You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 62: Skills you have or want

I want to learn Spanish! Its a skill I don't possess. I can speak French, German, some Italian and a smattering of other languages. For some reason I have a mind block against Spanish. Nothing I can put my finger on. I lived in Spain, I lived on the Mexican border and I have spent a lot of time in South America, although they do speak a lot of Portuguese there. I cannot grasp the language. I have taken classes upon classes and I had merged myself into the culture. I think it's a lost cause but will somebody please give me a clue!

Sort:  

I've learnt french and I believe some root words for spanish are very similar, but maybe just download duolingo or talk to a friend here who knows spanish, how about dropping a spanish comment a day?

I have two sisters in law that are both Spanish. They think I'm an utter failure for Spanish. LOL

As a person who barely has a grasp on the single English language that I know, I personally would have thought that learning Spanish would be easy after French, with them both being romance languages. But, as I say, I barely speak English, and that's my mother tongue.

Seems ridiculous, doesn't it? I have this Mind Block and I've always had it with Spanish. For god sakes I have two sister-in-laws from Spanish countries. I have tried so hard and I do not understand it but there you have it. My big confession. I am Spanish illiterate.

If you're already hip to Italian, Spanish will be easy. There's cultural Spanish, though, like English here vs UK. Spanish in Costa Rica isn't like Spain. You know that.

Puras Spanish is stellar, far better than mine, but I was pleasantly surprised how well we could communicate in Italy because of the Spanish we she knows.

Where did you stay on the Mexican border?

Oh, good morning, sorry... Where's my manners?!

It was in Del Rio by the Sea. OK, now I am being silly. It was a desert wasteland. It was just for 6 months. I was in Phoenix and a short time in Tuscan. I have two sisters in law that are Spanish. One is from Puerto Rico and the other Mexico City. So yes. But, I can remember it for the moment and ask me in ten and it will have vanished!

Please, just speak French or German or Italian to me. My Godparents were Italian and spoke no English. My grandfather and family only spoke bastardized French and lived in the US and I lived in Germany and had to learn it to mainstream with life.

Good morning from here!

That's an exciting upbringing.

Did you say Tucson? That's what you meant by near the border?!

Great Mexican food doesn't count. 😉

LOL No. Del Rio and El Paso are right on the border. I also lived in New Mexico and San Bernadino for a quick blink.

Not my upbringing, but, after I left home. I was born and raised on the coast of Connecticut.

Great Mexican food should count!

Vale la pena luchar por todas las cosas buenas, ¡no te rindas!
And also....
Maybe it's time to rethink the way you learn the language, maybe you can learn through games, series & movies or comic books?

Vale la pena luchar por todas las cosas buenas, ¡no te rindas!

Show off 😁 I agree though.

Hmmm. I have been immersed in it for years living on the Mexican border, living in Spain... traveling to Spanish-speaking countries. Flash cards. classes...

Give up Spanish and revert to the international language of love. Guaranteed success.

I think I had been going about it in all the wrong way. :)

Sometimes one just needs a push in the right direction.

Living in a Spanish-speaking country twice should have done it. I think I am tone-deaf when it comes to Spanish. :(

As all good international-language-speakers will.

I think it should be the best, because it has happened to me. I am living in a land which is not mine or did not come from and yet just because of the passion I have in the language, I can now speak the language fluency without mistakes.

It's odd. I have an ear for most languages, but, with Spanish? It is like they are speaking pig Latin to me. It is one of the most important for me to learn as there are a lot of Spanish-speaking people in our country, and I have lived in Spanish countries.... Ugh! How embarrassing to look like the ugly American who won't try to speak their language. :(

It's not possible to learn through books. You can learn through living amongst them fluently without mistakes.

I have done that 4 times.

It means each of these trials you learnt several languages. ? You are a genius because to me I cannot try it. The place I am now is not my land and I have been here for over 15 years but yet cannot speak their language properly..

Wow. I had an opportunity to learn French in my first year at the university but constrained my ears and I wasn't able to continue. In the course, the rudiments of French was what mattered. French is a language that I got to know is beautiful, and ways taking note of the make and female gender.

Yes! I love French and all of the romance languages. They are beautifully melodic to my ears. Once I got over picking the right gender, I was golden. :)

I even have it in mind that my daughter will go for French language. I love that French speaking countries but passion cannot make me to speak French. I only did it a little when I was still in secondary school.

I would have love to speak Swahili instead.

Hmm, you sound like me! I know some languages, quite proficiently...

English, Australian, American, British, swear, a little Italian and French too...Also, the international language (of love). What can I say, boy got skillz.

I've heard Spanish is quite difficult to learn but I've never tried it myself. Well, I know one thing...Hola. And...That's all I got. :)

English, Australian, American, British

Haha! Yeah, that's my knuckleheadiness shining through. 🤔🤪

Hahaha YES!

Hahahaha... It's a good language or languages if I may say. Thank god he can speak several languages.

Oh, my God.

The boy got skillz!

