Nobody wins but I.

cards.png

I have spent a lot of time and hive trying to understand blackjack or playing dice in hive slot games. I lost far more than I won. But I still find these games very exciting. I know that too much gambling like any other addiction can be bad and even ruin lifes. With that beeing said I think that if done in moderation gamling is fun and harmless. I think of blackjack in a similar way I think about a difficult puzzle. I think that understanding how it works and finally solving it is interesting and thrilling. After all this time I still have not conquered this challenge. But it seems like I made some progress and now understand and recognize some situations in blackjack. But more than dice or blackjack I think that life itself is a big risk gamble. Every decision we make and every step we make is bigger or smaller gamble. Buying a car or a house. Buying crypto, becoming an artist or a blogger. Asking a girl out on date. Believing or not believing in gods... Everywhere around us are a risky situations in which we hope to achieve a positive outcome. In other words life itself is a gamble we just don't think about it this way. I not only enjoy gambling but to watch other people struggle as well. I like watching anime and gambling animes One Outs and Kaiji are among my favorites. I really enjoy watching people play mind games on each other. And these two animes are true gems of mind playing. I highly recommend them both. So while I recognize that people can lose families and savings while gambling at the same time it can be fun, challenging and thrilling. But in the end I think that life itself is a gamble so it is not possible to escape from gambling whatever I like to gamble or not. So I might as well try to enjoy it while it last and see what is in the cards for me...

Sort:  

Hmmm but it depends on your definition of gambling. If we look at the definition online it says like staking something of value with risk or gain on the outcome of an uncertain event. O.O

Buying a car or house has a risk like you said but I don't think it's gambling. You're for sure receiving a car and house. There are elements of it that are certain. if you're making a bet to somehow win a car or house that's a different story because you're depending on chance and there's no certainty you will actually receive the car or house?

This is my opinion though. I could be wrong though but at least this is what I see from my perspective.

there still is a risk that house or car will be made poorly. Or that it will lose value...

I think you feel that risk = gambling which is not true.

The nature of it is different because in gambling you're determining based on chance whereas everything in life has risk but these risks can be managed and calculated. Like you can can diversify your investment portfolio to hedge against each other in the loss of value.

basically you have more control over the things that happen. your houses loses value you can remodel it etc.

If you make a bet tho how can u control that. You can't force a blackjack or force good flops in poker etc

I think that gambling involves not only risk but also hope for reward. So things like buying crypto fit that definition.

You can't force a blackjack or force good flops in poker etc.

But some people can memorize/ count(?) cards. So they can have some control.

I see I guess it's fine then if that's your definition of gambling. I guess for blackjack you can't count cards it does help but even then they have to play a number of games to win or something I forgot. Crypto yes I would agree if people are doing alt coins or memecoins but I think top coins like btc, eth aren't really gambling

Hmm
Houses, cars and all are like investments to me. They aren’t gambling but I can see car as a liability. That’s what I feel though. I’ve always tried to gamble but I’ve never been lucky

Cars can lose value and you may need to sell house on a loss as well. So I think that it is both investment and a gamble.