You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 59: The invite

I would like to invite my childhood best friend for dinner. Yesterday, her dog died, and all I could do was send a generic sorry message. We were never like this. We used to talk for hours. it hurt that we drifted apart this much. I miss us. I want to talk to her through the night over some delicious food.

Sort:  

Oh no! Losing a pet is such a difficult thing to go through and having someone around to share the pain with helps so much! It's a shame you drifted apart but that happens sometimes although it doesn't mean you'll not become close again.

It would be nice to sit for a meal with her and reminisce about the good old days, her dog and of course to set the tone for the future.

Of course, you have said it all. Sitting in a round table to set things right should be the best.

Its such an emotional monument for your best friend. Talking away at dinner will surely help out. Relationships for me are gems, must not be ended abruptly.

some dont end, they just fade.

So true, we just grow apart.

Hmm I am sure she 'd love your company. Losing a pet is tough.. been through that a few times now. It doesn't get better.
Hmm.. childhood friends to tend to move apart. I wish I could meet a couple of mine.

I hope so, I don't have a pet so I'm not sure how to console but I want to

Don't worry, the fact that you care would be enough. Often times loving gestures are better than words in times of grief. I wouldn't have liked anyone to talk to me when I lost my pet, but I would have loved to have my friends just hang around with me.

I'm sorry to hear about her pet. Hope you both can sit down together and I'm sure she will feel good when you are with her during this tough time.

Thanks, I don't know what I'll say but I just want to sit down with her.

One will truly feel sad after losing a pet. Inviting him for a dinner is the best option.