You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 13: Ask me anything

in Weekend Experiences4 years ago

Hmm...Good question...Am I a spy?

So technically I am not an international man of mystery like Austin powers; I probably wouldn't admit it if I was though I guess.

I wouldn't say I spy on my neighbours but I'm an aware sort of guy, alert and know the comings and goings around my house. Strange cars, people parked where they are not normally parked, different cars in driveways...I'm a person who notices most things and so I can't help but observe. It's my nature.

I do the same when I am out; It's called situational awareness. I know who's around me all the time, who may be a threat, where the exits are, potential hazards. It sounds exhausting I guess, but to me it's second nature.

This is the first time you've commented on the #weekend-engagement post I think. Welcome and I hope we'll see you again.

!ENGAGE 25

Sort:  

Im nosey but only when the neighbors are crazy and entertaining. I've had boring neighbors and never once snooped. But when I was living in Kingaroy we had total bogans living next door that shared a common wall with our flat. They'd fight allllll the time and over the stupidest shit. I'd press my ear to the wall and snicker at their arguments. My personal favourite was an argument where the conversation went like this. "Fuck you dazza! I only slept will all your friends because i heard you were sleeping will all of mine! Oh! Yeah shazza thats cause your a slut! I only slept with three of your best friends! You're a drunk. Stop drinking all my burbon! I work ten hours s week to afford this burbon. Its mine! "

Something similar happened to me recently. A couple was walking down the street at 10 pm and the man said to his wife "do you think I don't know that you're unfaithful to me?" ("que me estás montando cachos", in spanish). I didn't know whether to laugh or lament it.

Ha! An age old tale! Humans will always be the way we are. I would've chuckled.

Lol...Dazza and Shazza.

Maybe won't translate to non Aussies, but but made me fucking laugh!

Too much housos i think for me. But yeah her name actually was something like shazza.

Its ok you can call me davo

Lol...Davo...Aussies are basic right? Add an 'O' onto the end of something and you're good to go. Servo, bottlo, smoko...Davo...

You're right, I'm here for the first time with you) thank you very much for the greeting!))) You and I are somewhat similar!))) But my husband does it in a playful way, rather. For example, he hides behind a curtain, like a spy, and whispers to me quietly that a neighbor is leaving the house (for example). I don't know why he loves to do it so much, but it's hilarious)))

Maybe your husband really is a spy and he's pretending to spy on the neighbours as a joke, but really he's actually spying on one of those neighbours who is a spy themselves! A tangled web of spy and counter-spy playing out in the suburbs? You sure he's not James Bond?

You made me laugh!)) And made me think!)) I now have to watch my husband more closely))))

Good plan, keep an eye on him for sure. 😁