Guess What I Bought Last Weekend?

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago (edited)

IMG_0261.JPG

Besides Orchids ..

I somehow started to collect pocket watches. I really do not remember when exactly that was, but I do remember the first one I bought. Since that point, I have collected roughly 20 or so different pocket watches. Some of them have a nice value to them while others are pretty much worthless. Regardless of their worth, each one is rather interesting to me.. making them all valuable in one way or another.

So I'm At It Again ..

It's a bright and sunny Saturday morning and I have nothing to do for the first hour or so. I pour a cup of coffee and sit down to the old PC. Is there a better way to spend an hour than looking at pocket watches and potentially adding to the collection? Probably.. hehe

I don't really go searching for a new watch, but rather they find me. I guess you could say that they sometimes speak to me.. not in a crazy I hear voices way.. but rather I see it and I fall in love with it. Okay, I admit that sounds a little ridiculous too.

So let's forget all that.. and get to the point of this post. I like to 'Browse', from time to time, various online stores or selling spots. I was doing just that when I ran into this neat watch.

A 1899 Elgin Movement Seated In A Multicolor Gold Plated Wadsworth Hunter Style Case

IMG_0262.JPG

At first I imagined that it may be solid gold because the seller was unable to open the case fully. After it arrived, I was able to examine it closely, and quickly realized that it was not solid gold. It didn't matter, after a few days of pondering whether or not to send it back, I couldn't resist myself and thus I bought it. It "Spoke To Me".

The gold plated case is what they call a 'Hunter' style case. The watch face and movements are fully protected by coverings on both sides. This particular case has some decorative features, which I really liked and thought were kind of pretty; flowers, leaves, a bird (maybe a swallow) and a few swirly etchings. It's not perfect.. it has a few dings (mostly un-noticeable) and a few scratches, but overall in GREAT shape for being 122 years old!!!

1619208176741.png

This watch is a size 0s, which is not tiny, but on the smaller side. It is a ladies watch, that was meant to be worn on a chain around the neck.. like a necklace.. So it's not all that heavy either. I took a few shots of it in my hand so that you could gain a little perspective on the size.

IMG_0268.JPG

IMG_0267.JPG

I opened up the back of the watch first. After the outer decorative case is open, the inside is not that decorative. It's really, really shinny. I like shinny, so I am cool with it. There are again a few scratches, especially where the previous owner tried to open the cases inside cover. Bad man! Bad Bad man!! haha. I'll cut him some slack.. he had no clue and is like 90. I see the serial number to the case there as well.

IMG_0258.JPG

I now can pop open the inner cover, that protects the mechanics of the movement. With the right tool and a little patients and care, it popped right open for me. What a beauty! 122 years ago, I image it looked exactly the same. Hard to imagine. I wound up the gears fully and let it sit and tick away! Runs smooth as silk.. and kept perfect time too! Plus Plus!!! That add's to this pieces value tremendously.

Only two tiny screws holding the movement inside the case. Unscrew them and the entire watch movement slides out.. after a little finagling that is. But I am not going to do that. It's fine right where it is.

IMG_0259.JPG

After a closer look at the interior of the watch case, I see it says "Warranted 25 Years", meaning that this piece was plated with gold and was expected to last roughly 25 years under normal use. The underlying base metal is copper, so eventually the gold would give way and then one would notice the copper showing through. Obviously this piece was lightly used and we got more like 122 +++ years out of it! Not bad for the price they paid back then I bet.

IMG_0266.JPG

Oh Boy!! Lets pause for an artistic photo! I thought this shot looked cool...

IMG_0265.JPG

Here is the movement. 122 years ago, someone in a factory, sat and put this thing together. I have no clue how long it took them to put it together, but they did an excellent job! There is a serial number stamped into the movement metal (7609170), not to be confused with the serial number to the case (stamped into the case just above the movement serial number). There are screws, gears, arms, springs, jewels at the pivot points and lots of other cool stuff in there.

IMG_0260.JPG

Here's a close up of the gears and what not...

IMG_0261.JPG

Inside the front cover.. there is not a lot to look at as far as decorative stuff goes either. All that's there is the Wadsworth artist/manufacturers stamp and again the serial number to the case. People would buy the watch movement, then pick out a case of their liking. The jeweler would then have the watch installed into the case. If you wanted to you could have your initials or whatever inscribed into the metal. (see up above, the outer back part of the case, and you will see the original owners initials)

IMG_0264.JPG

The face of the watch is porcelain, touched with dabs of gold and pearl like paint. This is one of the other things that I really fell in love with. I think although it is more feminine, it could really appeal to anyone. I know I like it!

