WE93: When I grow up I want to... [ENG/SPA]

English

Greetings to all, fellow weekenders. These great days are for resting and recharging energies, as another week will soon begin; unfortunately, they go by very fast, so we have to make the most of them. What better way to make the most of them than to get involved with WE93, in which we are given several topics to write about, all as thoughtful as they are interesting. I chose the first one:

One: When I grow up I want to...


As children we all had ambitions to be and do certain things as adults. Do you remember yours? (I wanted to be a fireman). Tell us about what you wanted to be when you grew up, and why. Did you attain your goal and if not why not? If you managed to achieve your desired result, what did you do to make it happen and how did you stay on track.

Although as a child I wanted to be a doctor, and I didn't achieve it, I think I will tell you something of more importance that I wanted to be since I was a child, something that has nothing to do with any profession...

Español

Saludos a todos, compañeros del fin de semana. Estos días tan geniales son para descansar y recargar energías, pues pronto comenzará otra semana; lamentablemente, pasan muy rápido, así que hay que aprovecharlos al máximo. Qué mejor manera de aprovecharlos que involucrarse con el WE93, en el que se nos da varios tópicos para escribir, todos tan reflexivos como interesantes. Yo elegí el primero:

Uno: Cuando sea mayor quiero...


Cuando éramos niños todos teníamos la ambición de ser y hacer ciertas cosas cuando fuéramos adultos. ¿Recuerdas las tuyas? (Yo quería ser bombero). Cuéntanos qué querías ser de mayor y por qué. ¿Conseguiste tu objetivo y, si no, por qué no? Si conseguiste alcanzar lo que querías, ¿qué hiciste para lograrlo y cómo te mantuviste en el camino?

Aunque de pequeño quería ser médico, y no lo logré, creo que les comentaré algo de más importancia que quería ser desde pequeño, algo que no tiene que ver con alguna profesión…


1.jpg
Source


When I was little I had many desires to be an independent and responsible adult. Yes, from an early age I wondered what I would be like as an adult, would I stop playing with dolls, with my toys, would I be a sourpuss like my uncle or my dad, would I be a sourpuss like my uncle or my dad, would I be a sourpuss like my uncle or my dad? These were things I remember asking myself when I was a kid; not when I was very young, because I remember those issues, but I wasn't old enough to be completely clear about what I would do with my life.

Why did I want to be an independent and responsible adult? You see, from a young age I saw many things in my family, like mistakes and frustrations that I understood and didn't want to see reflected in my life. Yes, I thought about those things a lot as a child.

I'll start by telling you about something that can be included in what it is to be a responsible adult. You see, my parents divorced when my brother and I were young; my father was unfaithful to my mother so the separation was the best thing for both of us.

Cuando era pequeño tenía muchos deseos de ser un adulto independiente y responsable. Sí, desde corta edad me preguntaba ¿cómo seré de adulto? ¿Dejaré de jugar con muñecos, con mis juguetes? ¿Seré un amargado como mi tío o mi papá? Eran cosas que recuerdo haberme planteado cuando era un niño; no cuando era muy pequeño, pues recuerdo esos temas, pero no era lo suficientemente grande como para tener completamente claro lo que haría con mi vida.

¿Por qué quería ser un adulto independiente y responsable? Verán, desde pequeño vi muchas cosas en mi familia, como errores y frustraciones que entendía y no quería ver reflejadas en mi vida. Sí, de niño pensaba mucho en esas cosas.

Comenzaré comentándoles algo que se puede incluir dentro de lo que es ser un adulto responsable. Verán, mis padres se divorciaron cuando mi hermano y yo éramos pequeños; mi padre le fue infiel a mi madre así que la separación fue lo mejor para ambos.


divorce-2753151_960_720.jpg
Source


On many occasions I saw how much my mother suffered because of this separation, although I never said anything to her about it. My brother also had a hard time and was very affected by not having a father figure to lean on during his childhood; of course, it also affected me greatly. Now, having gone through this made me promise myself, since I was a child, that I would never be a womanizing, immoral and much less unfaithful man. I promised myself that I would be a one-woman man and although I am single today, this way of thinking remains intact.

Something else that has to do with my goal of being a responsible adult has to do with the death of my grandfather. My grandfather was a man with a very difficult character to get along with, strict like many grandfathers of long ago; yet, he had a big problem and that is that he was, in his own words, an adventurer. He loved traveling and partying, drinking and partying. All these excesses of his youth he put aside as time went by, but the bad habit of smoking took its toll on him when he reached a certain age.

En muchas ocasiones vi lo mucho que sufrió mi madre por esta separación, aunque nunca le dije nada al respecto. Mi hermano también la pasó mal y le afectó mucho el no tener una figura paterna en quien apoyarse durante su niñez; desde luego, a mí también me afecto en gran manera. Ahora bien, haber pasado por esto me hizo prometerme a mí mismo, desde pequeño, que nunca sería un hombre mujeriego, inmoral y mucho menos infiel. Me prometí que sería hombre de una sola mujer y aunque hoy por hoy estoy soltero, esta manera de pensar se mantiene intacta.

