You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 45: Only three items [answer and win hive]

That's a realistic & great topic for everyone to discuss, especially those who are adventurous and like doing outdoor activities hihii. Oh yea I'm going to have a big hike on Sun 😆 so I'm able to collect some useful tips from the topic later. I have recently done a lot of hiking and camping. I also reckon that there is much essential stuff to carry on a hike or camp.

  • To have enough energy to do hiking or exploring I definitely need a good sleep so my first item on the list is Tent (or Shelter)🙂
  • There is no internet in the forest and I'm not really good at direction so bringing navigation is really a must for me 😀
  • I'm not sure if I lost in the jungle and have to deal with the dangerous animals so having a knife to protect myself when I'm attacked or using it to chop firewood to make a fire for cooking is not a bad idea. 😆

Have a fab weekend guys !!!

Sort:  

Orienteering is a good tool for anyone to learn. Looking at a map and then knowing how to find where you are and to find your destination is a vital safety skill set. But you need to know how to use the tool, where is the steep terrain, where are the deep valleys or rivers, what does magnetic variation mean and do you need to take it into account to get to your destination.

It is good to see the mention of maps and getting unlost.

Hi, hi @bashadow thanks for engaging and your kind words.
Oh, yea..you just mentioned me...I need to know how to use the tool. I recognize I still lack essential skills to survive if I lost in the jungle. :((

Map reading and finding out where you are on it with just a compass can be difficult at times.

I'm not all that good with a map and compass, but I am damn good at reading terrain and maps and if I can see the sky once in a while can keep my direction pretty constant.

It is an important skill to have or develop, so many people today have never even held a map in their hands let alone a terrain map.

I've looked at a terrain map a few times but need to spend a little more time on figuring out how to properly use one. It's one of those things you wish to never need it but when you do it's a life saver!

We were taught a bit when young about night sky, sun is easy and normally something we do have daily. I'm more of a bad penny never been lost, might go slightly astray for a short while...

I have a 'directional bump'. I basically know which way I'm going all the time. Like you, Joan, I might be 'astray' for a bit, but not very long.

Never had that lost feeling, grateful to nature giving direction most times.

One time, on an island just offshore in Washington State. Got there after sundown and had a hard time getting oriented when the sun came up in the WRONG place. Took a couple of hours for me to get comfortable.

Being lost until orientated, sunlight puts you on the path reasonably quickly, at least it did not last too long to find your way again.

Yeah definitely it's great to be able to orient oneself to the surroundings, look at a map and have an idea of what's what. These are things that countless millions take complete advantage of never needing to know but will have to one day if things continue on this course.

Yea I can't agree with you anymore. I just went on a hike yesterday in the jungle and now I'm starting to learn how to orient myself to the surroundings. I normally rely on my friends, just follow them wherever they go...😂 and I just take photographs.

Great and useful topic @galenkp...!!

A tent is great! But jungle sounds scary. Are there preditors in the jungle? Australia is void of any nasties except snakes. But imagine running into a tiger or bear or something else!

Hey hey @melbourneswest, how's it going?
I heard a lot about wild animals and snakes in OZ. I don't dare to do a hike in the jungle there 😕😕

But imagine running into a tiger or bear or something else!

Oh no. I would be eaten 😭

Ah there not too bad. Only if they bite you! 🤣

We're very lucky here in that regards, snakes don't come out that often. Heading into winter now so it's too cold for them the come out. Safer in winter from them :)

Thanks @melbourneswest 🙂
I'm not a winter person but then I will do more hiking when the winter comes if I can avoid snakes. 😀 I love to take the road trips around OZ in the early fall, must be amazing..!!

Shelter, navigation and a knife...I'd say three pretty legit items to take with you for sure. I think you'll certainly find a use for each.

