You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 31: Bucket list destination or activity

I think your easiest answer to two of the three is take a Space X or Virgin Space ride. There'd be LOTS of noise and supersonic flight. You'd have to do your HALO jump as a separate item :)

The Army's HALO school is here at YPG. I have a couple of friends that are/were HALO qualified...

I've live much of my life in 'Sonic Boom' area. Lightly populated areas that are reasonably close to more urban zones. We have several good booms per month here. I actually live in the restricted air space for the Goldwater Bombing Range. The Marines and Air Force both try to minimize the impact, but in truth it's part of their training.

In the subsonic weirdness category I've gotten to know a current Osprey Pilot fairly well in the last year or so.

Sort:  

SpaceX, now that is something I hadn't thought of! One of my friends did some HALO jumps with the Rangers. He was rather emphatic that smoking weed before prebreathing pure oxygen for a HALO jump was a bad idea.

When I was little they were still using my neck of the woods for low level bombing practice for B-52s. No sonic booms but that was a bit loud. End of the Cold War put a stop to it though.

I've never actually got to see one of the Ospreys fly. I'm half surprised they around after the troubles they faced early in their development.

You talk about noisy. A wing of 4 Ospreys flying withing half mile of my house actually rattles the china. Much worse than Sea Stallions.

The Ospreys are a really dependable option now days. 300 mph in horizontal flight and can carry half a company of Marines. The jeep carriers today are really making the big Carriers look bad.

All the FA 35s for all services are flight tested here. Those things are NOISY too...