[WE-139] - weekend sharing

One of the questions in the weekend engagement this week is about sharing of a loss.

My Loss

At the end of last year, I suffered badly from an autoimmune disease that left me with some loss of feeling, balance, movement and sight.

After spending a period in hospital, I have got most of my strength back. Physically I actually feel much better and my balance is probably 98% back to normal.

My vision is still not good though. I can see up close but really struggle to see anything at any distance. This has had a number of impacts on my life.

First, I obviously can't drive. I am much more reliant on others as a result.

Secondly, I struggle cross roads or walking where there are many people. Everything looks very confused to me and I have to take my time - not easy when people are rushing by.

I haven't been able to travel far by myself. I usually travel a lot for work but have been mainly working from home. Going into the office was a bit of an ordeal. Going further a field is off the cards for the moment.

I do hope that I will make a full recovery but it could take months. So what I have learnt from this loss?

What I have learnt

First of all, although I am not an overly religious man, when my health was failing really quickly in hospital, its only faith that can keep you going. The doctors had a plan but there was no real treatment and no known risk factors for what I had. Fate would seal my future. I found peace in faith.

Secondly, and its a real close second, family are everything. My family looked after me so well and they still do. If my eyesight returns and I can do all the things I used to be able to do, I will focus even more of my time in helping my family.

Finally, the other big lesson from my loss of the eyesight that I used to have is that you have to live every second to the max. YOLO!

We don't know what is around the corner, we don't know when I situation will suddenly change direction. We tend to procrastinate but don't be lazy. Cease the moment!

As a Muslim, we hear many hadith which are they saying of the Prophet Muhammed. This is one of them which I think really suits the situation of loss.

“Take advantage of five before five: your youth before your old age, your health before your illness, your riches before your poverty, your free time before your work, and your life before your death.”

I will leave you with that to ponder.

To close off this post, let me show you what I see (sort of). The first photo is a street near my house. The below picture is more like how I see the world. Its a kind of double vision. I often see cars on the wrong side of the road. If there are 20 people walking on the sidewalk, I see 40 people. In a busy London train station its a nightmare, I just can't concentrate on all the moving images.

Look after your health. Look after your wealth. Look after your families. Look after yourself.

Tick tock.

Sort:  

Congratulations @awah! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Holy heaven! I'm so sorry to read about your health problems. I did the same challenge, I mean wrote about Loss, but my loss and your loss can't be compared.
I can understand how insecure you feel when outside. Reading your post made me remember hen I came home from a plastic surgery and was feeling insecure. At the crosswalk I waited for another person to arrive and crossed with her, to be sure.

However, your plan and perception of your reality is admirable. You're on the right track and I wish you fast recovery and all the best in the world. I hope you can get better soon and enjoy life and family.

Hi @erikah - Thanks so much for your comment. Well, you know what, life brings challenges and the way we rise to them defines us. I hope that with the challenges I have the I can sustain my positivity and be a help to others on their own challenges in life. I am being as patient as I can with my current condition and hope that it will get better over time.

!LUV
!wine
!BBH

@erikah! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @awah. (1/5)

@erikah, @awah(1/3) sent you LUV. | tools | discord | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Made with by crrdlx


Congratulations, @awah You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @erikah.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/4 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.151


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

I'm so sorry to hear about your struggles right now. I just hope and pray that you will be fully recovered as soon as possible so that you can do normal things and, especially you can bond with your family in a normal way. Anyway, have a great day ahead my friend.

Thanks so much. I am being patient and do hope in time things will get better. It makes you appreciate what you have rather than dwell on what you have lost!

Have a good day

!wine
!BBH
!LUV

@luckylaica! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @awah. (2/5)


Congratulations, @awah You Successfully Shared 0.200 WINEX With @luckylaica.
You Earned 0.200 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/4 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.151


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

Right, we should never lose hope as long as we're alive.

Thanks for the gift, my friend! Sending 💕