Contrast

July 17th, 2021

Fridays Sunset, Today's Intersection

Weekend plans were shifted some what, the urge for afternoon pizza came up, and well me and pizza means afternoon nap.

Last night we went for a short drive to try and get some sunset pictures. It waa a somewhat washed out sunset because of a lot of smoke, but still I tried to get a few shots.

Clam Gulch Sunset - 07-16-21 21:15 pm
I wanted to highlight some of the pushkey,(cow parsnip), so I used the flash, then I brightened a little in the paint program. It did not come out as well as I wanted.

The sun was setting behind a pretty dense layer of smoke from fires to the north up by Fairbanks. So far no significant fires around us.

So we did not stick around to see if it would get any better, I had one more stop I wanted to make before it got to dark.

Small Roadside Lake
No wind and I was hoping to get a nice set of images, I think auto stitch did a nice job once again stitching together six images to make one. I should have taken my tri-pod, but still even with slightly wobbly hands I am pretty happy with the picture.

On to Saturday:

I don't think I have ever intentionally taken a picture of an intersection, but since we were going to go pick-up a pizza to take home, and I wanted to get a Saturday picture, I thought why not. So there is nothing spectacular going on in the picture, it is just an everyday snap shot, not a work of art. But it is my first intentional intersection photograph.

Intersection 07-17-21
Not much going on, not even a lot of traffic. Some days there is a lot of traffic, I should have tried for a DQ picture, they get a lot of traffic, but with a lot of bugs on the windshield and not feeling like getting out of the car for a picture plus I really wanted an intersection shot, this is what I got.

Well the pizza was good, a larger pepperoni and extra cheese affair. As per usual about an hour after consuming three slices, it was time to lay down for an hour. I do like and enjoy what I call food coma naps, naps bought on by food.

Since I don't really do regular beer anymore, I had a nice root beer to go with it.

Well day one of the weekend comes to a close with me having gotten up from my nap and making this post. Who knows, maybe I'll do another post on Sunday to close the weekend out.

Tiny Picture links back to my blog:

Sort:  

That first photo is pretty interesting, green and flowery in the front and tree silhouettes behind.

The intersection photo made me think about how many of those I probably have. Before covid I had a 20 mile ride each way to work and for various reasons, mostly clouds, I have a number of intersection photos. LOL.... I mean, what else do you do while you wait for the light to turn. I think I will throw some of them in a post for the fun of it.

I/m sure I have a few also, but that is the first one I said to myself, I'm going to take a picture of the intersection. Alt least there were not very many bugs out, last year that close to the green you would have been swarmed by mosquitoes.

That’s the most fantastic and interesting intersection photo I’ve ever seen!!1 Lol. I don’t know if I’ve taken an intersection photo either except if I was interested in the clouds above it which recently happened.

Nice snap of the sunset, even though it was partially hazed by the smoke. I enjoy those types of pictures but I don’t know if that’s because we never seen the sun hidden by smoke.

Hopefully the wildfires will stay away from you and your area!

My wife has a few intersection shots, I might even have a few unintentional ones for clouds also. Waiting can be hard sometimes, cameras make it easier.

Great job, for me, this is gonna be the end of Sunday in 9 hours. Umm, you used paint and all to make your images look better!


Hey @bashadow, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Drove through that intersection a few time, few days back. Went to that bookstore (sign) called the inkwell’s. I like small bookstores. Soldotna is a fine town.

81F3B3D6-D3B8-4762-A074-47D0D2C6C17D.jpeg

A slow relaxing town. A nice place to live.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 65 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
5