Thinking about drinking

I don't actually think about drinking to be quite honest; when I'm thirsty I drink and when I'm not it doesn't come to mind at all, not even a little bit. I'm one of those people who do not usually drink alcohol so when I drink it's usually water, tea or coffee and occasionally I'll have a soda. That's not to say I do not drink alcohol at all, or have not, I certainly have, but the last time was so long ago I can't even pinpoint when it was.

I've never been into drinking alcohol although my parents were drinkers and my partner has a drink from time to time. I occasionally join him but he only drinks sporadically and has never made me feel like I have to partake; he's a gentleman after all.

So in response to the question of whether I feel one needs to drink alcohol in a social environment to have fun, the answer is a resounding no.

becm0909887.jpg

I took this image

I understand that people's inhibitions drop when they are intoxicated, or after only a few alcoholic drinks, and that removes their social shackles, and often their morals and standards as well, and that's ok for them I suppose; if they feel a better engagement with others around them because of it that's totally fine, however I do not think alcohol is necessary for enjoyment. I guess that's something a non-drinker would say though and a drinker would almost certainly disagree.

I have seen some terrible behaviours from people who have had too much to drink and seen many cases that have ended badly when someone has acted in a way they should not have.

I have also been subjected to some terrible behaviours personally when one person or another has acted inappropriately towards me due to being drunk...I'm not sure if they would call that having a good time, but I certainly did not...and when my partner stepped in...let's just say the drunk person didn't have much of a good time after that at all. I also know someone who was terribly abused by her partner who 'had a drinking problem' and what he did was disgusting and even more terrible was he used alcoholism as an excuse.

I believe people can have an enjoyable time without alcohol and am realistic enough to understand that people loosen up when they do have some; I'm not against it at all, I just don't think being intoxicated is necessary and neither is it an excuse for bad behaviour.

- This is what I'm listening to -

Becca 💗

Sort:  

Really appreciated that your man never made you feel like you also have to partake.

I don't know what joy those people find in the bitter and sour alcohol, rather you can have a cup of cappuccino.

Good write up

@tipu curate 2

He's a good man and would never force me into something I don't want to do and I appreciate that about him.

Becca 🌷

Hi Becca,

A person should take the time to think about every single thing he or she will say or do. It would avoid a lot of problems in the world. I don't think drinking helps this.

This is a big issue of drinking. I may be encouraged to write.

As the years have gone by I have stopped drinking, although I wasn't really a binge drinker. Only on rare occasions, with friends, family or on outings to bars or clubs.
I can't say I didn't get drunk, I'd be lying. But I can say that I missed out on more enjoyment if I had been sober.

🤗

I don't think there's anything wrong with drinking in moderation, the probably comes when it happens in excess and the behaviors of the intoxicated person effect others negatively. I don't believe for a moment that a person needs to be intoxicated to have more fun, it seems to me like a person who said so would be missing out on a lot of fun in life as they cannot (feasibly) be intoxicated all the time.

It's their choice though, but I find intoxicated people repellant.

Becca 🌷

😂 I also don't think a drink or two can do any harm. Or a beer or two. Hahaha... I also don't like getting intoxicated.

I find intoxicated people repellant.

Yes!

I have never thought I had to drink to have a good time either and I have seen those times you talk about, where others let it loosen them up a little too much.

That doesn't mean I haven't had an occasional drink either, but I have never had so much at once that I didn't know or care what I was doing anymore.

I'm certainly not against anyone having a drink or a few if they enjoy it and do it responsibly. If all of it disappeared today though, it wouldn't make a bit of difference in my life.

You and I have the same thoughts then, I agree with your comment completely. I don't like the taste of alcohol and that's enough for me not o drink it.

Becca 🌷

I too don't really like to drink, but I will for social purposes. I have seen how a lot of people behave differently when they're drunk, or even just tipsy. The better ones are just giggly, smiley, or talkative. But I have also seen people that get loud, or aggressive, or even rude. I'm sorry you've had bad experiences with drunks, but it is nice to know that your partner is a gentleman.

Alcohol tends to exacerbate the underlying mood of a person; a depressed person will become more so and a happy person more so as well, generally speaking. I'm in love with life though, I just don't need to artificially influence it with alcohol.

Becca 🌷

I totally agree, you don't need to drink to have a good time. Those who drink, maybe they do it because they don't want to think about certain things.... I don't know. But I don't usually drink, only at some events, and very little. I prefer water and mate, I can't go without it!

Hugs Becca.❤️

I don't like the taste of alcohol so don't drink it although now and then will have one, but it's incredibly rare for me to do so. I'm ok with that.

Becca 🌷

Me too, I prefer other types of drinks, I love water! And natural juices.❤️❤️❤️

Your points are valid because alcoholic drinks tend to make someone behave in a certain way which might not be acceptable.

I don't see it as a valid excuse for reprehensible behavior and if people cannot temper their behaviours when intoxicated, or it brings out their worst then they should not drink.

Becca 🌷

I don't drink alcohol either, and in fact it happened often in the past to be joked about that but whatever...let them get drunk, vomit, risk accidents and so on

Vomiting isn't very nice and I don't see why someone would want to do things to make it happen.

Becca 🌷

Because then you look like one of the mass and don't get isolated, you are one of the 'group'

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.