[WE112] Back in Fashion

It's another weekend! I am so excited to join again the "Weekend-engagement Concept" initiated by @galenkp. For this week, I have chosen the question under "Back in Fashion" :

Is there an out-of-fashion item you would like to come back in to fashion? I'd say manners if I was answering this, but what about you? Is it clothing, a type of music or hair style, a tradition or way of life? What would you like to come back into fashion and why?

img_0.6398898478680084

Photo by Jordan Benton

If I were to think of something that I would like to come back into fashion in this present time, I have thought of two points:

  1. Bring back the time when kids love to soak their time playing outside with other kids than using their gadgets all day long; and
  2. Bring back the right manners among the young generations.

Our world is ever evolving and with the advancement of technology, we usually do things at ease. We no longer need to complain about doing things manually as we are surrounded by jaw-dropping innovations that could help us finish things in a snap such as doing research, making work tasks, and so much more. Almost everything is heaven for mankind. It seems like people are already living in a wonderland if we were to compare it to the previous times when almost everything takes time to do. Our technology these days could also entertain us in so many ways.

img_0.2867574598680086

Photo by 霍天赐

Moreover, with the advancement of technology, I have seen changes, especially in the younger ones. For instance, even 2-3-year-old children already know how to operate phones and watch their favorite videos on video streaming sites. They already know how to play games on their parent's phones or even tablets. Older kids around 5 or older can even play the strategic games available in their phones' app store and a lot more things that kids from the previous generations never get to experience when they were the same as their age. In short, technology has indeed blessed the younger generations of today as exploring gadgets is a piece of cake for them.

However, given those situations, I have seen downsides as well in terms of the children's ways. They tend to embrace the love that they have for gadgets that they can stay in their houses all day without socializing with other kids in their neighborhood. They can play their favorite games all day without minding the environment they are surrounded by. It seems like gadgets are what makes them happy alone and they no longer need playmates as they are already contented with the gadgets they are holding.

img_0.36409080849632436

Photo by Tima Miroshnichenko

Given that, I have come to a point, that if I would like something to come back into fashion again these days, that would be seeing most of the kids enjoying their childhood playing with other kids without using gadgets.

Don't get me wrong, I am not bitter about the technology that we have especially that I am also one of the billions of people all around the world that benefited from the advancement of technology.

The truth is, I want to bring back the days when I see kids enjoying their childhood like the old times.

Times when kids laugh so hard while playing traditional games in their neighborhood such as hide-and-seek, playhouse, simulation games, and so much more. For us Filipinos, I miss seeing children playing "Tumbang Preso", " Chinese Garter", "Jackstones", " Dampa", "Sticker Game" and a lot more. I want to see the children enjoying their childhood with great memories. I want to see the children laugh with their playmates through the games that they play together. I want them to experience how it feels like to be a kid and not rely so much on technology in their younger years.

img_0.18536543456991203

Photo by cottonbro

Furthermore, my only wish for the world is that kids would be just kids, enjoying what it feels like to be one. I want them to have a special memory to look back on when they get older. I'm afraid that if kids would allow themselves to be isolated with their gadgets alone without socializing with others, it would affect them. So I hope that the world would magically bring back how the kids play; like the old times even amidst this modern world.

Aside from the point that I have stated above, there is another thing that I would like to come back into fashion in our generation these days and that would be Good Manners.

I have been teaching for 4 years now and I could say that in terms of the manners of the children these days, it's far cry from what we had from the previous times and even the past generations. I have noticed that kids (not all) these days lack the right manners.

img_0.5991479797023425

Photo by RODNAE Productions

For instance, kids these days no longer greet their teachers "Good morning!" or even "Good afternoon!", instead if they tend to see a teacher, they would just ignore them as if they haven't seen anyone. I mean, I don't generalize everyone as there are still kids with manners. But it's just so different from the previous times when we saw teachers, we would run towards them greet them good morning/afternoon with a bow, and help them with their stuff.

Another thing is that, back then, we respect our teachers a lot, but then right now, I feel sad seeing other kids who no longer respect teachers that much.

Given that, my only wish is to bring back the right manners for the kids. If they will be able to have the manners like before, for sure they will grow up with the right manners as well. How wonderful it would be to see kids having the right manners, it's a truly great happiness for a teacher like me to see kids that way.

img_0.7187343936292283

Photo by Aram Sabah

So those are the things that I would want this world to bring in fashion again. I know that it would be hard to achieve if I wish the world to apply it, but who knows one-day things will be on our side. Moreover, I wish the best for the world, especially for the younger generations.


This is an entry of @galenkp 's Weekend-Engagement Concept Week 112. If you want to submit your entries too, you may find the guidelines here.

Have a great day everyone and Happy Weekend!

Sort:  

WE THX IM.png

The original #weekend-engagement concept by @galenkp featured in the
WEEKEND EXPERIENCES community.

Image belongs to @galenkp

I would love to bring those games back to life!
Ahhh, the joy whenever we play those games before. I used to sneak because my parents won't allow me to go out haha
Good ol' days!

I am fortunate enough that I am able to experience playing with children in our neighborhood. If I am correct thats around 2007 to 2012. But due to rapid advancement of technology in our place, those children slowly got addicted with gadgets and online games.

Medyo nakakasad lang kasi isa kami sa mga last batch ng kabataan na nakaranas non hahaha. Sana di nalang ako tumanda

Congratulations @erikasue! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2022

Congratulations @erikasue! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The 8th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!
Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2022

Indeed. Children these days will choose to play with their gadgets than playing physically with other kids. I'm having trouble with my kid with that matter also since I wasn't with her often to guide her. When my siblings are busy, they'll just gave her a phone to play with and she already got addicted. You know kids, when the thing they want was taken away from them, they'll have tantrums. It's a struggle to discipline a toddler. 🤧

My parents taught me manners, tita and I don't like kids like me who are stubborn and rude and mean to other people. Makes me angry.