I think the hands of the watch are pretty cool too. Lots of detail for such small hands. I prefer the roman numerals over standard numbers. This one even has a seconds dial at the very bottom where the 'Six' would otherwise be found.

IMG_0263.JPG

The Watch Details ..

**Here is some information on this particular watch. I am a member of the "Pocket Watch Database" site and retrieve all my info from there. I can also store all my data and research there too. It's a pretty cool site if you like to look up historical data on particular movements. (I know.. BORING!!!) hehe.

FROM THE AMERICAN HOROLOGY ARCHIVE:
Elgin National Watch Co.
Grade: 109
Manufacturer: Elgin
Manufacturer Location: Elgin, Illinois
Movement Serial Number: 7609170
Grade: 109
Model: 1
Class: 60
Estimated Production Year: 1899
Run Quantity: 3,000
Grade/Model Run: 67 of 68
Total Production: 315,000
Size: 0s
Jewels: 7j
Movement Configuration: Hunting
Movement Finish: Gilt
Movement Setting: Pendant
Plate: 3/4 Plate
Barrel: Going
Train: Quick
Regulator: Plain
Standard Dial Type: Single-Sunk
Adjusted: No
Railroad Grade: No
U.S. Patents: 77078
Data Research: 1904 Elgin Serial List, 1915 Elgin Serial List, 1927/1950 Elgin Serial List

Total Runs:
68
Total Produced:
315,000
Production Era:
1891 - 1900
Earliest Serial:
#4,212,001
Latest Serial:
#8,219,000

Source

Well.. I Sort Of Talked Myself Out Of Anything Else To Say ..

There's not much more to tell you except that I am looking forward to enjoying this piece for a good while. It fits nicely into my small, but growing, collection. Will I ever part with her??.. some day maybe, but not today!

Hive text divider.png

982349714975984315.JPG

“It's being here now that's important. There's no past and there's no future. Time is a very misleading thing. All there is ever, is the now. We can gain experience from the past, but we can't relive it; and we can hope for the future, but we don't know if there is one.”
― George Harrison

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

NFT Showroom Member

Are you interested in creating an NFT for your art AND using a HIVE based project???

Here Is A Link, in case your interested in listing something yourself!.. NFT Showroom

Are You Ready To Tokenize Your Art???

Come Check Us Out To Find Out How and To Get Started Selling YOUR Art as NFT’s!
NFT Showroom Thumbnail.PNG

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

I am happy to have made @peakd, @null, and @hive.fund beneficiaries to part of the proceeds of this post. If you haven't already, please consider giving back to those organizations and causes that you believe make a difference in your HIVE experience.. you won't regret it!

Sort:  

This is so cool, Brad! I love watches, especially pocket watches and cuckoo clocks. :) I know, right?

She is a beauty, I love the decorative work on the outside, I can see how that would appeal to anyone...but, the real beauty is inside and how that well-oiled machine is running. Now that is truly sexy. Yes?

You will have to help me... on the site where it is all cataloged, there is a place it says Railroad Grade: No What does that mean?

I can't believe I haven't seen you in forever, even if you do vote me on a trail, so I finally got myself over here to see if you were okay. Hello, Brad!!! Hope all is well with you.

Great watch!!! Thank you for sharing. They really are fascinating pieces!

Hi Denise! I like a good cuckoo.. clock, not a person.. lol. The way they made these and the gear operation is truly sexy. I agree. I am so fascinated by everything clockwork. I am glad you stopped by and let me know your interested too. It's not something everyone wants to collect, but I think most can appreciate the design and beauty of one of these pieces of art.

I know Railroad grade watches came about as a standard sometime in the 1800's after a few deadly train collisions. The watches needed to keep accurate time, and not all watches could. Let me see if I can find some info...

Here is something:

The general railroad timepiece standards have been adopted since 1893 and any watch used in rail service by railroaders responsible for schedules has to meet the following mechanical standards: “Be open face, size 18 or 16, have a minimum of 17 jewels, adjusted to minimum five positions, adjusted to temperatures of 34 to 100 degrees Fahrenheit (-1 to +38 grade Centigrade), steel escape wheel, lever set, micrometric regulation, Lépine caliber. Some Railroads wanted Breguet hairspring, adjusted to isochronism and 30 degree Fahrenheit and minimum of 19 jewels.”

