You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [WE95] Weekend-Engagement posting topics

My instinct when I saw your photo was to wonder if my stepson has ever been to Australia. He's autistic. He likes smashing things. Our house has doors that don't do what doors are made to do. Our crockery is mismatched. Our windows are not all in one piece. Years ago I wrote about living with terrorism. The difference between the real terrorist and my precious stepson is that he behaves impulsively and not out of an actual intention to terrorize. Makes me so sad. And yet few people understand. They just see the destruction not the broken and confused young man.

Sort:  

Oh this was hard to read... I think it must be tough to be in such a situation.

 2 years ago (edited) 

That's a challenging situation indeed, however one that y'all seem to be working around which is the most important thing. Is there a chance of improvement or is this the way he'll be for life?; in respect of the breaking situation I mean, not the autism.

Omg. I'm sorry. I hope you find options that would help him manage his impulsivity.(if there are any) I truly can’t imagine.