You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 44: See || Hear || Feel - Win HIVE

At least you didn't put a 150 word limit on this, cause I feel like I might have to wander around a bit before I answer.

It can't be sight. I actually have a really good idea what that is worth to me, having come close to not having it a time or two.

Touch or hearing?

I think a bit of that comes down to giving it up now or starting with out. I'm a really tactile person, I really am a hands on type. I seriously can't imagine not being able to feel.

I can imagine not hearing. It would be hard, but not impossible. Starting without it would mean I'd already solved the communication thing, and worked on finding alternate ways to be aware of my surroundings. There would be the advantage of having a service dog with me all the time.

I've known some deaf people over the years, and all of them got along pretty well in the world. I did work with a guy that was totally deaf from birth, and he did quite well. For people like me that didn't know American Sign he carried a pad and pencil all the time. His wife was also deaf from birth, and they had a normal hearing child. That was interesting, but even in the early 70s it was pretty easy to overcome.

He did have one problem. He broke the tach cable on his Triumph on the way to work one morning. He had me look at it and show him how to fix it. That night when he went to leave he over revved it and did an ugly wheelie that dumped him and the bike in the parking lot :)

True story. He played football at Michigan State University and loved to go to Hockey games with us.

So mark me down for hearing.

Sort:  

Hmm, good logic here, the process of elimination and for sure coming close to losing vision is always going to motivate one to want to keep it. Glad you did.

Hearing...Hmm, sounds legit and for good reason. IT's interesting though right? The hypothetical situation. I think it's fascinating to see people's reasons and what they ultimately choose.

!ENGAGE 25

Yeah coming close to losing ones vision is definitely a way to motivate you to keep it lol

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you! Welcome to the group of 'hearing'. 😄 I chose the same thing too. I believe losing sense of hearing is easier to manage than lose other sense, especially touch. Why would I give up my ability to touch?

Being deaf can be managed with hearing aids, a service dog like you said, reading lips, sign language etc. Even if these were unavailable, our bodies will find a way to compensate for the lose.

I think losing sense of hearing should win the day.

Excellent reasoning Tom and you have Sam who would alert you to anything untoward, not sure how feely touchy he is, Woody knocks my arm constantly if wanting to alert me to someone on the driveway, or when it's time for food or a walk.

!ENGAGE 20

That was a fun read. This is one of those ones I can't risk jynxing myself by answering. New tach, can't hear.. recipe for a wheel stand for sure.

I'm with you on the hearing loss part. It would be the simplest to replace with technology. Google style glasses with a heads up display, voice to text translation, (heck you would even care if they were speaking Mandarin Chinese), visual clues to other sounds like foot steps approaching from behind, your heads up triangulating where the gunshots are coming from so you know where not to go, little bird icons with tweet tweet, to let you know he robins are rock-in it out, little cat faces popping up by a food bowl meowing feed me feed me.

Hearing would be the easiest to replace via technology that we have today, the bonus of no hearing is you can sleep through all the noise all the others complain about.

!ENGAGE 15

I can understand what you mean when you choose hearing over others. Being tactile is so important for me but in my early days here with our son and wife, I don't know if I could do without hearing! Thankfully I don't think I have a bitch nagging wife or whiny kids so hearing is important hahaha.

That's cool that the guy who was born deaf got married and had a normal hearing kid. You don't always think of those types of things with disabled people, them doing the normal things like getting married and stuff.

Interesting!
Can't knock the logic here. I was looking forward to your comment to see if you'd go for hearing or touch and for some reason I had already pictured the reasoning would involve a motorcycle 😀

Very well thought out reasoning...

That does it!

@bigtom13 is an alien or android posing as a biker.!

untitled.gif