You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 44: See || Hear || Feel - Win HIVE

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago (edited)

I’ve thought about this. Saw the question from last night but couldn’t decide. Somehow it seems clear to me now. First of all, if I had a choice, I’d want this “giving up a sense” thing to be a timed activity.😂 I could bear it for a few minutes or seconds. If permanently...
Sight has to stay. I need to see all the colors of this life. Love to travel, see different places, see people, see family, see my burger when it’s ready, all the colorful fruits, see all the beautiful flowers, watch a movie...
Touch has to stay too. I’m actually a bit surprised so many gave it up. Lol
I need to touch and feel the water at the beach, that warm blanket, that fuzzy teddy bear, warm water, warm cup of tea. Nothing like a good hug, cuddle, kiss...I could take this further but let’s stop here. The sense of touch is very important.
Hearing, if I’ve thought about it well enough, I could do without. I love music and would miss hearing it but I could rely on those songs with specific dance moves, I’d see the moves and know what to do. I’d already know how to respond to flashing lights from an ambulance. I’d do better at reading lips. Would be able to “see what one’s saying”. Could always use, “Say that again”. I had/have the experience of living in a system with a language I almost totally didn’t understand. I could hear but was basically “deaf”. Couldn't understand a thing but sight helped a lot. I imagine that like losing any other, I’d just learn to cope and the other senses would become sharper.

Sort:  

I chose hearing too! The thing I would mIss the most would be music.

Posted using Dapplr

Yeah. I think we'd really miss the music. Guess we'd have to rely a lot on memory and create our own rhythms. 😃

It would be such a difficult choice to have to make in real life right? There's so much to lose with the loss of just one sense.

Yes, it would really be a difficult decision. It's good to actually stop and think about it. Good brain activity. Feeling grateful for my senses.😅