You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 44: See || Hear || Feel - Win HIVE

What a great and thought out answer here man! I too first thought of touch as it is one I could live without. Having a romantic partner and all that though really complicated it and I think your choice is definitely a good one. We could certainly figure out a way to get the replacement of sound into our lives again! Could the same be said for touch though? Technology that helps somehow with visual or hearing stimulation for touch? Interesting thought experiment!

Sort:  

Imagine trying to skate without feeling in your body!? hahah. I mean, I guess maybe it would be interesting then though because you wouldn't feel pain? I guess there's a lot of open interpretation as to what loss of touch actually means!

I doubt any technological solution to touch would be nearly the same. I mean, I know it's not for hearing or sight, either, but touch.. I don't know. It would feel too artificial. I feel as though sight and hearing are functional commodities, however touch is a much more personal and emotional thing. It's difficult to imagine having a very personal experience in life without touch. The others, I could see myself adapting to. But it seems to me that touch is an entirely different thing. Sure, visuals and audio evoke emotions within yourself. However, touch is actually living that emotion.

Visuals and audio can often be passive while touch is always personal. Maybe that's what I'm trying to say?