from someone who hold plenty of both sounds like a pretty good plan and so I think you've chosen a really good person to share your imaginary dinner with. In truth I think you've already learned a great deal from her and will probably learn more. You sound like a switched on lady, one who is open to learning through other people's experiences and so that's exactly what you'll do; good lessons they'll be too I think.

@galenkp Yes, indeed I am really a person who is always open to listening to others' experiences. I think that just makes me a better person. We can grow by learning in school, but growing by watching and listening to life experiences are sometimes much more fun and educational.

Life lessons can be far more important from those traditional ones we learn in school.

In as far that he stood his ground to learn from the one whom people dislike means a lot. His goodness of gaining knowledge from her is the special parts I cherish so much.

@cool08 Haha, yes I don't really care about what the others students think of her. I am sure they hate me for liking that teacher, but hey we can't expect everyone to love us right?🤣

I am a teacher and I know how it feels to get invited for dinner. Plus, making an Italian recipe, that's going to be a long night, I anticipate the red wine to complete the meal 😂🤗

@mrenglish Cool! Have you ever been invited by a student yourself?
One of my students who comes to tutoring once gave me a necklace as a gift. I felt so honored. That feeling is so indescribable.
Red wine is my favorite 😂 So it would definitely be there.

I have had to attend a lot of invites by my former students. Sometimes, to a reunion party by students and having to part with so many accolades and gifts. The giggles comes with such invites.

Wow. . . You have made the right choice. Getting to know how he passed through the hard times is the best you have done. She might be hard and tough but discipline. In as far that she is disciplined means she can go extra mile to work hard to attain success. This is the kind of people I love to go with

@cool08 Yes, at the end of the day, it suits me that she is disciplined. She is doing it for our good. 😅