Weekend That Started With a Loss


Image created in Canva

Hello Hive friends and readers. It's Monday and I'm going to play back some of my experiences this past weekend. I'll start with part of my work day Friday and end it with Sunday.

Friday

If you read my last weekend experience than you will soon see this one won't be too strenuous. My work day was pretty slow on Friday. The major task completed was we built up two aircraft pallets that each contained a C-17 60 ton tri-pod jack. It was shortly after lunch when we started this task. The jacks were used to fix the nose landing gear on a plane that came in to us last weekend. It was a cold day as it felt like -2 F (-16 C) with the wind chill. We spent about 30 minutes doing this. Four of us did this task, two assigned to each pallet.

After they were built we loaded them onto the aircraft with 10K AT forklift. Easy load, it may have taken us about 10 minutes to do. We found out a bit later the aircraft had other issues but fornately they were resolved and it departed before our normal work day came to an end.

On my drive home my son called me and let me know he had to be at the school by 5:30 p.m.for his game. The game was a home basketball playoff game. I had a few words of encouragement for him and wished him luck. I dropped him off and went back home to eat something for dinner. I had time since the game didn't start until 7:00 p.m.

I made it back to the school to catch them warming up. I can't tell you how proud of this kid I am. He's the heart and soul of the team. The pre game involves them announcing the starters. It's always a pleasure hearing his name followed by roar of the small crowd in attendance.

It's tip off time and my son's impact was very noticeable right away. He hit two 3 pointers, had 3 assists and a rebound to end the 1st quarter with his team up 20-10.



Source that clips came from

Early second quarter he cut to the basket and had to stop quickly to catch a fast pass from teammate. In the process he rolled his left ankle. He hobbled off and then went to trainers room shortly after. He came back out with a few minutes left in 2nd quarter. He was walking back and forth behind the bench to try to work out the ankle. He did not go back in and after the quarter the teams wents to locker room at halftime. Score at halftime was in favor for us, 33-26.

I left my spot and went across the court behind our bench. I wanted to catch my son when he came back to the court. I did meet up with him and he told me right away that he's probably not playing in 2nd half. Even though his ankle was wrapped you could noticably see that it had ballooned up.

I could feel that he really wanted to get back on the court. I really felt sad for him and his other teammates because this could be the last game of the season if they don't win. Once I got back to my original seat I was asked by other players parents about the situation. When I told them they had a look of discern.

Well with him or not the game must be played. The third quarter we played a much slower offense. It was a very messy quarter of turn overs by both teams. At the end of third quarter we still had the lead 43-37.

The start of the 4th quarter was a lot of back and forth. I don't recall exactly when but the other team tied the game. Once that happened we never took more than a small lead. With a minute left in the game they had a three point lead. We cut it down to 1 but it was back to 3 again the next procession. We lost the game 57-54. I felt bad for the team. I just know my son did to because all he could do is cheer and watch.

Image credit

After the game a lot of parents came up to me. Most told me to tell my son he had a good season. A few told me we would have won convincely had he not got injured. Once he came out from the locker room. I told him close game, good season and next year your team will go further. They bring mostly everybody back with the exception of one starter. He was greeted by a slough of people who said mostly the same things that was said to me previously.

Just so you all know he's doing fine and his ankle swelling is going down. He has AAU tryouts this Saturday. I'm sure he will be ready to go for them. Kids heal up so much faster than we do.

We get home and my son goes to room to continue to ice his ankle. I go to living room to watch the video of the game since they provided a recording of the live feed. I just wanted to see what the commenters had to say. They did mention my son's name a few times after his injury.

They even had an interview with the opposing coach. He mentioned my son as well and wished that he was ok. It was nice hearing that. I'm sure both the commenters and opposing coach knew the outcome would have been different if he would have not got injured. I personally think they would have blowed them out. Anyways you can't win them all and you need to lose to get better.

