Smells that awaken pleasant sensations (WEEK 203)

"Nothing is more memorable than a smell. A smell can be unexpected, momentary and fleeting, yet it can evoke a summer of childhood."

-DIANE ACKERMAN


20231115_174247-1.jpg


It's raining outside and it's very inspiring to write, besides the memories of hearing the rain falling.

That got me thinking about smells, those that are most meaningful or pleasant to me.

Many scents that come to me cause beautiful sensations, some because they make me remember things, people, moments, situations and others simply because they are delicious to me, although many times I don't know why.


separador sencillo 6.png


The first aroma or smell that comes to my mind as delicious, rich and beautiful is the scent of jasmine. But not just any jasmine, but a special one called Cape Jasmine.

I have always loved it, its scent is intoxicating, sweet, and very characteristic.

Many houses in Argentina had this plant, or bush, in front of their fronts, and at certain times of the year it was full of flowers. Passing by these places was exquisite.

I had one of these plants, but it didn't last long, the conditions of the soil in my garden and the intense heat were not optimal. The climate had changed a lot from when I was a child and passed by those houses.

But in the time it lasted, I would perfume the whole garden and every now and then I would cut a flower and put it in water on my bedside table next to my bed. Sleeping with that scent is wonderful.


separador sencillo 6.png


I have no idea why, but the second scent that comes to my mind is the smell of wood.

When I pass by a carpentry shop I love the smell of freshly cut wood.

Wood in furniture symbolises warmth in the home and solid wood furniture fascinates me. Stylish, turned, antique furniture is beautiful.

Maybe that's why I like the smell so much.

I have been to several carpentry shops in Argentina, in fact, my brother worked in one for a few months and every time I smell that aroma I love it.

I know that there are different types of wood with their characteristic smell, mahogany does not smell the same as cedar, poplar or oak. I think I like cedar the most.

Besides, it brings back memories of the time when I was restoring my house, windows, doors and so on. I loved sanding the wood and the scent it gave off.


separador sencillo 6.png


And the third smell or aroma that fascinates me is the smell of rain. That pre-smell that announces that water is going to fall, like a pre-existing humidity.

And then the raindrops start to fall with a very particular aroma.

I've always liked rain, even storms. They are very inspiring for me. Not only for writing, as at this moment, but for any task. I imagine, create, design, paint or just read a book.

When I do those tasks while it is raining it is much more pleasant and relaxing at the same time.

I think the sound together with the smell is what I like the most. It brings me peace and harmony. I love it.

Maybe the smell of rain, wetness, gives me a sense of life, of creation, of resurgence. Water for me is something special and rain even more so. That smell reminds me that the plants will be more beautiful after those drops, that smell of rain-soaked earth is a symbol of rebirth.


separador sencillo 2.png


In short, all three scents are natural, from nature and that's wonderful.

Thank you very much @galenkp always for these great themes and delighted every weekend to be here.

Very good weekend to all of you and thanks for joining me today. See you next time.
Amonet.


All photographs are my own.

Used translator Deepl.com free version.

Separador Amonet rosa.png

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you very much @indiaunited and @steemflow 😃

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @miriannalis suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏

Thak you so much @hivecurators ❤️

@avdesing, you are most welcome!

Please Support Back

Here is !ALIVE token gift for you

@avdesing! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ hivecurators. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

🤗🤗🤗

What a beautiful flower, I am a flower lover.
Autumn has also been very rainy here @avdesing, it's true the aromas bring us memories, I love yours

There are many more but I think these are my favourites. Thank you very much @miprimerconcurso ❤️

The smell of cedar inside a house is very pleasant, it gives me the feeling that the house is always clean even if there is chaos.
Especially used to make drawers, that smell when you open it is unique.
The smell of jasmine transmits calmness to me, I sit on the patio and I can spend hours enjoying it together with my thoughts...
It's amazing how the scents connect with your inner self and memories....

