You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 24: Passions [Get paid for yours]

Charging time is happening fast. Charging your Tesla at a Supercharger will take about 50 minutes from 10% to 95%.

Range is a factor of how much battery you can carry. It'll catch up, but it's going to take a little time.

It's the same with motorcycles. To get me to even look it needs 250 miles and that really isn't there yet.

Sort:  

Making batteries more lightweight options will help also. There's some good stuff coming through on that front, the Lithium Polymer types for instance. It'll get there.

Somebody put a Lithium Iron battery out as a power supply type. No carbon at all and weight isn't a factor when it stays in your garage. It's made for solar and also automatic backups.

It's being marketed in SoCal as an alternative to a generator to deal with power blackouts. I'm guessing it'll sell rather well...

There's some good stuff coming up and when it's affordable many will benefit. I have a solar array on my roof, but no storage, it feeds to the grid if I don't use the power and I get a rebate...Going well, but some storage would be good. Blackout insurance. I like the sound of that. It'll happen.