WE91 PROMPT TOPIC. CAN I LIVE WITHOUT...?//¿PUEDO VIVIR SIN...?. ENGLISH/ESPAÑOL

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago

It's another beautiful day in the land of the living. I feel totally privileged to be taking this air for free. How are you all today? How's the weekend going? I'd like to know. Leave your comments 😁.

Es otro hermoso día en la tierra de los vivos. Me siento totalmente privilegiado por tomar este aire de forma gratuita. ¿Cómo estáis todos hoy? ¿Cómo va el fin de semana? Me gustaría saberlo. Dejad vuestros comentarios 😁.

Thank you @galenkp for the opportunity to put down what I thought about years ago on this platform.

Gracias @galenkp por la oportunidad de poner lo que pensaba hace años en esta plataforma.

You can follow the link at the end of my blog to participate in this prompt. Be sure to read and follow the rules.

Puedes seguir el enlace al final de mi blog para participar en este prompt. Asegúrate de leer y seguir las reglas.

I thought about this particular topic years ago when I stumbled on the video of a man without arms and legs. Turns out he was a pastor. I was totally floored at how such a man could be "incomplete" and still gain traffic. I was taken and it prompted me to ask myself, "what if I lost my arms and legs? What if I lost a part of my body? Would I still be able to make the difference like this man?"

Pensé en este tema en particular hace años cuando me topé con el vídeo de un hombre sin brazos ni piernas. Resulta que era un pastor. Me quedé totalmente sorprendido de cómo un hombre así podía estar "incompleto" y seguir ganando tráfico. Me quedé prendado y me hizo preguntarme: "¿Qué pasaría si perdiera los brazos y las piernas? ¿Y si perdiera una parte de mi cuerpo? ¿Seguiría siendo capaz de marcar la diferencia como este hombre?".

pexels-photo-3601094.jpeg
Source

Of course, I am not going to be able to answer that unless I mysteriously loose a part of me. The topic also deals in a way with this. Would I choose to loose my arms or legs? Why that choice? How would it affect you? How would you move forward?

Por supuesto, no voy a poder responder a eso a menos que pierda misteriosamente una parte de mí. El tema también trata en cierto modo de esto. ¿Elegiría perder los brazos o las piernas? ¿Por qué esa elección? ¿Cómo le afectaría? ¿Cómo seguiría adelante?

After much pondering today, I decided I'd prefer to give up my legs. I know. I love my legs! But desperate situations, desperate measures. Why would I decide to loose my legs over my arms?

Después de meditarlo mucho hoy, he decidido que prefiero renunciar a mis piernas. Lo sé. Me encantan mis piernas!. Pero a situaciones desesperadas, medidas desesperadas. ¿Por qué iba a decidir perder mis piernas antes que mis brazos?

Of course loosing my legs would break me. I love sport. Not being able to jog, do my cardio and maximize the gym would be a huge disappointment. Not being able to take that stroll, not being able to leap and do my famous "chicken" dance would be a big blow. Yet, there are lot more vantages keeping my arms.

Por supuesto que perder mis piernas me rompería. Me encanta el deporte. No poder correr, hacer mi cardio y maximizar el gimnasio sería una gran decepción. No poder dar ese paseo, no poder saltar y hacer mi famoso baile del "pollo" sería un gran golpe. Sin embargo, hay muchas más ventajas de mantener mis brazos.

pexels-photo-1204135.jpeg
Source

One major set back for me in loosing my legs is not being able to do the things I love. I have listed them above but hobbies can change right?

Una de las principales desventajas de perder las piernas es no poder hacer las cosas que me gustan. Las he enumerado más arriba, pero las aficiones pueden cambiar, ¿verdad?

Keeping my arms would mean I could still work, help my mom and blog too. Of course I'd be on a wheelchair, won't feel my legs but so what? I can still move around. I may not be able to actively join everyone at the gym but I can still sit on my butt and do a sit up. I can still use my arms to wheel myself forward and help mom to serve in the store. All the better if it's an electric one. Haha. I could still write and sell my story. I could go on errands and I could still very well eat my food myself, do the laundry, cook, wash the dishes. I could still play an instrument. The only downside; I won't be able to walk. It's a fair deal to me. Yes, the insecurities would kick in, the pity and side glances. Would I let it keep me down forever? Of course the way we deal with certain things is the same way they'd deal with us.

