You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 45: Only three items [answer and win hive]

Orienteering is a good tool for anyone to learn. Looking at a map and then knowing how to find where you are and to find your destination is a vital safety skill set. But you need to know how to use the tool, where is the steep terrain, where are the deep valleys or rivers, what does magnetic variation mean and do you need to take it into account to get to your destination.

It is good to see the mention of maps and getting unlost.

Sort:  

Hi, hi @bashadow thanks for engaging and your kind words.
Oh, yea..you just mentioned me...I need to know how to use the tool. I recognize I still lack essential skills to survive if I lost in the jungle. :((

Map reading and finding out where you are on it with just a compass can be difficult at times.

I'm not all that good with a map and compass, but I am damn good at reading terrain and maps and if I can see the sky once in a while can keep my direction pretty constant.

It is an important skill to have or develop, so many people today have never even held a map in their hands let alone a terrain map.

I've looked at a terrain map a few times but need to spend a little more time on figuring out how to properly use one. It's one of those things you wish to never need it but when you do it's a life saver!

We were taught a bit when young about night sky, sun is easy and normally something we do have daily. I'm more of a bad penny never been lost, might go slightly astray for a short while...

I have a 'directional bump'. I basically know which way I'm going all the time. Like you, Joan, I might be 'astray' for a bit, but not very long.

Never had that lost feeling, grateful to nature giving direction most times.

One time, on an island just offshore in Washington State. Got there after sundown and had a hard time getting oriented when the sun came up in the WRONG place. Took a couple of hours for me to get comfortable.

Being lost until orientated, sunlight puts you on the path reasonably quickly, at least it did not last too long to find your way again.

Yeah definitely it's great to be able to orient oneself to the surroundings, look at a map and have an idea of what's what. These are things that countless millions take complete advantage of never needing to know but will have to one day if things continue on this course.

Yea I can't agree with you anymore. I just went on a hike yesterday in the jungle and now I'm starting to learn how to orient myself to the surroundings. I normally rely on my friends, just follow them wherever they go...😂 and I just take photographs.

Great and useful topic @galenkp...!!