The brain always relates smells to something, often a memory. And flowers, I love nature! Thank you for your beautiful comment!❤️

I love the smell of rain too! So difficult to choose only three of them right? Hehe

It was very difficult to choose just three, but I think they are the most significant, although there are many more. Thank you very much!😃

Thank you for showing us! What did you think of mine three? :)

The smell of coffee is delicious! But the sea is more!

Rain hits a note of magic always, wood shavings something I buy and place in a vase when I see it available love the woody textures and perfume.

Certain flowers remind me of some special people in my life, triggered often by specific perfumes flowing in on a breeze.

@tipu curate

Thank you so much!!❤️

Exactly, for example lemon and lemon cologne reminds me of my grandmother, she always used it. And many things in our life are recorded as memories in smells. It's amazing!
Thank you so much for your beautiful comment and support!❤️

My Mom only ever used 4711 Original Eau De Cologne vibrant mixed tones one doesn't forget. Strong memories triggered by sense of smell. Have a wonderful day!

Many perfumes remind us of specific people and when we smell them again those people come back. What a wonder of our brain!

Have a nice Sunday!

Many perfumes take us back to certain people or times in our lives, always wonderful remembering.

Beautiful memories. Thank you! Thank you very much!❤️

Rainy season has arrived 😀

It's a beautiful season! Thank you very much!😃

Yep, it is good to be in this season again

Wow, the smell of rain, what a great choice my friend and I loved the way you describe it. I enjoy it a lot, but obviously if I'm at home with everything under control it's more pleasant hehe. I haven't written anything for Weekend-Experience yet, but your post has inspired me and reminds me how wonderful this community is. Happy Saturday my dear!...

Get involved! I love to participate and share experiences!

There are more smells that I like like like the sea, beach, flower of chance, but I could only choose three. Thank you Jesus!

What you say is no coincidence. We store smells in our memory together with the emotional experience that accompanies them, I suppose that evolutionarily this is an advantage. The smell of rain, and more than rain, of wet earth also brings me good sensations; perhaps because of what you explain, because of its connection with life, with the emergence of life. Have a great Saturday @avdesign

That's right, smells evoke memories almost always, they are in our memory and for me water is fundamental, it means emotions and mother. Rain is special for me but also the sea. Thank you and have a nice weekend @enraizar !

Estoy de paseo (espero que no llueva 😬),que tengas una gran tarde. 🤗

Good afternoon and evening!✨

What a great topic, dear friend @avdesing, talking about aromas.
I think that all the things that have been in contact with us and have an aroma, bring back some memory, which can be pleasant or unpleasant. I love what you have chosen to share with us and I am sure there will be many more who will provoke endless thoughts in you.
I take this opportunity to wish you a wonderful weekend.

There are many scents, but these are the first ones that came to my mind as very strong. Thank you very much @jlufer 😃

I love the smell of rain, even something very particular happens to me with it, a little before it starts to rain I feel the smell and I know it's coming 😊

Yes, that pre-damp smell is great and I love it too, delicious! Thank you so much!❤️

I also like those smells. I don't know if it will be the same, but that smell of a plant we call Galán de Noche (Night Blooming Jasmine) here reminds me of my childhood, at my maternal grandparents' house. And recently my mother brought me a cutting and I planted it in my garden. So these days it's blooming and I love smelling it.
The smell of wood is always very refreshing for me and I suppose I also like it because it reminds me of my childhood with my paternal grandparents. My grandfather had a carpentry shop in front of the house and I would always go and sit to watch him work and smell the aroma of the different woods.
And the smell of petrichor, this is wonderful. I love it too. 😍

How wonderful, a carpentry shop! I would stay for hours watching and being there in the middle of the wood.... uff I think I'm crazy hahaha

To perceive a smell that we like will be kept in a corner of our memory and every time we perceive it will bring back happy moments, I agree with you about the smell of rain, that is one of my favourite smells. Greetings

It is truly one of my favourite scents, it transports me to beautiful moments. Thank you very much!😃