Mantener los brazos significaría que podría seguir trabajando, ayudar a mi madre y escribir en el blog. Por supuesto, estaría en una silla de ruedas y no sentiría las piernas, pero ¿y qué? Puedo seguir moviéndome. Puede que no sea capaz de unirme a todo el mundo en el gimnasio, pero aún puedo sentarme sobre mi trasero y hacer una sentadilla. Todavía puedo usar mis brazos para avanzar y ayudar a mamá a servir en la tienda. Tanto mejor si es una eléctrica. Jaja. Todavía puedo escribir y vender mi historia. Podría ir a hacer recados y aún podría comer yo mismo, lavar la ropa, cocinar, lavar los platos. Todavía podría tocar un instrumento. El único inconveniente: no podré caminar. Para mí es un trato justo. Sí, las inseguridades aparecerían, la lástima y las miradas de reojo. ¿Dejaría que eso me mantuviera deprimido para siempre? Por supuesto, la forma en que nos enfrentamos a ciertas cosas es la misma forma en que ellos se enfrentarían a nosotros.

What I'll do is make the most of it. No one is saying it'll be easy. Heck, I don't even know if I'd be able to move forward from that but it doesn't hurt to hope does it?

Lo que voy a hacer es aprovechar al máximo. Nadie dice que vaya a ser fácil. Ni siquiera sé si seré capaz de salir adelante, pero no está de más tener esperanzas, ¿verdad?

pexels-photo-4064229.jpeg
Source

But I do know I'll still keep doing things I love. Because I have my arms, I can still work, Blog and do basic stuff. I've seen people in a wheelchair working in offices, being teachers, being managers and even encouraging the disabled too. I'd find a group that I could work with. Just like the man with no arms and legs, his impact can't be denied. It can't be overlooked. He is married to a really beautiful woman and has a son (the last I checked it was just one). So what would be stopping me from making a difference? I love to write, so I'll totally sell my story.

Pero sí sé que seguiré haciendo las cosas que me gustan. Como tengo mis brazos, puedo seguir trabajando, escribiendo en el blog y haciendo cosas básicas. He visto a gente en silla de ruedas trabajando en oficinas, siendo profesores, siendo directivos e incluso animando a los discapacitados también. Encontraría un grupo con el que podría trabajar. Al igual que el hombre sin brazos ni piernas, no se puede negar su impacto. No se puede pasar por alto. Está casado con una mujer realmente hermosa y tiene un hijo (la última vez que lo comprobé era sólo uno). Entonces, ¿qué me impide marcar la diferencia? Me encanta escribir, así que venderé mi historia.

pexels-photo-4064696.jpeg
Source

Circumstances are made to be there. Problems are inevitable. The truth is we'll never grow without them. That's why our response matters. I'd like to believe that my response would be totally positive.

Las circunstancias están hechas para estar ahí. Los problemas son inevitables. La verdad es que nunca creceremos sin ellos. Por eso nuestra respuesta es importante. Me gustaría creer que mi respuesta sería totalmente positiva.

Many thanks to all who've come this far in reading. To those who are now curious and want to know what this is all about (as I promised at the beginning of this article), you can click this Link and join the fun.

Muchas gracias a todos los que han llegado hasta aquí leyendo. A los que ahora tienen curiosidad y quieren saber de qué va todo esto (como prometí al principio de este artículo), pueden hacer clic en este enlace y unirse a la diversión.

Translated using DeepL

THANKS FOR READING, SAYONARA!

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

The arms are clearly more important to you.
Nice post!
Although I think you made your legs feel less than

They are no less but when you're forced to make a decision, would you not weigh the pros and cons?

If I asked you to choose between which you'd destroy between your laptop or phone, wouldn't you sit down and ponder which is better and would work best for you and your future? That's exactly what I did. I sat and thought. My legs are still of great value to me

Your answer is very inspirational and I love that you would turn it into as positive a situation as you could.

Thank you for supporting the #weekend-engagement posting topics concept WE91

91.png

original im src

Thank you for your support ❤️

God will not allow you to loose any part of your body my sister in the lord

Plus please show me your chicken dance
Pleeeeeeessssseeeee

LMAO. There's no way I'm opening my secret 😂