You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 31: Bucket list destination or activity

I think my bucket list would include Ben Nevis in Scotland. There may be a more interesting high points to see than it in the British Isles, but it seems to be the most northern point according to google maps.

I have often wondered, but did no research, as to who was the first people of the British Isle. I could research, but sometime flights of fancy are a lot more fun than the real knowledge.

Were there people in the region that became an island when it was part of Doggerland? That was a long time ago 6,500 BC. What was it like for the people, if there were any, to watch a neighbors home drown under a crushing wave as the land sank. Did they have boats, a quick search shows that the first boat is 8,000 BC so it is possible, but did they have boats?

To just sit at the top of that point, to meditate and think and dream of the far distant past. To see in my minds eye the encroachment of people from across the waters, first those looking for a new home free from the strife and confines of their old, to build what would eventually be one of the most powerful empires in the world, and then to watch its decline.

Just one of the few place I would like to be on my bucket list.

Sort:  

"That was a long time ago 6,500 BC. What was it like for the people, if there were any..."

I was thinking about the Saber Tooth and the Wooly Mammoths wandering around?

Sabertoothed_tiger_Smilodon_2.jpg
src

WoollyMammothLarge.jpg
src

Yeah I think that saber tooth would make short work of any people back then.

You know my fascination with history so I'm going to like anything that revolves around it...I wonder the same things as you and whist I simply don't have the time to research everything I take a look from time to time.

When we were in the UK we went to Cheddar Gorge where the Cheddar Man was found, UK's oldest intact skeleton. He date's back 10,000 years and was found in 1903. In the caves today they have a skeleton displayed in the exact manner in which he was found, but it is a reconstruction. We saw the actual skeleton back in London at the Museum of Natural History a couple weeks earlier.

The oldest human inhabitant of UK (known to us) dates back 500,000 years; A six foot tall chap of the Homo heidelbergensis species. That's as far back as I know.

I like where your head's at with the sit and meditate thing. I've been to so many ancient sites, Roman ruins and so on and every time I'm left with more questions than are answered. Who lived here, why, what did they do, how did they get here, where did they go, how did they live, what was their social structure...You know, that sort of thing.

These are the questions I would seek answers for if I was an extremely rich man who didn't have to work for a living. I'd travel and learn. I think you may be similar?

Thanks for dropping in as always, I appreciate it.

!ENGAGE 25

There are so many places one could go and contemplate what happened, how did we they get here or what happened here in the past. To sit and watch the Lighthouse of Alexandria burn bright guiding people to the library and then to sit and watch the library burn. History is fun but books can only give us what was deemed history, I like thinking of the feel of the times. If I had the money, there are thousands of places to visit. If time travel is ever perfected or even just close, I would volunteer in less than a heart beat to be a guinea pig to try it out.

I'm with you of course. History was written by the victor, as always, and changes with each new writing.

There is a huge European bias on the early population of North America. European anthropologists have long held that North Americans came here in the last 12,000 years. They are wrong.

Multiple tribes record the ice sheet and the 'great flood' in their creation story. There is some really creditable evidence of 50,000 years ago in California Florida AND Peru. Several near 20,000 YO skeletons have been recovered in the Pacific Northwest.

It's fascinating stuff...And why I want a time machine...I'd not want a DeLorean in the style of Back to the Future though...Maybe a nice donut shop time machine...Somewhere I could travel, have a snack and a coffee at the same time. :)

Yeah. A donut shop would be perfect. Even Dr. Who's phone booth would be ok, I'm thinking, but a fresh coffee and a donut would be the best...

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.