You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 33: Best or worst

I think I have had a lot of both. So I'll speak about one in particular. We were in Colombia to participate in a music festival. It was my second semester in college and I got this chance to be in that trip even though I wasn't in the list at first. We met these musicians from different parts of Colombia and a guitar duet from Panama. One of the interesting things about many musicians abroad is that they have studied for that. What's the catch for most Venezuelans? We usually studied for something else but can pick up music on the fly. Ok, so I listened to something these Panama group was rehearsing one day and it sounded familiar. I remember asking them about it and I was told it was called "Socavón". After listening to more measures of it, I enquired if that was music made to sing on top of it. To my surprise, it was. Actually, the lyrics are improvised by the singer and they follow a specific pattern what we call in Spanish, "Décima". So, I told them we had something called "Galerón" which follows a similar structur harmonically and in lyrics, but changes in time measure, they asked to listen to it. I had my mandolin with me, and thus played a bit. Then they asked me if I wanted to play with them during the closing concert of the festival. This was held in a University campus in Bucaramanga. And I did. It was a blast. So, this is one of the few times I stepped on a stage to play as a soloist. And it's a wonderful thing. Cultures are different but music connect us. I remember that after this happened I met the Director of our group and he asked me "when did you rehearse that?". It was a one day thing. But for sure I still remember the applause. Something that made the 30hrs of travel on bus to get to the place worth it. Unfortunately, I have no pictures of the moment. They were on another laptop that died and the hard drive also died. 😅

Sort:  

How wonderful, music is a universal language where the musician is bilingual.

Your big day was great, reading your message I even lived the moment myself, too bad the pictures were lost but you can perfectly tell the story and rely on reference images.

Years will pass and the memories of those applauses will remain in your mind, keep enjoying them. @bertrayo

Yes, @soyunasantacruz, memories of that they will linger on my thoughts for quite some time. It was just a great thing.

It's interesting the things that stay with us as memorable moments; They are not always the contrived things but a lot of the time simple moments that happened by chance or fortune like in your case here.

It's clearly been a moment that meant a lot to you and again, isn't it uplifting how impactful these moments can be, how they can inspire, support and encourage us to push on, seek the next one or just the opportunity for the next. That's the benefit of setting and achieving goal in life actually, the emotional benefit of attaining them. This is why a person should set mini-goals within the greater goal to keep the momentum moving.

Anyway, this is a great little story and one that obviously meant a great deal. Thanks for sharing it today and also for taking the time to engage with us here at the #weekend-engagement topic week 33.

!ENGAGE 25

It's good to share stuff like this. I don't tend to be on my bad moments because they happen a lot and I learn a lot from them. They are just the bumps in the texture of life

Yep, sharing stuff is nice, of course there's limits, but generally opening up and sharing experiences is a typically human thing and sharing is how communities came to be back many thousands or years ago. The need to share space, hunting grounds, kills, resources, and the pooling of skills in security and defence. And now, people feel so willing to share rubbish on places like Facebook, most of which is fake anyway...A little genuine sharing is welcome I think.

Yes, the bonfire traditions of sharing. Good thing there's places like this to share in the same way. It's like an spiritual succession to the real deal.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Awesome story. It is cool that other artists accepted you and invited you to join them.

It was. I remember they also gave me some coins and I gave them some bills. More cultural exchange.