You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 62: Skills you have or want

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago

No matter what, those things you are willing to throw away may have some tangible uses later. So, the best is to keep them safe until they are useful. I'm also a fan of keeping things in other instead of throwing them away when I know they may have some use later.

Sort:  

At some point, you may just have wasted what you ought to have given out. Some could be clothes, shoes, books and so on. There is always someone around you who may need it.

This is exactly the perspective I have taken. If its no use to me, I remind myself that it could be of use to someone else.

It is not even good to waste your property instead give them out to those who need them most.

You arr nit using it does not mean someone should not use it. You are right

You summed it up pretty well!

Hahahahahaha Nine wellll for now I am not actively searching up for it but I should be on the lookout.

We have a Neighborhood House in my town. Anything you don't need, you can pack in a box and drop it off at the Neighborhood House. Volunteers go through it and organize it. Sometimes, you can see people walk up to the porch and collect stuff that's been left. It's much easier to let go of stuff when you see that. Sometimes I give away stuff now that I might have use for because I know it's better to see someone walk off with my almost new pair of shoes than to have that pair sit in a closet.

Neighborhood House is one of the best antidotes to hoarding:)

Wonderful. I love donating in ways that benefit others!

This will give room to those who need them to consult the neighbor's house. It is a best method to keep those things away from the house.

You are right. I just wish that there is a place of such right here in my country were one can drop used things which may still.be useful to people.
I think the person who built that place should receive kudos.

They are wonderful.
All volunteers.

That is brilliant, @nineclaws. It's a win-win for everyone. Can I stop by with several closets full of stuff? Ha ha.

That is a wonderful idea!

We have something similar in our community but, they put it in the community bulletin, which is sent electronically every Friday. Or people put it our curbside with a sign if it is big. Take me! :)

:) Me too! I have found some of the coolest things!

It is even ungodly to waist your properties when somebody is out there to make good use of them. So the best is to keep them and give them out or keep them for later use.

Yep. There is joy in the heart of the giver and the receiver. To act of giving is a good skill that can help our society grow.

This is why we have to give whatever we are not using any longer

Could that act be referred to as a skill. I think giving is an act not a skill.

For me, useless stuff is just garbage! I don’t keep old things.

The definition of useful vs. useless is the tough part. Is a picture frame that doesn't currently have a picture in it useful or useless? What about supplies for a hobby I only do from time to time, like candle making? Then there's the box of charging cables that will possibly be needed at some point, and the little portable tripod for the camera I only use when I travel. And books I haven't read yet, sudoku magazines I haven't yet used... etc. etc. etc. These are the things that trouble me.

What do you think do to them? Do you burn them or dispose of them?

Some things I give away and some just throw away.

Not keeping them is not the best. We all know that useless things our garbage, but keeping them or giving out those useless things to people that need them may go a long way.