As and Cs

in Weekend Experienceslast year (edited)

I have a pretty quiet life most of the time. Not much going on - Basically go work an underpaid intern gig my countrymen call NSS, and back to my rabbit hole I call home. Maybe a movie and some social media,Hive mostly. That’s really just it. Not much to be happy or sad about. Just a quiet life that puts me somewhere in between happy and sad. Okay, I guess.

Recently though, my life has been getting active with events. And I wish I meant that in a good way.

It’s been a series of accidents and unfortunate events, and most recently, also a wrong choice. And why that wrong choice, boils down to human nature, I guess. Maybe not, I don’t know.

Humans are social animals. We take solace in providing each other assistance and having others come to our aid when needed as well. But some times, in our attempts to come to the aid of the people we love, our judgement gets clouded and we make mistakes some bad choices.

In our nature, we’re fascinating creatures, and there’s no limit to what we can or can’t do. We surprise ourselves. So much that in certain cases, we do things even we didn’t think we were capable of. I don’t want to say “in the name of love”, because that sounds cringey and gay. Lol

Sometimes you think you have the unwavering conscience and values of a prophet, but you slip up one time and make a choice that shocks even you. Life.

The problem is that mistake or not, you made it and you need to make amends.

Naturally people are dynamic. There's no telling what they think, maybe up to or what they're capable of even.

This human nature makes it very difficult to trust other people loosely, especially when they’re people you don’t know very personally.

It gets worse when you deal with typical cases of mistrust all the time. It becomes almost natural to not trust anyone It creates an almost blurry and unclear lens to view people through. Honest mistakes and dubious intentions are put in the same box until proven otherwise.

The police find it hard to trust citizens who look like thieves because they deal with criminal cases everyday and have developed an “anyone is capable of anything” thinking.)

It helps when you know who you’re dealing with on a personal level. Then you have enough foundation to make a better judgement of whether or not they’re a fundamentally good person that made a shitty choice, or if they’re just bad, basically.

Social media doesn’t have information of people enough for us to truly know them because people are a lot more complicated than the two-captioned instagram photos or even the several thousand words Hive blogs.

So for my biggest fear right now, it’s having my left being defined by mistakes or wrong choices I made at some point. I make a lot of mistakes but when I do, I don’t deny that I made them. I accept them and learn from them. But like I said, trust is also a very complicated commodity and even if it is ever gained back, begs questions of distrust for every minor inconvenience a person might have with their offender in the future.

This weekend’s weekend engagement prompt by @galenkp took me through a reflective and introspective journey.


all images here are mine

Sort:  

Sometimes you think you have the unwavering conscience and values of a prophet, but you slip up one time and make a choice that shocks even you.

This is it, exactly as is. Hitting the hammer on the head. Like the usual slang here in Nigeria ‘e go shock you’. I surprise myself some times and even look in the mirror at such times asking WHY? like you know this!
Yeah! We are humans and capable of mistakes or slip-ups.
And like you said I respect a man and myself even more when I just own up to my slip ups - apologizing where I have to and making amends where I can.
Lovely in-depth thoughts🙏🏽💕

Yhp. Making mistakes is a human thing. Acknowledging your mistakes and learning from them to become a better person is the important thing. It shows growth.

Exactly! Beautifully said💕

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Love to see your wedding place very similar to India.

That was not a wedding. It was a school dinner.

Wow great.! You had a nice weekend though

Thank you. This wasn’t about my weekend though.

We humans are indeed complicated creatures. We make mistakes even from our good intentions. Sometimes, we just have to go through the experience and learn from it. Refining our decision making process along the way. Very thoughtful post :)

Exactly. There’s no growth when you don’t learn from your mistakes, as mistakes themselves are bound to happen.

And why that wrong choice, boils down to human nature, I guess.

This right here is one thing we don't have control over. At some point, I had to accept this fact because; sometimes, these "wrong decisions" help to aid our general growth and realisation. They may be terrible decisions now but few years from now , we could look back and appreciate ourselves for handling these decisions splendidly.

Well said. The mistakes you make now are what will push you to reflect over the outcomes of certain actions or inactions and decide whether moving forward, those are the right things to do now. And to me, that is a sign of growth. Learning from past experiences.

Congratulations @depressedfuckup! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 3500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 4000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - June 15, 2023