Experimenting with minimalism

I have a lot of things in my home, mostly cushions, lamps, candles, reed-diffusers, photos in frames, cat ornaments, shoes and boots; the last two are in my wardrobe though, or on my feet. There's other things too, but they're the things that dominate.

I prefer quality over quantity, and shop in antique and second-hand stores more than anywhere else, I also don't often cave in to want-purchases; I usually buy what I need when I need them. It keeps costs down and means I'm not inundated with things...but still, most flat surfaces and the bed and couch are covered with things and it drives my boy mad at times...especially the cushions. I don't know why, there's only ten thousand on the bed and another thirty or forty thousand spread elsewhere around the house - I think he just likes complaining.

We've been talking about some changes, a little refresh of the decor, just for something different and, predictably, my cushion-hating man suggested we take a more minimalistic approach. His suggestion was delivered as more of a question than a suggestion in truth, he's a beautiful man and wants me to be happy...which is why he has put up with all the cushions.

2.jpg

I took this image

We talked about it a little and decided to start in the lounge room this weekend where we removed virtually every item: Cushions, lovely throw-rugs, lamps, oil-burners, photos, ornaments...everything except the furniture. I hated it and told him so.

We then began placing certain things back moving them here and there and standing back to see the effect. I started to like what I saw and said so...of course, him being him, he didn't say, I told you so, just grinned that damned sexy grin of his which basically said, I told you so!

Damn him and that smirk of his.

As we proceeded to add things back in, I began to become more comfortable with the look. Minimalism doesn't mean things need to look austere, cold and uninviting,* although that's how it can come across sometimes; to us, it means that a few selected and well-placed items are used to complement each other and set the tone or mood of a room in a low-key way, which is what we achieved, I think.

On entering the room, one is left feeling comfortable and the items we have left draw the eye to all parts of it and allow the light to stream in leaving a light, airy, feel to the room, the shadows the few items cast in that light add to the effect. The large architectural artwork on the wall draws the eye and has visual impact and overall the entire effect gives the feeling that there's more room even though the floorspace hasn't increased. It's rather lovely.

We're working around where all the other things are going to go but have a few ideas for the photos which will work with the new style and the cushions...well, they may end up on the bed...It's ok, you can feel pity for my man, he probably deserves it.

Becca 💗

Sort:  

I also like organizing some stuff in the house.
Is that a painting?
I like the way it's arranged.

It keeps thing interesting to move things around now and then.

This is a print, a triptych. I really love the muted tones of it and the architectural shapes. It works nicely.

Becca 🌷

Exactly☺️
Very nice☺️

Ho Becca very interesting topic to write about, specially from a women. Because I think we have a tendency of saving things. My husband once bought a book named minimalist because he thought we should go for it. But having 3 kids its not possible even though we 1-2 times a year declutter clothes, bedsheets and toys. We tend to have very much things. And the sadest or what should I say greatest thing is that I use my things very nicely so they dont even get teared or bad so that I have to throw it. And the main problem with the cushions I can feel the pain. I love cushions and blankets 🙂.
U did a good job keep it up.

We tend to accumulate so many things these days, I guess that each individual human's life and what they gather, reflects the way society is these days in that it becomes complex and it's easy to acquire more and more, helped along by consumerism of course.

It pays to declutter now and then, and to make use of items for the duration of their life, not just replace them because we want to.

Thanks for your comment.

Becca 💗

I love minimalist and hate cushions 😂

Hate cushions - You sound like my guy...although part of me thinks he actually really loves them. (Ok, not really.)

I counted the cushions on my bed the other day; Eleven. That's in addition to four pillows. Too many? The boy thinks so.

I understand that too many can be annoying...I guess I don't understand what constitutes too many. 😂

Thanks for your comment, it's very appreciated.

Becca 💗

I counted the cushions on my bed the other day; Eleven. That's in addition to four pillows. Too many? The boy thinks so.

😳😳😳 So you buy a bed just for your cushions then 😂 That is not even a bed but a cushion holder.
By the way, does anyone have any room on the bed, apart from your cushions? 🤣

I have officially renamed my bed, the cushion holder.

does anyone have any room on the bed, apart from your cushions?

We both fit on there, but all the cushions have to come off and the four pillows are the only ones that stay. There's plenty of room...although, I probably take up way more room than I should...he doesn't mind...I hope. 😁

Becca 🌷

Moving things from time to time is needed, changes can't be stopped even at home eh eh!

I like the minimalist way of thinking, I've been trying to get closer to this way of thinking for some time, I think it leads to having an order not only from the point of view of objects but also from a mental point of view.

Nice post, thanks for sharing!

I think it leads to having an order not only from the point of view of objects but also from a mental point of view.

I believe you have said it so well here!

Becca 💗