DIY Weekend: Under The Skin

Zen and The Art of Motorcycle Maintenance Revisited

Red Right Now.jpg

I may be working extra hard to follow all the rules of engagement, but even @galenkp can't make me be lineal so I'm showing the finished product. Yep, this is to prove that everything I took off ended back on and everything works.

I had a bit of a problem on my longish camping trip this summer. The windshield was balky and hard to move. Why move a windscreen you might ask. I like to look over the screen as I ride but when it starts raining I want it as high as it will go. I could get it to go up ok, but it did not want to go back down.

So I did some research and tore into it. I have a service manual so I wasn't completely clueless as I removed bits. I also use a system when I tear into something, I put the bolts and fasteners into a slotted tray IN ORDER of removal so I can put them back where they belong.

Honda missing stuff.jpg

So. A couple weeks after my first foray under the skin I received some parts that I'd ordered after the scouting trip and tore into big red again. This is where I stopped removing stuff.

Note the right mirror wire in the photo. Previous owner, or more likely, someone who worked for him had broken the Honda connector and just wired the mirror back up direct. It worked fine, but I needed to replace the rubber boots around the mirror base so they had to come all the way off.

So, I ordered a kit to build connectors to fit. The video made it look really straight forward and simple but it was anything but in a practical application. I fought it for hours until I finally gave in and wired the mirror back up directly. I have already given the connector kit away.

I removed a badly worn ratchet assembly from the windshield and the screen moves effortlessly. I'm almost looking forward to riding in the rain :)

I also had a low beam headlight burn out on my trip and I wanted to change it (I changed both low beams). I have really large hands so I removed a couple extra pieces under the windscreen so I could reach up and into the bulbs easier. Didn't work, no way I could do the deed. It's the way other guys said they changed bulbs but I just couldn't get it done.

meter cover gone.jpg

I'd had to take the 'meter cover' off to access the mirror mounts and when I got it all the way off I thought I could see the back of the low beam bulb. I was right.

headlight bulb screenshot.png

I could just barely squeeze my right hand into the hole and feel the back of the bulb (a standard H7 automotive bulb). I lost some skin and blood in the tight quarters but changing the headlight bulbs went from impossible from the bottom to very do able from the top.

I did the whole deal over the course of two very short days. The days were necessarily short because ambient temperature was around 40C. I drank fluids like a maniac and got 'er done. Everything works and fits like it's supposed to.

I love it when a plan comes together.

I think I also got a weekend engagement post done by the rules for what might be the first time. I'm not sure if I feel better or worse for that fact.

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse.

Sort:  

Man, I hate that. It seems like I can't do any job without breaking some skin. I almost feel like the job isn't complete if I didn't bleed at least a little. You would honestly think I have more of a blue collar job than I do given the number of scars and scratches I have on my body at any given time! I honestly think it is a bit ridiculous how difficult they are making it to change stuff out these days. On both my cars you have to basically pull the whole glove box out just to get to the cabin air filter to replace it. I know, I know, old cars didn't even have a "cabin" filter, but still. It's just crazy.

I get it. Smaller is lighter and lighter is better. But shops have to be hiring mechanics with small hands and arms to get in where they need to go.

Honda has always been fairly notorious for that. And the service manual looks like
1: Remove meter cover
2: Remove windshield garnish
3: Replace light bulb.

There are 40 fasteners involved in those three steps! They do show exactly how the dust covers for the bulbs go back on, so that's a good thing.

Haha, wow, that is pretty funny about all the fasteners for three steps. It is getting crazy how hard it is to work on any of this. I am sure they do that on purpose, but still...

Ahahahaha. It gets even worse. 3 different 'pop fasteners' in the mix. Guess which one I broke? Yep, the one I don't have a back up for :) I'll have that size in my 'motorcycle bits' box by the next time I go in there.

I fixed it with a same diameter fastener that had a stem instead of flush fit that Honda used. I just installed it and clipped the stem off with a dyke. I may have to drill it out the next time...

Yikes! That's some Murphy's Law right there!

Nice job, I was making plans of buying a suzuki samuri...then crypto fell. My hope was that hive would go up to $5 and keep my money there and it fell and I got hurt.

I still have plans of getting one. The person in my country was selling a fairly used one for $1000.

Samuri the car? Or are you talking a motorcycle model that is named something different there?

The Samuri car is just tearing up the 'classic' market here. It's one of the largest risers in the segment this year with prices up to $30,000. I have some bits for a Samuri laying around my place. Tail lights, a door, a carburetor for sure. I think I have a header, too.

I hope Hive goes to $5, too. But the truth is I get most enjoyment out of being right here with fine people like you!

Very true. I enjoy the nice comments and connecting with people.

Here is the Kawasaki Samuri I was talking about

Very true. I enjoy the nice comments and connecting with people.

Here is the Kawasaki Samurai I was talking about

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you for the support! Greatly appreciated!