You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 47: Favourite transport [answer and win hive]

Ah, jeeze. What a topic. I've had a couple of barns full of vehicles that are special and memorable. And not a museum piece in the bunch. I used every one hard. There's a 1964 Barracuda, and a '39 Ford Coupe. A '55 Pontiac and a '64 Thunderbird. There's a 1951 Chev Pickup, a '53 and '78 Ford pickups. All of those take my breath away yet today. But

image.png

1964 Yamaha YG1 KT 80cc of 2 stroke fury that would do 60 miles per hour if the wind was right. I got it in April of '65. That's 56 years ago for those keeping score. I was 13 years old and it absolutely changed my life.

For the first time I saw the possibilities of a much larger and more complex world than I had considered. Now I could go see. And I have. It's said you never forget your first, and that is certainly true of that old Yamaha.

The music is a motorcycle song through and through.

Sort:  

When I saw your comment I knew I was going to love it 😁.

Wow, you actually rode it at 13. At 13 I was inward getting at bicycles trying to learn.

Looks beautiful and light too.

I used it to go back and forth to my first job at a neighbor's place (10 miles round trip per day). The 100 miles per gallon is how I convinced my Dad to loan me the $200 I was short to buy it. I was absolutely in heaven.

Ah brilliant. This is a worthy gift.

That's awesome man, lots of great vehicles for you but nothing beats an old bike like that! My friend and I got our hands on an old moped when we were 14 or 15 I forget but we did some work to try and fix it up and got it running one summer. Man was that a lot of fun, the first experience of a motor was life changing!

Oh, man. There were maybe half dozen of us that lived out in the country and had single cylinder MCs after a year or two, and we rode A LOT. In order to ride a lot we learned to mechanic-at least some. It was a great trade.

Nothing beats the sound of a running motor that you have been sweating over. Nothing.

51 Chevy and 53 and 78 Ford pickups? I'm with you there...Legit!

1964 Yamaha YG1 KT 80cc

Great choice here, not just for the bike but all the rest that came with it for you.

!ENGAGE 20

Each of those should have their own article. I may try to get that done this weekend.

I learned to be a mechanic on all of these. The '51 Chevy had a babbited motor that we rebuilt at least twice before we put a full bearing motor in it. I've actually poured babbit material in my career. (I was probably 12). My Dad gave me the pickup in self defense after I wrecked his newest Chev (a 62).

I overhauled the motor on that Yammie the first winter I had it. I took 8th grade shop class specifically because Mr. Iksic (the teacher) told me I could. I missed the leather craft part of the class. It was worth it. I got over 30,000 miles out of that little 2 stroke and when I finally considered it deceased I used the wheels to build a welder cart. Somewhere I'm guessing that the yammie lives on in somebody's shop.

Did well with the Yamaha! That's a lot of miles. I agree, you should do a post or two Tom.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I just commented Sir Tom, then scrolled down and found this beauty accompanied by a great song. So, if fate should break my stride, I will give you a memory of my sweet Bonny.

If fate should break my stride...

Next for me was a TR-6 The single carb bonny. Damn, that was a real motorcycle and I loved it. I learned a lot of mechanical things with that baby, too!

Oh yeah, you told me about that bonny and that's why I tagged you Sir Tom.
They had a way of creeping into one's heart.

Tom, you're gonna love this one. My buddy's neighbor, this is about five years ago, he's leaving town... divorce.... Looooonng story. He gave my buddy two bikes, the 85 moped just needed rings, no pedals, they were already full throttle. It runs like a champ now, does about 35mph BUT.

Free - 1970 SL350 in excellent condition Dude. Talk about being in the right place at the right time.

Oh, man. Everybody knew that you couldn't possibly make a servicable parallel twin dirt bike. Silly people. Honda just kicked everybody's ass. The run up to the Africa Twin...

What a feeling to ride a bike!
I had done this several times, but the last time I had to quit since I had been having some wine and I was dizzy. Nevertheless, I do remember my high-school bf coming to pick me up after classes with one of those Russian ones.

Great choice!

I've never ridden a Ural, but they've always intrigued me. A stone cold copy of a pre WWII BMW. And they get you home every time. The McGyver of motorcycles.

@bigtom13....here is a little secret ---> I have a crush on BMW vintage one that a guy owns. I see it each summer at the seaside, where I go and sleep in the tent. The guy comes there for 2-3 weeks each year.

Here is the model

https://www.pinterest.es/pin/522276888027561572/

That bike looks a lot like the 1967 Honda CL-90 that I had when I was a senior in highschool back in 1972-73. The frame is the same style. I rode the crap out of that thing back then! 😀

They were special, weren't they? My BFF rode a S-90 (a '65) that HE STILL HAS!

Goofy bugger also still owns the Chevelle SS that he took on his honeymoon.