You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 31: Bucket list destination or activity

I grew up in the North so have literally seen the Northern Lights thousands of times. They are so beautiful and intense. It was actually until I moved to Arizona that I realized that there is such a huge fraction of people that have never seen them.

It's like a guy I knew that lived in Amsterdam. He traveled to the bush in Australia to see the milky way. He was convinced it was not visible in Northern Europe. It was a long way to go to realize that all he had to do was find a dark place to see it.

I too would like to spend some time in Italy. There was so much outrageous original thought there in the Renaissance that I have trouble believing that it could have all been there in that small place..

I'm like you. The list doesn't end, it just fades out for now!

Sort:  

I grew up in the North so have literally seen the Northern Lights thousands of times

@bigtom13, Lucky you! Yes, there are a lot of us who haven't seen them 😆

that all he had to do was find a dark place to see it.

The light pollution is a thing in big cities. It will be more and more difficult to find a dark place and see even the stars in the night... Just an example, a few years ago in the town where I currently live (a really small one, between a village and town) all the street lights became led lights. It gives a different kind of light, the poor seagulls went crazy, they didn't know is it day or night, so they made noise during the whole night... For some weeks, until getting used. (hahahah we went crazy with them as well, it was a challenge to sleep 😂)

You know, that Italy thing, and travelling through that country for some months or more... Hm... you remember once I mentioned that I wanted to learn to ride a motorbike..? I will just stop here. Period. No further comments. 😋 ( Don't make conclusions, just let's leave it here 😂)

Leave it there? Not a chance. I realize that for much of the world the holiest of holy is in the Vatican. But for me, it is in Bologna. Home of Ducati. In Italy are Aprilia, Moto Guzi, Vespa, Piaggo, Ducati and others. It is motorcycle heaven.

I've got a really good friend that spent a month in Italy a few years ago. Her sister wanted to get married in Italy so rented a castle about 50 miles north of Venice for a MONTH. They had so much fun! And didn't ride a motorcycle an inch!

Light pollution is a problem here too. You can get to really dark places in just a few minutes, but the towns... Kitt Peak, Mount Palomar, and Mars Hill (three famous old telescopes) have varying problems with light around here.

Hahaha, you just couldn't leave it there 😂

One question, did you come across a guy from Greece here in Hive, who posts about his motorcycle trips?

Yes I have, but I've not followed him. I will...