Algo más que tiene que ver con mi objetivo de ser un adulto responsable, tiene que ver con la muerte de mi abuelo. Mi abuelo fue un hombre de carácter muy difícil de llevar, estricto como muchos abuelos de tiempo atrás; aún así, tenía un gran problema y es que era, en sus propias palabras, un aventurero. Le encantaba viajar y andar en fiestas, tomando y festejando. Todos estos excesos de su juventud los dejó a un lado con el paso del tiempo, pero el mal hábito del cigarro le pasó factura cuando llegó a cierta edad.


cigarette-1270516_960_720.jpg
Source


According to what my aunts tell me, when my grandfather was diagnosed with lung cancer, he simply let it die. He did not assimilate it, he did not accept it and he did not fight against the disease, he simply let it kill him in a very short time.

My grandfather died when I was a child and until that day, when he died, I had never seen my mother or my aunt and uncle cry. Seeing them like that had a great impact on me, these are things you don't forget. That's why I promised myself that I would lead a life away from any kind of vices, be it cigarettes, alcohol and the like. So far, I'm doing well with that.

Según me cuentan mis tías, cuando a mi abuelo le diagnosticaron cáncer de pulmón, él simplemente se dejó morir. No lo asimiló, no lo aceptó y no luchó contra la enfermedad, simplemente dejó que esta acabara con él en muy poco tiempo.

Mi abuelo murió cuando yo era niño y hasta ese día, cuando murió, nunca había visto ni a mi madre ni a mis tíos llorar. Verlos así me impactó mucho, son cosas que no se olvidan. Por ello me prometí a mi mismo que llevaría una vida alejada de cualquier tipo de vicios, fuese cigarro, alcohol y similares. Hasta ahora, voy bien con eso.


flowers-4839339_960_720.jpg
Source


Something else that made me want to be a responsible adult when I grew up was something I did to my mother. Like every kid, I loved (and love) toys. Back in the day, I saw a couple of Master of the Universe dolls in a toy store, especially some He-Man and Skeletor ones. Well, several relatives gave me an allowance from time to time, so I decided to gather all the money to buy these dolls myself, since my family was not exactly wealthy.

Eventually I managed to collect some, but they were very expensive and I could not even afford to buy one. One day, I saw in a place where my mother kept her money a bill with which I could buy the dolls, so I took it. I didn't think I would be discovered and I gave the money to my aunt so she could buy me the doll. Obviously I was discovered and my mom scolded me.

Algo más que me hizo querer ser un adulto responsable cuando creciera, fue algo que le hice a mi madre. Como todo niño, me encantaban (y me encantan) los juguetes. En esos tiempos vi en una juguetería un par de muñecos de Master of the Universe, especialmente unos de He-Man y Skeletor. Pues bien, varios familiares me daban una mesada cada cierto tiempo, así que decidí reunir todo el dinero para comprarme yo mismo estos muñecos, pues mi familia no era precisamente adinerada.

Con el tiempo logré reunir algo, pero eran muy caros y no me alcanzaba ni para comprar uno. Cierto día, vi en un lugar donde mi madre guardaba su dinero un billete con el que podría comprarme los muñecos, así que lo tomé. No pensé que me descubrirían y le di el dinero a mi tía para que me comprara el muñeco. Obviamente me descubrieron y mi mamá me regañó.


money-3115984_960_720.jpg
Source


She didn't punish me or anything, she just stood crying in front of me and said "I'm not raising no thief". Those words scarred me and since then I promised myself that I would never raise my hand to take something that didn't belong to me. So far I have lived up to that very well, I have a clear conscience.

There are other things that, as a child, prompted me to want to be a responsible adult, but these are the ones I would like to discuss. Now, as far as being an independent adult I think there are a couple of things I can mention.

There are many young people who want to be independent so they don't have to be accountable to anyone, have "freedom" to do whatever they want or just not have to listen to nagging from anyone. Well, my motivations for this were clear to me when I was just over 14 years old, when I was about to graduate from high school. I knew what I wanted.

No me castigó ni nada, simplemente se puso a llorar frente a mí y me dijo “Yo no estoy criando a ningún ladrón”. Esas palabras me marcaron y desde entonces me prometí que nunca levantaría la mano para tomar algo que no me perteneciera. Hasta ahora he cumplido muy bien con eso, tengo mi conciencia tranquila.

Hay otras cosas que, de niño, me impulsaron a querer ser un adulto responsable, pero estas son las que me gustaría comentar. Ahora bien, en lo que respecta a ser un adulto independiente creo que hay un par de cosas que puedo mencionar.

Hay muchos jóvenes que quieren ser independientes para no tener que rendir cuentas a nadie, tener “libertad” para hacer todo lo que quieran o simplemente no tener que escuchar regaños de nadie. Pues bien, mis motivaciones para esto las tuve claras ya cuando tenía poco más de 14 años, cuando estuve pronto a graduarme de bachillerato. Sabía lo que quería.


student-1647136_960_720.jpg
Source


First, I wanted to be an independent adult because I didn't want to be a burden on the family, like many young people I knew at that age; I also wanted to become independent so that I could form a family away from my mother's home. You see, my mother and many of my uncles never left the maternal home and that brought them many problems and, in a way, prevented them from becoming independent and forming their own family or, in short, having a partner and a separate home. Two of my uncles never married and another of my aunts married after forty.

