You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Good Weekend, Good Day

I have no idea what we will do with grandma’s stuff. So far I have really only packed up her clothes, purses and linens to be donated to a charity shop. It is hard to know what to do with the rest. A lot of it is very nice, but mom won’t be around too much longer to enjoy it. And I have no kids to pass things to. So do I keep another set of China dishes or 50 perfume bottles when I either have my own or no place to put the stuff?

So far we (dad & me) have been taking little things to our respective homes that either he and mom or me and my husband want (like family photos, jewelry, I found a silver plate with my name engraved on it). And I have been “shopping” her pantry. Like I take home dumb things like her TP, Kleenex, some cereal and a bottle of vanilla extract. 😄

Over the weekend I was into some more sentimental things, and am at a loss for what to do. For example, I found mom’s baby shoes. And grandma has a painted portrait of their family dog. It feels weird getting rid of this stuff. But what will it do other than sit in a box in my garage until I die one day?

I will probably save grandma’s china and crystal to give to my cousin’s kids when they are older. My cousins are all on my dad’s side so not related to grandma, but at least there is some connection there.

There is also a vintage / antique store near me where I might try to sell some things. When my parent’s give the OK I might also offer that friends and family can come by to take anything they might like. (It is also weird/hard because I have to take care of all the dispersal, but all of the stuff now belongs to mom. So she and dad want to approve what I am doing. Which just makes the whole process more drawn out due to mom’s condition.

Ha ha! This reply is so long it is its own post! (Obviously what to do with everything is weighing on my mind!) 😄

Sort:  

I take it there are no sibings or cousins to help you out? It's really tough having to do all this by yourself. Some things like raiding her pantry or any consumables is much easier and practical. But memorable stuff that only means something to you and your mum won't mean much to anyone else. You almost feel guilty throwing them away. Hopefully friends and family will pick up a lot of things. Personally I think as long as they go to someone who appreciates it, then it retains it's value and worth.

My grandma had a half brother that died in the 1950’s (single and childless). Mom is an only child and so am I. So it is just me going through things.

One of these days I will send my husband to watch mom, so dad and I can finally decide what we are keeping and then everything else can finally be packed out. My parents are getting ready to sell grandma’s place so the timeline is going to speed up soon! 😄