You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend Part 2: Homemade Fruit Butters

Yeah I mean growing up in my parents house the only thing they ever made homemade was tomato sauce but even that was from cans. I dated a girl who’s family made homemade pasta traditionally and it was great! I certainly hope to do that with our little family, some of the best memories are had doing things like that with friends and family.

There’s definitely also the time factor. It’s been a huge help that I’ve been working from home now so I’m able to be there right away to help. When the two of us are working on it the time to finish is cut tremendously.

Sort:  

I have a mate, just a little older than I am whose family holds to the old ways. They make wine, sausages, breads, pasta, sauces, olives and even cheese all in the old ways from Napoli. A lot of the produce they use is grown themselves. His parents immigrated in the early 1960's and the family is one of the few I know who uphold traditions. It's always a great night to go over there and make wood oven pizza with them all...It's loud, very social and always tasty.

Ah damn that sounds like such wonderful memories! I hope the family keeps that up as long as possible, that makes me really happy to hear that!

Yeah they are a pretty cool family...I just hope the two kids (adults now) take it on...I don't know if both will but the parents are pushing for it, involving them. We'll see.

Yeah I definitely hope they will do it, that’s one of the tough things. My older generation did the stuff but my parents never bothered for the most part.