[WE104] - Two Companions

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)

pexels_tim_gouw_24698

I chose the weekend engagement prompt to write about 2 companions I would like to travel with in an RC, across the US/Canada.

My first thoughts were to try to think of some famous people. Who would be really interesting and fun to spend time with? Who would it be really cool to hang out with?

However, then I remembered that I had once been planning a trip across the US in an RV with a couple of people I know.

It didn't work out. One summer, one of our group had to go to hospital. Then Covid hit and the next two summers were wiped out with no options for travel. This summer although Covid seems to have passed, our plans are more local still.

These two people are special to me though and they are the ones I would choose to travel with across the US in an RV.

20211025_195403

My parents!

They have seen many places in the world but have never been to the US. I am sure they would love it and there are some beautiful place to see. They like nature so I would probably head up towards the northern states.

As a family, we used to do lots of camping and touring in Europe when we were all younger. My father is now 80 though and would not sleep in a tent. Perhaps he would sleep in an RV still. As long as it had some decent facilities.

So why them?

My parents live in a different country to me and I only get to see them for a few days ever year. Covid has paid its toll on them. Not from getting Covid itself. Just by not getting out and doing things, they have slowed down. Or perhaps it was because I didn't see them for so long that I noticed there age more.

It makes you realise that time is limited and our chances of further good times should not be taken for granted. We never know what is around the corner.

So who better to spend time travelling across the US and be my two companions than the two people who have been pillars all the way through my life. The two that have done the most for me. The two that have always been there for me.

So on reflection, any other choice would be superficial. Yes it might be cool to hang out with some famous people.
However, the choice of these two companions would give me something that I could cherish as memories forever.

Anything else would be remiss of me.


Image 1 source
Image 2 source: My own (Modified with Pixlr)

Sort:  

Hi @awah,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

WE THX IM.png

Thank you for supporting the original #weekend-engagement initiative conceived by @galenkp and featured in THE WEEKEND community

The image belongs to @galenkp

I absolutely love this story. Listening to your childhood I think you’re right. An RV through the natural parks of the US would be amazing for you all. Since I left the US, I too only see my mom once a year. My dad died of cancer when he was 52; I was 21. We traveled all over the US as kids and it was amazing. Mom has been remarried for several years now but she’s never left the US. Good luck getting your family to the US for some quality travel time. I am hoping this is the year I can convince my mom to leave the US and come visit me.

It's difficult living apart from parents isn't it? Well, Covid has taught me to treasure more the times we do have together so this is why I answered the weekend prompt in this way.

Cheers buddy - hope your mum visits you this year! !wine


Congratulations, @awah You Successfully Shared 0.200 WINEX With @vestalmt.
You Earned 0.200 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/4 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.201


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @awah.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

You parents are a great choice. I took my parents travelling quite often before they passed away. Time is short and it creates memories that will last forever. A wonderful choice you chose:)

Thanks - when I thought properly on this topic. There was only one choice. The time left with them is precious.

Cheers !wine


Congratulations, @awah You Successfully Shared 0.200 WINEX With @tengolotodo.
You Earned 0.200 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/4 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.201


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us