Sort:  

Sun in the day, stars at night should be good navigational tools. Perhaps getting off grid not so bad after all...

Hey dear @joanstewart, am glad to see you.
You just remind me of a young friend who likes doing weird things and never wants to open a flashlight when trekking in the forest at night. I'm really admired it.

Sun in the day, stars at night should be good navigational tools

It's so true :)

We have forgotten our natural abilities in the wild world, investing into things like GPS on cellphones, other mod-cons that in reality if things really went haywire would no longer be available.

Ha ha have to think about would could go wrong, how badly would it affect us, one tank of gas won't get you out of dodge...

That is my compass!

North Star will guide you 😉

Hello Tom, how are you?

a snake attacking from above

Oh no. I don't like snakes to be honest.. 😭You scare me 😕😕. I don't actually go jungle if I'm not sure how safe it is 😂 I'm not that brave 😂

I deal with some around here, but they are almost always down around my feet. I NEVER look up to see if I'm in trouble :)

I remember once going out to my Grandfather's timber lot to cut some firewood. We left fairly early in the morning with the plan to come back when it got good and warm. We took a burlap wrapped water bottle with us set it on a rock ledge near where we were cutting. When we took a water break there was a rattlesnake wrapped around it. Not good.

Nothing motivates quicker than a snake, takes you off on a tangent of getting out of the place in a hurry.😆

Yes, snakes can be damn fine motivators.

Always give them and spiders a wide berth, they have right of way 😄

I've really been expecting seeing a sidewinder right now simply because the temps are in and out of their activity zone. I'm really being careful when I see tracks...

Eyes out for snakes all the time, sidewinder is a pretty snake with a bit of an attitude!

I worry more about the dog most time diving into vegetation and everywhere, suppose different conditions but Sam has to be watched as well.

Oh no, not good 😭😭. Luckily it wrapped the water bottle not your feet.
I don't know what to do if I was in that situation...I don't think I can move, I may be just standing there forever and pray 😂

My grandfather poked him with a stick and got him moving. Pretty exciting, though. It was the first snake we'd seen that year, and my dad really hates rattlesnakes. I mean seriously.