Have a great weekend Trang and thanks for getting into the spirit of the topic...And you get a larger vote for being the first to respond. :)

!ENGAGE 50

My pleasure :))
Wohooo that's sweet thank you for the big vote Galen !!! 🙂 Very much appreciated it.
Same to you have a wonderful weekend :))

Happy weekend Trang! ✅

Have a great week ahead Galen :))

 3 years ago (edited) 

Weekend is bloody over girl! (crying just a little bit).

Monday mid-morning and I'm hard at work hive.

Have a good week too.

Lol.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you !!! 😆

Shelter check
Navigation check
Knife check

I'm not so sure about the jungle, I CAN NOT imagine a snake attacking from above. Makes it hard to type just thinking about it. Ugggghhhh.

Sun in the day, stars at night should be good navigational tools. Perhaps getting off grid not so bad after all...

Hey dear @joanstewart, am glad to see you.
You just remind me of a young friend who likes doing weird things and never wants to open a flashlight when trekking in the forest at night. I'm really admired it.

Sun in the day, stars at night should be good navigational tools

It's so true :)

We have forgotten our natural abilities in the wild world, investing into things like GPS on cellphones, other mod-cons that in reality if things really went haywire would no longer be available.

Ha ha have to think about would could go wrong, how badly would it affect us, one tank of gas won't get you out of dodge...

That is my compass!

North Star will guide you 😉

Hello Tom, how are you?

a snake attacking from above

Oh no. I don't like snakes to be honest.. 😭You scare me 😕😕. I don't actually go jungle if I'm not sure how safe it is 😂 I'm not that brave 😂

I deal with some around here, but they are almost always down around my feet. I NEVER look up to see if I'm in trouble :)

I remember once going out to my Grandfather's timber lot to cut some firewood. We left fairly early in the morning with the plan to come back when it got good and warm. We took a burlap wrapped water bottle with us set it on a rock ledge near where we were cutting. When we took a water break there was a rattlesnake wrapped around it. Not good.

Nothing motivates quicker than a snake, takes you off on a tangent of getting out of the place in a hurry.😆

Yes, snakes can be damn fine motivators.

Always give them and spiders a wide berth, they have right of way 😄

I've really been expecting seeing a sidewinder right now simply because the temps are in and out of their activity zone. I'm really being careful when I see tracks...

Oh no, not good 😭😭. Luckily it wrapped the water bottle not your feet.
I don't know what to do if I was in that situation...I don't think I can move, I may be just standing there forever and pray 😂

My grandfather poked him with a stick and got him moving. Pretty exciting, though. It was the first snake we'd seen that year, and my dad really hates rattlesnakes. I mean seriously.

Some good choices here! I enjoy that you make some smart decisions with your choices, those things are life or death! Shelter, maps and a good machete or hatchet are crucial things to have when you are in a survival situation. I think you’ll learn a lot as you go but you’ll be well protected and have an idea of where you are at least. Good stuff!

I think one of the things I’m going to add to my duffel bag in the car is an old fashioned paper map. Things go south, paper and that stuff is going to be what we have to do, regardless of what ones comfort level with it is.

hello dear friend @trangbaby good day
By now you may have already started your Sunday walk; I hope you are enjoying it or you had a great time, and the advice you read was useful.
without a doubt to enjoy a good walk, being rested is very good.
A compass or a gps is very good in this type of situation, a knife is very useful, it serves many purposes.
I take this opportunity to wish you a happy Sunday and an excellent start to the week

Hello dear @jlufer, Yea I just came back from my hiking and now Hive on 🙂. I really enjoyed my weekend here and I hope you had a wonderful one. Thank you for engaging and your kind words, very much appreciated it.
Have a good week ahead, and see ya around :)

Pretty meaningful choices. So I'm wondering have you ever cut someone with a knife, because you wound like you've used one 😅

Sounds like I'm very professional at using a knife ha ( Honestly I'm not lol) I haven't cut anyone but myself, especially my fingers 😀😀

Beautiful poor fingers.
I think I would take legal steps for them fingers. :)