You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 13: Ask me anything

in Weekend Experiences4 years ago

I'm pretty much as you describe although I'm not sure brusque is the right term. I mean I can be, but it's not a trait...It's something that's brought on by a trait though...The fact I don't suffer fools. I can be as hard as fuck though, brutally hard, but most never see that in me, certainly not my friends. That's reserved for those who deserve it because, not everyone on this planet is a good person. Generally though, I'm a fucking great friend, funny and open, honest, humble and kind. That's the real me that some people get to see, if they wipe away their perception.

So...Your questions.

Is there something you would consider your biggest regret? (Bitcoin related answers banned lol)

I always wanted to be a fireman. I did the pre-entry course, gained my first aid certificate and got my truck license which were pre-entry requirements. The problem arose when Faith was worried that the job was dangerous. In deference to her wishes I didn't go down that path. My regret is not having the ability to talk her through it, the skill to make her see what it could have been rather than the bad things about the job. I think she regrets the fact I didn't do so also now. She was young, had only lost her dad tragically several years earlier, a thing that stays with her to this day. I think she was just afraid. It's all good though, I'm over it now and I certainly feel being with Faith for all these years is a better reward than being a Fireman would have been. I'd make the same decision I think, if I had to again.

Is there something you would class as your greatest victory? (Other than matching up with the lovely Faith)

I came from a family that didn't have a lot and, whilst I'll not go into it here, was out of home as a seventeen and a half year old; I had to make my own way. It's not been an easy journey and there were wrong turns and false starts but now, at fifty, here I am still standing, thriving (pandemic aside) and a pretty well-rounded and successful person. I'll not go into all the reasons I think of myself that way, but I could very easily have been a different person. That is a victory I think, getting to this point in life and being able to look in the mirror and (mostly) like what I see. I also see my failings and failures of course, but generally I feel content that I've led a good life. I've done more good things than bad (did so many bad things) and have a good outlook on life, an ethos based on humility, kindness and generosity...I think one can't ask for much more.

So there you go...Your answers...Which probably only bring more questions.

I am not surprised that you're less self-assured in real life, not surprised in the least bit. It's not a bad thing though. We all have various personas we roll out when required and as appropriate. You at work, you with your daughters, you with your wife, you with mates at the pub etc. I think those with the ability to only present one persona may be limited in their opportunities. I am also not surprised to hear that your wife is your best friend.

Good questions, thanks for playing along.

!ENGAGE 25

Sort:  

Mmhmm... I did question the word brusque immediately after posting, thought you may correct me haha. Yup you went to to explain the perception I was referring to, not suffering fools, taking no crap etc.

I can be as hard as fuck though, brutally hard, but most never see that in me, certainly not my friends. That's reserved for those who deserve it because, not everyone on this planet is a good person.

Yes!!! I think not having at least some of that, leaves you incredibly vulnerable to the world and that is precisely how it should be handled, right? If everybody saw it constantly (we both know those people...) it would lose it's value as a 'go to' in the toolbox of who we are.

Perhaps the fireman think was destined not to happen for some other reason, who understands the mystery of life, right?

That is a victory I think, getting to this point in life and being able to look in the mirror and (mostly) like what I see.

I use exactly this expression so, so often. So much of what you say resonates with me, I noticed this way back. I like that, although I am certain this is apparent lol. I left home at a remarkably similar time, before 18 after a bottle of whiskey and an experience of speaking my mind for the first time ever. I was told I would come crawling back... I won't tell you how many nights I slept rough before moving in to a hostel... I did not, do not and will never crawl anywhere to anybody ever.

Actually no, it did not raise more questions, not really, they were both very satisfying answers, I'm glad I chose those questions!

Take good care my friend, have an awesome week :)

It's interesting how people's lives run in parallel. I also think that the experiences we're both described go towards shaping how we think and act and therefore how we are then, now and in the future.

Everything happens for a reason, some we can affect and other outside of our control...It's what we do and how we act that makes the difference.

Have a great week.