Natural Wonders

Hi fellow Weekenders,

We saw quite a bit of different treats from the animal kingdom this weekend!

B9AA5A3B-E038-4790-B813-1407FD342849.jpeg

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Natural Wonders

It's been a lot of fun that we have been spending a lot more time outdoors since the little man is a lot more capable of handling himself. It's great but sad to think that he's getting older!

We spent some time this weekend outdoors as usual but one of the fun things is that we went to somewhere completely different. The weekend was a license-free fishing weekend here in Mass and since we don't have a Mass license, we buy New Hampshire, I definitely knew I was going to spend some time to check it out. We spent some time in the Walden Pond reservation and watershed area in Concord Massachusetts. The original intent of being there was to go fishing. That was a miserable failure! It was a nice area indeed but there were a huge amount of people there and they were swimming, hanging out on the beach and just generally making a lot of noise. The fish were not having it and refused to bite anything. It was still okay though, we got to check out a new area!

When we stepped out of the car, the first thing we saw was this really cool garter snake! It's been a while for me, having seen one many years ago. This one was quite large! The little man loved it and definitely was excited to see it.

B9AA5A3B-E038-4790-B813-1407FD342849.jpeg

A bit of free hive here for people who read and can spot the reason for this picture! Lol

4AAB7D92-47CF-4742-9922-FE456363F5D4.jpeg

When we were walking around the trail I happen to look down often since there are quite a few rocks lying around, don't want to trip and hurt ourselves! When I was keeping an eye on the ground for us, I happened to catch this little guy hopping out of the corner of my eye! It was fun to show the little man the toad however he instantly jumped to try and grab it. I quickly pulled him back a bit, my memory was that toads will excrete some lovely substance on their backs if you pick them up and I don't know if that can make you sick or it just smells or tastes bad so I opted for the caution and we enjoyed it from a distance lol

6BEB9D91-1D3A-4181-BCE8-EEE49BAA6ED9.jpeg

When we were walking near the car in a different area we spotted all of these hatched turtle eggs! The body of water was directly next to it and the road wasn't very well used so it was nice to see that there were dozens of turtle eggs that hatched and popped right into the water where they belong. Where we live, a lot of them unfortunately become pancakes on the ground from people not seeing them and crushing them lol.

1F9B6B6E-BADA-4E45-BE22-D966A493BD6D.jpeg

We had a bunch of fun on the failed trip attempt at fishing in a new spot. When I talked to my dad a few days later he mentioned that the place we went was indeed a waste of time unless you get there right at daybreak. Ah well, still some quality time outside with the little man! Thankfully we didn't spend all day out there, it was hot as shit! Would've been tough to have an awesome day fishing and have to end because the heat was too much lol

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,390 PRE tokens, with a market value of $249.13. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

Sort:  

Me no likey snakes.

1a5cd40eb.png

Lol I don't mind them but it's a lot different in Australia I know that! We don't have poisonous ones in our area but eventually will move to a place that will.

We have some pretty full on snakes so I guess I'm conditioned to not like them. Many in cities here will never see one in the wild but I'm out and about in the outback all the time so I see them and they disturb me. Creepy looking bastards.

Yeah I can imagine lol. I’ve never seen a dangerous one before outside of a zoo or something so it’s got a different impression. I think the most dangerous animal I’ve seen in the wild might be a fishercat but they prefer to eat small animals like cats lol

It's all good times until one is confronted with the danger and then things get a little more real. I don't mind seeing snakes behind the glass at the zoo...Next to me in the wilderness though...Yeah, not my thing.

For sure! I learned recently that there are black widow spiders and scorpions here in mass. Never knew that! Not looking forward to running into one of those lol thankfully we aren’t jumping in and out of bushes and brush so I think we should be good on that front.

I was just reading about the Mohave Green Rattlesnake and the herpetologist said they could go up in the Palo Verde or Ironwood trees and drop down on you. I've never heard of that but now I really don't like them!

Snakes that can drop out of trees on a person? Why. I mean, why would something like exist? Me no likey.

Frobby. That's what they were called at my mother's house. Yes, it was a grandson that named them, why would you ask?

Mom had a window well on a basement window that was obviously the perfect place for them, all she had to do was hit the bottom with some water and there they were. It was amazing and the wonder of her grandkids. Everybody likes frobbies.

Pretty cool looking snake, too!

Hahah nice that's awesome, I love stories like that! It's a lot of fun when you find toads jumping around. Glad we didn't squish them accidentally!