Saturday & Sunday

I really didn't do to much the rest of the weekend except do some driving for Door Dash. Saturday morning I worked a little bit on composing an article for here. Also had some chores to do around the house. Here's my driving stats derived from my Door Dash App for Saturday, nothing too impressive:

Came home to eat dinner, watched a little television, and almost finished up the article I was previously working on. I went to bed fairly early, like I usually do :)

Sunday I got up really early like at 2:30 a.m. I don't know why but sometimes I do that. I spent sometime finishing my article and got it published. I also read quite a few articles. I than went door dashing, here are my stats from my door dash app:

I didn't door dash for long because my son called me and told me he had a basketball team meeting at 1:00 p.m. I hung around the area thinking it wouldn't be long. He called me at about 2:30 and we got some Kentucky Fried Chicken for a late lunch.

Once we got home and finished eating I was starting to feel tired. I watched a little television than went to take a nap. Something that is really rare for me btw :) I woke up around 7:00 and watched a little of the Lakers and Mavericks NBA game. I drifted away watching it so I just went to bed for good at 8:00 p.m. Weekend over!!

Thanks for reading and hope to give you some more weekend experiences in the future. What will the next one hold? Hopefully a weekend to remember :) Take care and be safe :)

Sort:  

@tipu curate

@coolmidwestguy...


Good to hear your son's ankle wasn't too badly hurt. I was never really into sports growing up. Single mom, no dad... made for some "not-so-positive" memories... but, I tried. I was a "hood" in my school days, and if you weren't a hood, then you were a "jock"... kids and their sayings...

I see now why you wanted the videos! Outstanding job with those (Thanks to KittyPedia lol). I have to say... I love your energy and vibe. If you'd consider checking out the #thoughtfuldailypost Community. I feel this content would fit right in...

Keep moving forward brother... you are growing your account as well as "address book" quite well! Love and light ✨

!LUV

My high school days were mostly spent in a small town so there were blended hooded jocks, lol. I did spend one year in the city in a Catholic school where there was that divide

I've been blogging for 6 months and there were many times I wanted to insert videos. Now that I got it figured out, it gives me another dimension. I'll keep learning about it more. Now I wonder why the quality is not as good as the original source 🤔

Thank you so much Wes for everything and everyone at

https://discord.gg/XZGPGpz Such a great place to ask and generally hang out at. Take care brother!!

I just can tell how proud you are of your son. It's sad that he suffered an injury in the middle of the game. And glad too that he is better now.

Thanks Ruffa. I probably do a season recap on him for next article. He's my my favorite basketball player. Go #2 knock em down.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @wesphilbin on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

I'm really sorry to read about your son's injury. It must be terrible for him, a bad memory that will remain printed in his head, but good thing nothing serious happened as could have been worse. I wish him speedy recovery.

It was raining here all weekend and a pipe burst on the first floor, so my weekend was not nice, but at least got some free time to study trading 🙂.

Oh no it's no fun when pipes burst. My house is an older house built in 1978. A few years ago when we had extreme cold I had a pipe burst in the basement. I feel your pain there. After that incident we leave a space heater down there aimed at the pipes when it gets cold. We have always left a sink down there slow dripping.

He's doing great if his team would have won he still wouldn't be ready to go, as today would have been the district final game for the right to play in the State tourneyment. Next article will probably be his season recap I can't get enough of my favorite basketball player :) He's not small he's 6'3 but looks small on the court at times.

The pipe was fixed yesterday, so everyone is happy now 😂. This building was built in 1970, so you can imagine. It doesn't get younger, so we're expecting similar problems.

If you'd like to write about sport, I'd recommend Sports Talk Social, the sports community on Hive. Check it out and join :)

Thanks for the recommendation I will adhere to your recommendation.

Ya building all get oldier quick don't they. Glad everything is taken care of on your end. See you around :)

I hope a speedy recovery to your son! It's been a busy weekend for me hehe but it was all good. Looks like your week was well-spent 😊. See you around!

Thanks for stopping by. Hope you had time to relax some during your weekend. See ya around 😊

Hope your son's ankle will be ok soon! It seems that has not been really bad and the recovery will be fast and in the meantime hope you can sleep well at least during the weekends!

