The Best, The Absolute Best

It's red. It's fast. It's mine.

Motorcycling is a solo thing. Even when you are riding with others you are absolutely alone-and responsible to yourself. It's the way of it, always been.

firehydrant.jpg

For those that don't know, I have a new motorcycle. A RED motorcycle. It's not exactly new, just new to me. It's actually a 2004 Honda Goldwing that has been cared for carefully for 18 years.

Horses and Red (2).jpg

Which explains why I've been so absent the last three weeks. New motorcycle and the learning curve that goes with it. It takes some time and mileage to start to quantify how good a motorcycle is, particularly in relationship to the ones that have gone before.

Box Canyon portrait (1).jpg

I rode home from Indio, California to get my first taste. I spent parts of several days learning to be smooth with the red beast. Smooth is life on a motorcycle. Jerky and irregular is death. I choose and work at smooth.

Box Canyon Wing (1).jpg

It's a truly great motorcycle. Everybody acknowledges the Goldwing greatness. Is it comparatively the best? The very BEST?

Better than a Ducati Multistrada? Or Connie? Or a BKing? Or a Kawasaki KZ1? Or ....

Doorway Wing jpeg.jpg

This is the view out my front door right this minute. As you can see it's very dark. When it gets light, and a little bit warmer, I'm going to light up the beast and head out for the day. I haven't been to Organ Pipe National Monument in years, I suspect today is the day.

What this all means is that I'm not in position to call Big Red the best motorcycle ever. I'm not anywhere near ready to call it the best I've ever owned.

But I am dammed sure ready to anoint it my very best current motorcycle, which is plenty good enough for me to spend another day deciding on the rest of it.

All words and photographs and motorcycles in this post are mine.
For better or worse.

Sort:  

That’s a real nice ride
Been years no decade’s since I have ridden a motorcycle and most of my real ding was off road and motocross where smooth wasn’t always the way to go
But on road yes smooth is best

Enjoy your ride today

I rode primarily in the dirt for years and years. You are, of course, correct that smooth is not the way to go there. Sudden and decisive action is what makes old motocross riders.

I will say (and have said often) that the lessons I learned in the dirt keep me alive today. Just a bit smoother :)

Thanks for stopping by my friend! I promise to enjoy the ride today.

That’s a very good point motocross is a lot about quick reactions and I can imagine that can be a factor of experience for road riding

My stepson hopes to buy a bike next year no doubt I will want to give it a ride probably when my wife isn’t around lol

I was married to one of those :) For a short time. I had to keep my dirt bike at a buddy's place. I may or may not have told her I sold it...

Lol
I can relate my ex was the same perhaps justified after she saw me have a rough crash in one race broken ribs dislocated shoulder etc

I agreed to give up after that one officially at least lol

But did do the odd race afterwards of a friends bike which was my bike I gave to him sort off if you know what I mean lol

Back in the day, none of my dirt bikes had a title-those were only for licensed vehicles. So who owned which bike was often more than a little bit fluid :)

Exactly 👍

I looking for a Enduro now. That's a nice bike.. but to much for me..

I love them. When I turned 50 I decided I was done in the dirt. So I went exclusively to the road-Though I do have a Suzuki V Strom for some of the less than ideal roads around here :)

Good luck with your dirt squirter. I think you'll like it.

Love seeing your posts about riding! It looks to be a very well cared for classic ride, take a nice long one for me!


Posted via pimp.media

I did a bit over 300 miles yesterday. Does that count? It's an absolute joy to ride.

I did add a bluetooth dongle to the audio system so I can play my playlists on the road :)

That ride looks so comfortable, hope it gets all the right votes you looking for in smooth riding.

Not the first, but current love is best, enjoy and have a safe ride to Organ Pipe Monument!

@tipu curate

I agree. Not the first, and maybe not the best (maybe) but I like it a lot. It is certainly the most comfortable. There's a lot to be said for comfort in any relationship. I think :)

Thanks for stopping by Joan.

Comfort a priority for long trips, especially when we out there enjoy to utmost. Finding ones 'feet and feeling each other out' is another fun part, all down to experience at the end of the day.

Very nice. I am glad that you are able to get out and enjoy it. It's that time of year where we mostly stay cooped up in the house here. That looks like some fantastic weather. I am guessing it is a pretty sweet ride otherwise you wouldn't have invested in it. You know your stuff and I am sure you did your research!

I've known for a long time there was a Goldwing in my future. It's always been sort of like your Grandpa's sedan to me. Does everything incredibly well except there is no edge to it, you know?

I finally figured I was old enough-now I can't figure out why I waited so long :) This is a truly great motorcycle and I'm really looking forward to bumming around on it!

That is awesome! I feel the same way about my Buick honestly 😀

I hope you enjoy many more safe miles on that bike!!
!BEER

You know what? I think I'm going to like this motorcycle just fine.

Thanks for stopping by and for the beer!


Hey @bigtom13, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Congratulations @bigtom13! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 40000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 41000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

Yeah. This is way above public transportation. It's really a great motorcycle.

I'd love to come ride around your part of the world. Thanks for stopping by.