Having evaluated this silently, with my young mind of about 14 years, I told myself that I would study and prepare myself to be not only a responsible adult, but also an independent adult.

It was not easy, the road had many difficulties and bitter times, but today I believe I have achieved my goal of being independent and responsible. I live alone, I can support myself and I am responsible with my obligations, I also take care to collaborate with the family that helped me to get to where I am, those are not to be forgotten...

Primero, quería ser un adulto independiente porque no ser una carga para la familia, como muchos jóvenes que a esa edad conocía; también quería independizarme para poder formar una familia alejada del hogar materno. Verán, mi madre y muchos de mis tíos nunca abandonaron el hogar materno y eso les trajo muchos problemas y, en cierta forma, les impidió independizarse y formar su propia familia o, en definitiva, tener una pareja y un hogar aparte. Dos de mis tíos nunca se casaron y otra de mis tías se casó después de los cuarenta.

Habiendo evaluado esto en silencio, con mi joven mente de aproximadamente 14 años, me dije que estudiaría y me prepararía para ser no solo un adulto responsable, sino también un adulto independiente.

No fue fácil, el camino tuvo muchas dificultades y ratos amargos, pero hoy por hoy creo que he logrado mi objetivo de ser independiente y responsable. Vivo solo, puedo mantenerme por mi mismo y soy responsable con mis obligaciones, también me ocupo en colaborar con la familia que me ayudó a llegar a donde estoy, esos no hay que olvidarlos…


soap-bubbles-937270_960_720.jpg
Source


I like to think that children are not stupid. They are innocent and sometimes they say things that might make us think they are stupid, but no; children are very intelligent, they analyze things, they observe and realize situations that you think they don't understand. The environment in which children grow up can greatly influence what they will want to be in the future, either as professionals or as a person....

Well friends, that's all for now. I hope you found this personal writing interesting or at least entertaining. I invite you to leave your opinions below in the comments, as always I will be happy to read them. With nothing more to add, I'll say goodbye then...

See you next time!

Me gusta pensar que los niños no son tontos. Son inocentes y a veces dicen cosas que podrían hacernos pensar que son tontos, pero no; los niños son muy inteligentes, analizan las cosas, observan y se dan cuenta de situaciones que uno cree que no entienden. El ambiente en el que crecen los niños puede influir en gran manera en lo que desearán ser en un futuro, ya sea como profesionales o como persona…

Bien amigos, esto ha sido todo por ahora. Espero que este escrito personal les haya parecido interesante o, cuando menos, entretenido. Los invito a dejar sus opiniones abajo en los comentarios, como siempre estaré encantado de leerlos. Sin más que agregar, me despido entonces…

¡Hasta la próxima!




Traducido con DeepL

Últimos tres post/Last three posts:
Visiting the Veterinarian
Rising Star Update + Giveaway Nro 5: Win 2K Starbits (End 20 Mar)
Rising Star Update + Giveaway Nro 4: Win 2K Starbits (End 13 Mar)

Sort:  

Your involvement in #weekend-engagement WE93 is greatly appreciated by @galenkp and THE WEEKEND community team. We hope you have a great weekend and will come back again soon.

WE TFE image (1).png

Image created using canva

Great topic this week, thanks for taking my post into consideration ✌😁

Wow, a great deal post you have here @gaboamc2393. I am sorry you've had to pass through all these.But I am happy that the different happenings are shaping/have shaped you into what you may have become today to be a better person. Keep up being you.

Yes, you would think that you wouldn't want to have gone through all the things that have happened to you in life, but all of those events are what contributed to making us the person we are today. What in the past is sadness or trouble, in the future can be learning and experience. Thank you very much for reading my publication, a big hug!

Exactly, all thinhs are there to make or mar us depending on the side we react to it.
Anytime, sire

When I was a child, I want to become either a teacher. I took some education units but never finished the degree then I shifted to Psychology. Back then Psych majors are a rare sight and after our batch the school didn't offer the course anymore. .

I said to myself that I will not be into vices like alcohol and smoking as my father got diagnosed with heart problems and our finances got depleted. Still I wasn't able to finish my studies and on my 4th year I dropped as I need to support the finances. I am hoping that one day I might finish the degree and that is why I am trying to read books relating to psychology still but tuition fees and other fees to pay are astronomically high especially now that I have a kid that we need to support in their lifetime.

Hello dear fellow weekenders, thank you very much for stopping by to read my post and comment. Certainly nowadays paying for a college degree is not easy, but sometimes taking care of our family and supporting them as much as we can can can be much more satisfying than any college degree. Give your son lots of support and love, I'm sure in the future you will see that it was worth the sacrifice. A big hug!