You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Put in - Get out

Your harvest is looking all fresh and succulent. Jeez!!😅
I have a very tiny little garden in my compound. Usually there's pumpkins, water leaves, scent leaves, pepper. They always do well during the rainy season but it's very dry here now due to the harmattan and productivity is reduced although I water daily. It's still a fair harvest. I've never really faced too many challenges save for extreme weather conditions and weeds sprouting, which I can take care of.

Asides those, the bananas I planted about two months ago are standing tall. There's no fruit yet, of course but the tree is springing up fine. Everyday I awake, I go to measure (with my eyes) how many inches they've grown. Lol.
I also have a pear tree, coconut trees, pawpaw trees and plantains too. They all produce bountifully too.

But one time, I did try to plant tomato. It died. I don't know why but I dismissed it as the land not fertile enough to hold it in. I don't know but it's fine.

Sort:  

It's great that you're growing a few things when you can, I think it's an excellent way to feel connected to nature, even despite your weather/rain challenges.

I'm thinking that if you want tomatoes you may need to use pots and put them into a nice rich potting mix instead of straight into the infertile ground. Maybe give it a try; growing tomatoes is so rewarding, and they're tasty too!

I think it's an excellent way to feel connected to nature

I agree. Gardening and all that getting my hands dirty gives me some similar feeling as cleaning/tidying. I always feel very relaxed and fulfilled. Not to mention how reaping my harvest makes me elated. It's a wholesome feeling, I tell you. Do you get same feeling too?

Why hadn't I thought of using pots😏
Now am glad I spoke up. I'm definitely giving the method a trial. Whatever the outcome, I'll keep you informed. Thank youuu!

I feel the same when harvesting, there's a sense of achievement and also pride.

I have tomatoes in pots as I can move them around if I choose and it also allows me some more flexibility to stagger the planting and, therefore the harvest. I hope it works for you too.