My grandfather could cuss you under the table in French. He taught my brothers everything he ever knew in that department.

I can't cuss in French, but when I do it in English but use a French accent...Makes dem laydeez swoon. 😂

Haha! That is French enough. :)

Lol...Figured.

I'm a funny bugger....Or should I say strange?

That's what I keep telling people...Well, demonstrating really. Some get it, some do not.

I wish I can soeak french language as you people do, I would have love it.

Hahaha. I like to say I know Canadian, English, American, and BS, but the truth of the matter is, I'm really only proficient in the last of those.

Haha! Well, you know if you know American and English you might as well add Australian in as well...It's like American and English without the wacky accents! 😁

BS is a legit language too. I'm product.

So you mean America and English we make it wacky?

French language is interesting when compared to other languages. I just wish I can learn how to speak French. English and other languages are even more interesting than French what French is faster when spoken

I do! I even ensure that my phone's dictionary understands that "aboot" is, indeed, a correct spelling!

Hahahaha! I never heard it either, growing up. I moved to the east coast of the US some time ago and, aboot 7 years after living here when my mom came to visit I realised that, yes, we do indeed sound like hosers. 😂

Do they speak English as the general language? Or just Canada? I think they should have a common language with the Americans.

You even tried to have known several languages. I only got passion on speaking French but swayed away when I was still in secondary school just because of the way I saw the language to be.

I like French.

 3 years ago (edited) 

It is...And I'm proficient at the spoken and sign language versions. You know, the hands and all.

Lol...What can I say other than, got tools, know how to use them.

I was going to add it in there but then some smart ass might have said French so I left it out. In truth though, Canadian...Yeah, proficient.

Oh yeah, is like a second language to me. I'm very Canadaeristic.

So I felt relax when you see your fellow who speaks same language as you which is Canada.

I know a few of the colorfool phrases from 30 years of bumping the loading docks...

Chinga DA Madre..?

Ghoume' me'

Chingaaaaaloooo

I really have no clue, but I think they are potty mouth Spanish..?

untitled.gif

Haha!!! Sounds totally like it might be! :))

Yup, those are Mexican curse words. Pretty funny too. 🤣

I I they are Mexican, them you could be able to tell us what it means.

I'm Venezuelan but those are the equivalent to the "F" word.

The above should be a language but I think somebody supposed to know how to interpret it. Am I right?

They are bad words. Eff words.

I don't have the language bump. Not at all. I once had a little German but over the years I am reduced to cuss words. I've lived right up against the Mexican border and my Spanish is just slightly more than cuss words. But I pretty well have ALL of them...

Ha! And those are the only ones that people never seem to forget! What is up with that? The other is I love you because that hasn't gotten a lot of people in trouble! :)

That is great. You are a genius for still knowing those languages.

I have a friend who was a Fire Captain in Spokane. After his kids were grown and his wife tossed him (I'm not sure which of those came first) he decided he wanted to try something new so he took a years worth of Spanish at the local JC.

He then started spending his vacations in Mexico, Central and South America. He was just months from 30 years when he fell through a floor and screwed his back up something awful.

He finished his 30 without disability but the department left no doubt that he wouldn't be allowed to go on. So he rented a place in central Mexico and is writing his memoirs-in Spanish :)

No way! If that were me, I would probably have to hire someone to do it. It is that bad. :)

I know just one sentence in Spanish that's te quiero and te amo ❤️🙈

What does it mean!

It means I I LOVE YOU

See? In my head I love you was in Italian

It'll be Ti voglio bene in Italian

My favorite song is ti amo from money heist. Though I don't understand a single word but that language has surely some magical touch in it's words

Sometimes, I don't think you need to know the words. Sometimes it just sounds sexy.

If you really want to learn, you definitely should find a way to do so, @dswigle. I do as well and I keep thinking that one day I'm going to fully commit and listen to language lessons on Audible. Like you, I've tried a few things and failed, and I think it would take a complete commitment and daily practice. Gee, if we could just carve out an extra couple of hours daily...! No clue where they would come from!

You're probably not going to believe this. I have two sisters-in-law that are from Spanish speaking countries. I lived in Spain. I will send prayers and Spanish classes twice. I took an immersion program. I lived Mexican border states, New Mexico Texas and Arizona and California. I have not sure what I can do as I had no trouble with German or French nor Italian however, you can talk to me in Spanish and I'll answer you in Italian. I don't think Spanish. How bizarre

Hey! I can help you with that. I need someone to get back on my German learning and besides I'm a language teacher, so perks perks, ha, ha, ha. But seriously learn Spanish, it is a pretty cool language!

Running a relay of tone deaf in some languages, picking up a smattering helps go a long way, just be sure they not teaching you the wrong smatterings to repeat 😉

I have always been tone-deaf to Spanish. I cannot explain it. I have no trouble with any other languages including Italian, French, and Geman.

Thanks the best skills you have acquired. It is not easy to learn those languages, but you have dim it fit to learn those languages. I'm sure you will learn the Spanish language in due time, that is if you focus.