Paris, I'm in love

The city of light, Paris, is one of my favourite places on the planet. It's truly something special and each time I visit I fall back in love with familiar places and with new sights, sounds and places.

I promised myself that the very instant I first arrived I'd go straight to a boulangerie for a long bread stick and wander the streets nibbling away as I took in the sights; that wasn't to happen. Instead, I found myself at a little café sipping coffee and eating a croissant with my partner (feeling very excited) and that was a very fitting place to be. Since then, I've managed to return several times and have wandered far and wide across the city and surrounding areas and I love it all. Note: The bread stick thing happens a lot too, it's a beautiful experience, very Parisienne.

MR-bm77.jpg

I took this image

I'm not sure what the Parisii (Gauls) were thinking two thousand years ago when their little fishing village began to take shape on the banks of the river Seine, did they know it would come to be one of the most amazing cities on the planet? No, I guess not...but it truly is...and I'm in love with it.

Places like the Eiffel Tower, Notre-Dame, the catacombs, the Louvre, Sorbonne, Champs-Élysées, Montmartre and Ac du Triomphe have become household names and symbols of Paris itself, but it is much more than that...it's a place a person can become immersed in beautiful culture, music, art, food, architecture, history, Paris's beautiful gardens, and so much more; it is all there for those willing to seek it and has a way of seeping into a person's heart and soul and staying there.

One place, also quite famously and exclusively Parisienne, is Moulin Rouge and I was fortunate to have had the chance to spend an evening there, a Saturday night dinner and show. I wasn't sure what to expect, I'd seen documentaries about it but was still unsure exactly what it would deliver, however from the moment we arrived at the front of the establishment I felt nothing but excited. It delivered something special and I'm so glad we chose to spend that night there.

Paris is not a cheap city to visit, although with some careful planning, and a little understanding that probably comes through frequent visits, it can be a wonderful experience. The dinner and show at Moulin Rouge cost us a lot of money however it was worth it and I'd go again in a heartbeat; it's something I recommend to everyone.

We have done so many things in Paris and the surrounding areas and the memories hold a special place in my heart and mind. I love Paris and whether it's seeing a show, wandering around on foot soaking in the atmosphere, exploring its more obscure places, coffee and a baguette in one of the many gardens, artwork and history at the Louvre or many other such places, a quiet dinner in a fine restaurant, or simply standing wrapped in my partners arms looking out the window over the roofs of Paris as the sun sinks low...No matter what it is...it's amazing in Paris.

Becca 💗

Sort:  

How lucky you were to be there and in good company, cause it is the city of love.

🌝

I agree Nani, I'm lucky and fortunate to have visited Paris and France many times and to have had the best company on each occasion. Strangely, I know some who do not like Paris and I think maybe they've been doing it wrong...for me, it's a beautiful place and one conducive to love as you say.

Becca 🌷

I don't know Paris but your way of describing it makes it look very warm and beautiful, full of beautiful places. What would appeal to me most, I think, would be all the art and architecture. It must be beautiful!

Thanks Becca ❤️

I hope you make it to Paris sometimes, I have a strong feeling that you would feel comfortable there, and easily fall in love with it.

Becca 🌷

It would be a great experience, to walk through these streets full of history and art.😍

Paris has a lot of iconic and popular places. You mentioned a lot of them, and Moulin Rouge even has its own movie. The depiction of Paris in movies has always been of romance, and it seems your experience reflects that as well.

It's a very romantic city, it's the atmosphere I think, the history and those places I mentioned and many others like it. Very beautiful and a beautiful experience.

Becca 🌷

How wonderful it would be to visit Paris. Feeling that sense of joy lights up your soul and makes you want to go back there. You are lucky to be able to enjoy it. Thank you for sharing.

Paris is a place that fills a person with happiness, or so I found it; it's beautiful, cultured, feels free and easy and a place in which a person can fall in love easily.

Thanks for your comment.

Becca 🌷