You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 21: It's all about food y'all!

I don't believe I've eaten Camel. Alligator, Emu and Cougar (which I wouldn't have had I been sober and known) but no Camel. There's a story that an entire generation of Navajo children on the western part of the Res were raised on Camel Soup. Different story. And Burro and Horse. I've tried both of them.

Sort:  

I was not so sure about the Camel at first but had a bite and to be honest it was really quite nice. I think I cold put it in front of people and they'd not even know it was camel. I had it at an outback restaurant in the Red Centre of Australia (Alice Springs). It was on a mixed platter thing I got and it was all pretty good. I've eaten quite a lot of crocodile since to be honest as it's readily available here. I've watched a few documentaries about food across the world and I'd say there are far worse things to eat than horse of camel. Maybe it depends on how hungry a person is?

Maybe it depends on how hungry a person is?

Protein is protein after all when you are hungry enough. I've eaten some pretty disgusting shit when you get right down to it...

I've been hungry, I mean hungry and whilst I've not had to eat anything too weird because of it, it has certainly made the food I did eat taste bloody good. It's amazing how simple food can taste like the most amazing meal when one is hungry.