A bad cook cooks

I'm the first to admit I'm not a very good cook and my partner will confirm it; I don't enjoy cooking so haven't put any effort into learning how; I know some of the concepts and can put a basic, nutritious meal together but there's nothing special about what I cook and I'm ok with it as is my partner, who is a really great cook!

Lately my guy has been working hard, harder than I'd like him to as I see how stressed he gets; he drives himself relentlessly, has incredibly high standards for himself and isn't one of those people who gives up easily or shies away from difficult things; I love that about him and know it has served him well, his work is taking a toll currently though and with his health condition also a factor it's weighing heavily upon him.

With this in mind I've been making an effort to do more of the cooking for dinner and to ensure that it is ready for him most nights when he needs it to be...and to insist that he eats it with me at the dinner table rather than in his home office while working; he's a good boy and does as I ask so no problems there. I've had to increase my list of meals I'm able to cook as I don't want him to get bored and because we both like to eat in a healthy way I've worked on finding a few meals that are reasonably easy for a girl with my poor culinary skills but healthy and tasty.

bmac.jpg

I took this image

Above is an image of one such meal made on Sunday that I worked really hard on. Hmm, maybe "worked hard" isn't the right phrase but it certainly pushed my skills as I'd never made roast lamb before. I asked around and read a recipe in a cooking magazine from the supermarket and fumbled my way through and I was really happy with the result...not that I ate the lamb, I'm vegetarian.

It was a hearty meal, healthy and, considering the compliments I got from my man, I'd have to say it was tasty; he had two serves so that's always a good sign too.

I know the presentation isn't great but as far as a plate of pumpkin, potatoes, carrots, cauliflower, broccoli, green beans and roast lamb topped with gravy goes I think it is ok enough. There were some left-overs which he took for lunch the next day and a little lamb left over for a couple of sandwiches the following day as well. A win if ever there was one.

I don't think I'm ever going to win any awards for my cooking but my guy likes what I make, or so he tells me, and dutifully eats what's put in front of him and that's enough for me. I hope his work calms down a little, the travel and workload takes a toll, but if it does not at least I can make his life a little easier by taking some of the cooking duties away from him and, shh, don't tell anyone, I'm sort of enjoying the cooking.

- This is what I'm listening to -

Becca 💗

Sort:  

I am sure that anything you cook will be well love by your man. And with the effort and the love poured into making such dish, i'm sure too it is enough for him to appreciate it. 🤩🤩

I've made some things he has not liked and admittedly, I've not liked them either. It's ok, we don't go hungry on those occasions and he's always good about it; we often just have a laugh and move on.

Becca 🌷

I will tell you that that food looks delicious and that what matters is not being a chef in the kitchen but the intention and the love, the effort that is put into it. And there was a lot of that, it turned out great, although I haven't tried it.
I love cooking, I think I inherited that from my grandmother, she taught me a lot and I like it.
It was a pleasure to read you. I didn't know you were a vegetarian. Very good job!

Hugs Becca.❤️

It was delicious...ok, I didn't try the meat because I'm vegetarian, but he says it was good so I'll take his word for it. I had the vegetables though, with salmon, and have to be honest, I nailed the vegetables! 😉

Becca 🌷

I am not vegetarian, but .... I prefer fruits and vegetables, I love them!!!! The only one I don't like is sweet potato.

Wow, I really admire the effort. Being a vegetarian and cooking the meat can be difficult for some. Other hate even just the smell of meat being cooked. It's good that you are enjoying cooking, and I hope you can find dishes that you will enjoy as well.

Thank you sir, I appreciate it. The dinner came out really well and my guy was pretty impressed. I don't mind making the meat, it's eating it I don't like, something about the texture that makes me feel sick to eat it.

Becca 🌷

I guess if it's just the texture, it isn't as hard. You can still taste the sauce or some parts of the dish. I bet your partner really appreciates it, especially since he sees how much effort you put into it.

Healthy indeed, and tasty too. Nice work!

I'll be making this one again and I think my man will not mind at all.

Becca 🌷

Have this type of life-partner is about luck. Great way to support each other👏

Yes, luck and a lot of effort and respect and understanding.

Becca 🌷

Practice makes perfect, maybe in a few days we will see you creating recipes for hive meals.

Oh yes, the more I practice the better I get although I think perfection is something that will forever remain elusive.

Becca 🌷

The food looks delicious 😋

It was.

Becca 🌷

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.