If You're Early You're On Time...

IMG_2009.jpg

...if you're on time you're late.

This #weekend-engagement question was:

Are you usually late or early? What does punctuality mean to you and how do you feel people perceive it and respond to it? Explain with examples.

I am obsessively early for everything. It hasn’t always been this way, but since I stepped on the yellow footprints at the age of 18 in Marine Corps bootcamp it has been that way.

In bootcamp they just reinforced, with a very firm hand, what my elders had tried to teach me. That punctuality is a sign of respect and reliability. It demonstrates that you value the time of others and that you are organized.

A recent example of this was when I went for coffee and breakfast with a friend. He arrived early to pick me up. This showed to me that he was respectful of my time and made me very appreciative. It also leads me to believe he respects his own time as well, which he does.

Being early can become even more important when in a professional setting. As an example, when I would conduct job interviews, I would always take notice of the candidates who arrived early. Before the interview they typically were more organized, less anxious, took time to review notes, etc.

It seemed to me the opposite was true for those arriving just on time or late. These people also demonstrated a lack of respect for my time and always hurt their chances of success in the interview process.

IMG_2012.jpg

The mantra I picked up in the military was if ; “You’re early you’re on time, if you’re on time you’re late.” I still live by that mantra. Much to my wife and kids’ dismay. Sometimes we are way early.

I like to plan for all contingencies and be proactive. This allows me to be well prepared and avoid any last-minute hiccups and undo stress. Being on time to me is the minimum. Arriving early shows you are doing more than the minimum to respect someone’s time.

In the military sometimes time could be the difference between life or death. Punctuality and precision were critical. Safety and mission success would count on timing. Being late could mean someone getting hurt badly or even dying.

It does seem sort of anal for me to still be this way, but it is from years of programming and frankly I think it is good. I don’t plan to change it. It is a rigorous approach to time management, but it will maintain efficiency and discipline in high stakes environments when the time comes.

HiveDivider.png
Thanks for reading,
Joe

Note: Images are my own taken with iPhone SE.

mvh4.png

Banner image from Hive Veterans Discord Server

Sort:  

You’re early you’re on time, if you’re on time you’re late.

A pretty common saying in Japan, as well. If you aren't at least 15 minutes early, it's insulting to many. Especially to older businessmen.

I used to be a late person, but after living here awhile I've changed and now I am always early.

Yes, I discovered that during my time there. I would arrive early thinking I would be be first in line for something and end up being among many who arrived early.

Much Respect Sir.

Cheers, Bleujay

I am finding we have many things in common! I was raised to believe "if you're not 15 minutes early, you're late," and it has served me well all my life - for all the reasons you cite. I am also fortunate to have found a boyfriend who feels similarly, and doesn't keep me waiting to start date night. 💜

!PIMP
!PIZZA


You must be killin' it out here!
@willendorfia just slapped you with 5.000 PIMP, @coinjoe.
You earned 5.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 2/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Cool, 15 minutes is my general rule as well. Sometimes I am earlier, but that is usually so we beat traffic and stuff.

you are suited with the way japanese deal with time, my friend

That’s what I’ve been told.

Wow.. the mantra is good. Gonna applied it in my real life.😊

Feel free, I am sure I borrowed it from someone along the line.

Thank you.😊 I hope I can managed 😊

Being constantly late is of course unacceptable, sometimes its happens you can’t control everything in life.. but being way too early seems like poor time management as well as being late

Sometimes I am way early depending on the situation. If I know traffic can be bad where I am going, I will leave real early in case there is a bad traffic jam. If there isn''t one, I will sometimes arrive way early. In those cases I have my phone or a book to entertain me before my appointment.

Being on time! Thank you for the insight you put up

You’re welcome. Thanks for stopping by.

I can't agree with you less; punctuality is a sign of respect and reliability.

That’s basically what I said

And it's good to always be on-time

A little bit early always helps.

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @palomap3 suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️

Thank you

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@willendorfia(2/15) tipped @coinjoe