You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 21: It's all about food y'all!

Now we are talking. Crabs. Oh my, I do love crab meat.

Where I grew up there is a species of red crab called Dungeness. It is really sweet and tastes good alone or with anything. The North Pacific is also famous for King Crabs, but I don't think they are as tasty as the Dungeness.

Blue Crabs are legendary on the east coast of the US. I've had them alone and as crab cakes. I have to tell you they are mighty good. Oh, jeeze. I want some crab NOW. :) If I had some it'd be a crab omelette for breakfast for sure!

Thanks for sharing this. I'm just over the moon.

Sort:  

Jajaja. Good.
Those Dungeness look like our Jaibas, but I think yours grow bigger, judging by some images I am looking at on the Internet.
One of the things that always surprised me here was the lack of variety of dishes prepared with crabs. Besides the pela'o (crab with rice), we have the stew, but I never saw anyone prparing salads or cakes, or any other variation or combination. I think that meat allows all kinds of creative dishes.

Wow. Crab salad is wonderful as is crab chowder and the crab cakes are out of this world. Like you I think you could put crab in anything and it would be good.

I just happen to remember that Dungeness Crabs had to be 6 inches (15 cm) across the back to be kept. Most were double that.

Caught them with Crab Pots (a cage trap that sits on the bottom). Put your pots out in the morning and pick them up in the evening. I actually ran a crab line for a while for a friend when he had to go away for a family emergency. He transported the crab live to his restaurant. It was a good gig!

That sounds great. In my town crabbing was never projected as an economic activity. I remember once there was some talk to allow a japanese company to exploit the crabs at big scale, but I don't think we ever had that big of a population of crabs. It was always something minor that individuals procured for their households. I guess it was good for the environment that way