Thanks for stopping by and yes sleep is precious. I'm glad towards the end of the weekend I got some.

Good! By the way you are doing a big progress here, very successful beginning here on Hive, congrats! Happy for you as you are getting used to post here, and you know more, even better than me 😅😅
So would you mind if I remove the delegation? You have a lot of HP now, with bigger delegations, I feel satisfied I could help when you started and you are becoming a star! 🤩

Yes you can remove your delegation. Thanks for bringing me here and for the delegation. I'm having fun but just being myself, becoming a star, haha. Thanks again I do think I have progressed from my days over at the other platform.

😊👍keep being yourself and a star! !LUV

A proud dad ever! Hello bob! Missed me hahahha. So sorry I'm out of blue again but here I am im coming back here at hive. I'm glad you've made it. Keep it up and I enjoy your blog. It's my very first time to see your son in a photo huh. So sorry of what happened to your son. Praying for a fast recovery.

Thanks Jean so glad to see you here. I can't get into read.cash at the moment. I keep trying everyday.

My son is doing pretty good not 100% but getting there. He has had some ankle issues this year.

Welcome bob! Maybe read.cash will be gone also same at noise.cash so sad. Better withdraw all your funds there before it's too late.

Oh so sorry for your son and he will be 101% okay👍..

Congratulations @coolmidwestguy! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the March edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @wesphilbin ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @coolmidwestguy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I do around like 18-20 saturday and more on sunday. I think foodpanda is doing good and I need to find more options too. We don't have dash here. Hope your month was good! :)

Those were light numbers because I got interrupted. I have thought about Uber eats or Postmates to have a little more opportunities available. DoorDash is starting to do a little bit too much. There getting into the shopping market where we go to the store and shop than deliver. I'm not a huge fan because it takes more time than what it's worth. No Food Panda here.

Congrats to you and to your son and I really hope his ankle is just okay and will be well very soon.

I know you're a very proud dad

Thank you ankle is much better now. For sure proud dad and he's my #1 favorite basketball player :)

For sure he can reach another milestone in basketball soon.

I really felt sad for your son's injury, praying for his fast recovery. May he be back on the court sooner and stronger than ever. What a great weekend for you friend, more blessings to come and God bless! 🤗

Thank you friend. He's doing much better the swelling has went down a lot

Congratulations @coolmidwestguy! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - February 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the March edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Unfortunate that your son got hurt but it sounds like good sportsmanship which is important. Some people get so heated over these types of things and it’s sad and unnecessary. Hope your son heals up quickly!

Not a bad weekend, I enjoy those!

His ankle is almost completely healed. Thank you for your concerns and wishes. It wasn't a bad weekend at all. I like the idea of writing about them. It might not be an every week thing I do but will do if there is something I find is worthy of mentioning.

It was an entertaining game to watch, I'll probably write a recap of his season. It may not be something for everybody but it will bring satisfaction to me to document it and look back on it. I'm waiting for some other details to surface such as city and conference honors.

Yeah it will be nice to write about some of these things. I log a lot of the things myself as a way to eventually show my son how he grew up and seeing it through my eyes.

I see that you had some very hectic days, what surprises me is the amount of deliveries you do, that is quite amazing.

From today I will associate you with the road runner, beep beep! =D

Regarding your son, I really hope he does well, and I know that he will, it also shows that you are very proud of him.

Brofist my friend!

!MEME
!gif brofist

This weekend I considered my time driving very low. I'll post some much better stats when I decide to do that again. Thanks for stopping by friend.

Well shucks you didn't get to see what my son looked like. Now I wonder if others can see them. Well glad the videos worked. If you click the source it contains the whole game.

Thanks for dropping by I really appreciate it. Have a blessed day as well :)

@coolmidwestguy...


I can see your photos just fine. Sometimes... graphics and photos take time to "rez" if you know what I mean...

Oh... about those photos... don't forget to share with your readers, what device you've used to take these photographs! Good looking young man, by the way!