[WE93] When I get older, losing my hair….

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago

pexels_craig_dennis_128428.jpg

For the weekend prompt today (my first entry by the way - so be gentle), I have decided to write on the following prompt:

By the time I'm 60 I want to...

First of all, I haven't got decades to go. More precisely, just 1 decade. Growing old itself is not an easy process. Slowly, parts of the body start to not work the way they used to. We may be lucky to live quite a few decades more but we never know when our time will be up.

This prompt made me think of that old Beatles song, "when I get older, losing my hair.."

For me therefore, getting to 60 is about setting up a legacy. Something that will carry on after me to see others continue. The passing of the torch to the next generation and setting them up for success.

The legacy I am looking for is a bit different depending on the persona that I am playing. There are two main ones (there are others too but for brevity, I will use 2).

Professional

As a leader in the workplace, I want to set up my team for success. My major focus is to raise my team's level: their skills, their capability. I want them to achieve the full potential that they are able to and be satisfied with what they are able to offer. This takes a lot of dedication, patience, listening and coaching.

One of the most important tasks of any leader is to develop that next set of leaders. This allows the organisation to grow and also survive longer term.

My legacy in this situation is that a team that can function optimally without me and hopefully do better than when I was their team leader. I find this rewarding; when I see my team better and achieving more.

Family

I have 3 children (not so young now) and I want the best for them. Currently, I support them financially, spiritually and mentally. I like to think I am always there for them. I don't try to shape them with a particular mould rather I want them to make their own decisions on their future direction. However, I want them to be fair, kind, have empathy, be honest and make the maximum use of the opportunities they have available. I want them to reach their maximum potential.

Summary

So, there are some similarities between these different personas I play. It is about empowerment. When I get older, losing my hair, I want to be able to look back and think that I really made a difference to the lives that I touched both inside and outside my family. I want people to feel that I helped them to achieve more and not waste the chances that life gives them.

After all, you on live once #yolo


Image source: Pexels

Sort:  

Hi @awah,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Your involvement in #weekend-engagement WE93 is greatly appreciated by @galenkp and THE WEEKEND community team. We hope you have a great weekend and will come back again soon.

WE TFE image (1).png

Image created using canva

I think you have some good things to aim at here and I'd say they're achievable. Set some goals and have some plans to support them and you'll be on the way.

I like the make a difference to others thing...but don't forget to make a difference to yourself also meaning, live your own best life. 😊

Thanks for being involved and I hope you'll come back this Friday for the next set of topics.

...but don't forget to make a difference to yourself also meaning, live your own best life.

You are right, and they are linked. I find life fulfilling when I can see how I have impacted the lives of others for the better. Doing it through things I love doing makes it even greater.

Have a great week, helpfully I will be back next weekend.

Cheers !wine


Congratulations, @awah You Successfully Shared 0.800 WINEX With @galenkp.
You Earned 0.800 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 4/4 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.333


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

setting up a legacy -- very nice! It's something I believe in as well. As for me, it's for my daughter's future and also my pets. LOL!
Have a fantastic week ahead.


Made in Canva

!ALIVE

- @iamraincrystal - Moderator/Alive Video Master
_
This post has been curated by the Alive And Thriving Team, we curate good content in the We Are Alive Tribe that is on topic for #AliveAndThriving, and it's included in our daily curation report on @aliveandthriving.

Hi @iamraincrystal - thanks for dropping by. Our children are so important to us. Get luck with your daughter!

@awah! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @aliveandthriving. (3/30)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Congratulations @awah! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!