The following requirements for railroad-approved watches were set by RD Montgomery, general inspector of Santa Fé Railway system in 1930: “The regulation watch designated as of 1930 to be standard is described as follows: 16 size , American, lever-setting, 19 jewels or more, open face, winding at ‘12’, double-roller escapement, steel escape wheel, adjusted to five positions, temperature and isochronism, which will rate within a variation not exceeding 6 seconds in 72 hours tests, pendant up, dial up and dial down, and to be regulated to run within a variation not exceeding 30 seconds per week”.

There is more to the story, but this was the gist of it. Here is the site I got the into off of. A Short History Of Railroad Watches

Ahaha.. The trail vote! I don't always have time to make my way around to everyone, so that is a nice way to make sure I let them know I appreciate their work. Glad you stopped over.. I will make sure I do the same and check out what's blooming in DC! Until then.. enjoy the summer weather next week :-)

I like the trail for the same reason although I use the automotor and I actually never thought about the Trail but I want to thank you very much for using it and added me to it!

No problem and it's my pleasure. I think the hard for coming up is changing the way voting will be handled, so trails may be the best way to go soon.. for those that do not have all the time in the world to look for great content. We shall see! lol

Good point! I make the time, mostly, but, threre are days that arern't my own. You are right! We shall see. It will be interesting!

That is pretty awesome. I have been looking at wrist watches lately, but I haven't worn a watch in so long that I am not sure I could even justify it. I don't do many special occasions either, so it isn't like I could dress up and wear it! This pocket watch is really cool though. Wow! 133 years! That is nuts. It doesn't look a day over 50!

Haha.. "A day over 50" love it! It really is amazing but I guess that's metal for ya. When so many other antiques degrade and wither away, metals, especially precious metals, keep up their looks and functionality. I like to consider myself an investor in precious metals, except I may as well enjoy the gold in the form of something other than a bar. lol. This one is not solid gold, but I have a couple that are.. they really look no different.. but they will gain and loose value as gold prices rise and fall.

I am selling some scrap gold I collected a while back, in hopes of purchasing a really, really nice pocket watch. We'll see.. If I can't find a comparable deal (price per gram of gold to price of gram of gold of pocket watch) then I may look into something else like silver. I told my wife I was looking to make a lateral move with it. If it's all the same, I may as well enjoy what I am looking at instead of a pile of scraps. lol😆

That is pretty cool. I have been thinking that I should branch out into some precious metals myself, but I just haven't gotten around to it. I already feel like I am spread very thin with all of the crypto projects I have going on.

I hear ya. Someday then. Someday when HIVE and others reach their full potential, we can diversify. lol.

IT looks like a really cool gem, keep it for some more good years

I hope to keep it a long time. Thanks for checking it out! 😁

This is very cool man...Super-cool. I actually have my grandfather's pocket watch which is about the same age. I've had it overhauled and it tocks over like a...Well, like a clock. Lol. Great hobby you have here!

Thanks GDog! I really have no clue why I love pocket watches so much, other than how cool they look, all those tiny gears working in unison and perfectly keeping rhythm and time.. Cool to me. You'll have to post a picture down below here if you can (or want to), of your grandfathers watch. I like seeing other peoples neat family pieces. Such History!

Here it is Saturday morning (East Coast USA) and I am browsing more watches.. ugggg.. Maybe I should go tend to my Orchids instead.. lol

Happy Weekend!!!

#watchfetish Lol.

I will dig out my grandfathers watch from the safe and do a post I think. You inspired me.

Oh That would be just PERFECT!!! Can't wait to see it! 😁

I wore another one in my collection, an opened faced one, to work and around here and there.. No one.. NO ONE! found it cool. They just asked why? I guess I am alone. haha

Let me see if I can find a shot of that one...

IMG_1936.JPG

This one is a 1920 Elgin open faced.. 14K. Works perfectly and it is sort of perfect for you! take a look at the inscription on the back ...

IMG_1923 (2).JPG

Oh that's a cool one! I wish we were back in the day where wearing a bob watch was still in. I always said I was born in the wrong era.

I'll get the post done for you...Will be fun actually, a good excuse to talk about my granddad too.

Did you see the inscription? Says "DOG" too bad it didn't have a "G" in front of that! 😆

I saw that yes, just the G missing. Lol.