You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-Engagement - My favorite weekend getaway on the planet, Australia / My country South Africa

I am sad for you. Africa has always had an exciting air to it. I was involved in the start-up of a girls' orphanage in Kenya when it was unsafe to be a girl or a human being there. There were two of them and eventually they were burnt to the ground. :( It was my first real interaction of that kind. That the government could sit and watch it happen was beyond my comprehension. After the second one was burned down and pillaged, we never started up and the girls were farmed out to other communities. It was a difficult task to start with and the paperwork for starting a nonprofit not on our soil was a series of hurdles for impossible lengths of time.

Long story short as this IS your story, your country is an incredible place, the crime is horrendous, but, a good clean government will take most of the problems away. Or it will put it back on the right track. I am actually too afraid to go back there, and I find that sad. :( Either I am getting old or maybe smarter, staying out of places that don't feel safe.

I always think of you and Joan and Lizelle and so many others, hoping you stay safe. The world is a crazy place right now.

Sort:  

You are so right @dswigle Africa is a very dangerous place, only thing is once you have it in your blood it's a difficult thing to get out of. We are hoping for a new clean government after the elections, but they are so corrupt and rig the votes, also the uneducated and poverty ridden people get bribed with a T- shirt and a bag of mielie meal to vote for them, then are left to their own demise, it's so sad, with all that, we have such a beautiful country, thank you so much for stopping by.

There has been big talk of the last few elections being rigged here and the vast poverty of the immigrants they allowed in with no way to support themselves have been their ace in the hole. Nothing buys votes like poverty that is fed small things for big votes. :(

It is disgusting to watch this happening here.

Absolutely agree, the same thing happened here, if it is allowed it will only get worse unfortunately. Sadly, it's the children that suffer, our country has deteriorated so much in the 25 years the ANC has been in power, and we have China doing stuff in the dark too. We need a good clean up world wide I think. We just don't go out at night. When I went to Australia, my daughter kept on telling me to relax , i'm not in Africa, Lol! One builds a sort of inbuilt self protection , I don't even know how to explain it.
I loved Australia, I felt safe and free there. Thanks @dswigle for the chat. Go well and be safe.